We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics, with no flair”
Review of Nemea Greek Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nemea Greek Tavern
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mamaroneck, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just the basics, with no flair”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

There is so much more that can be done with Greek food, but Nemea has chosen to stick to the basics. Gyros like the ones you can get off a cart on a Manhattan street corner, tsatsiki and hummus that in a blind-tasting contest would rank lower than the Trader Joe's variety, and calamari that any beach shack along the Eastern Seaboard might offer. The eggplant dip I got was, frankly, pathetic in its total lack of spicing. The salads were good--some imagination at last!--and the baklava was nicely done, but the walnut cake and custard pie were dry and nothing like they should be. Visit the next Greek Orthodox Church festival anywhere in the area for similar, if not better, Greek food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't bring Zorba”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This is mediocre Greek food. The grilled octopus was cooked too much in the thinner areas and just right in the thicker areas. Does not say much about the chef. The mousaka did not taste like any I have had but it was not bad.
If you want good Greek you need to go to Manhattan, Queens or Elia in Bay Ridge Brooklyn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank isiciliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just awesome!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

OMG! Arrived late after a concert, kitchen closing in 15 minutes!!! We were 6 and I know that we were pushing the envelope but John at the bar couldn't have nicer. We relaxed and ordered app's and had an incredible time. We tasted a bunch of wines, all Greek that we're fantastic.
Then came the food!!! It was off the charts! We all left full and happy and talking about our next trip there.
All and all a great place for friends, couples and families! You will love this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNYJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Get Him to the Greek!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

While visiting my cousins in the area,(No, it wasn't Russell Brand or Jonah Hill) rather than the unusual Italian fare, they suggested something "different" . Nemea fit the bill completely.
Having a reservation, we entered the cozy neighborhood restaurant and were impressed with the decor. Warm and inviting but upscale in design.
We were immediately seated and advised of the specials, then drink orders were taken. We chose a bottle of wine and it was quickly delivered to our table with a plate of a variety of olives, which was quickly replaced with another. Yum!
After looking over the menu, our waiter (sorry, I can't remember his name) came back to take orders. I DO remember he was efficient and knowledgeable, allowing us time to ask questions and make choices.
We began with the Octapodi, which is grilled wild Mediterranean octopus, with cucumber, capers with a balsamic glaze. Cooked perfectly, not overdone with a kind of smoky taste. It was delicious!
Cousin ordered Elliniki (or Greek Salad) which consisted of mixed greens, tomatoes, dill, cucumbers, red onions, Feta cheese, bell peppers, Kalamata olives, dolmadakia, red wine vinegar, olive oil. Cool, crisp and plenty of it. Other cousin chose the Veal Stew (Ragout) with Pappardelle which was braised veal, red wine, portobello mushrooms, garbanzo beans, green olives, green peas with broad noodles. He claimed it was excellent. My husband, ever the non-adventurer, ordered the Cast Iron Pan Seared Pork Chop with sweet potato risotto and sautéed spinach topped with pear chutney. He RAVED about it - days later! I selected the Vegetarian Moussaka which is baked eggplant, roasted peppers, potatoes, zucchini, grilled onion, spinach, tomato sauce topped with soy béchamel. Insanely good!
We finished the evening with coffees and one order of baklava which is a rich, sweet pastry made of layers of filo pastry filled with chopped nuts and sweetened with syrup or honey. OMG! Out of this world!
The bill came to $240 with a generous tip. Keep in mind, this included an appetizer, a bottle of wine, one soft drink, coffees and dessert. Not terrible for Mamaroneck, and in my opinion, worth every penny.
If you're in the area, or have been considering Nemea - definitely give it a try. I think you'll go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsjag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY burbs
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A local gem!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant several times since its opening. While I believe there's been an ownership change, the food has improved.

The appetizers are excellent - highly recommend the octopus, hummus and tsatziki. The salads are fresh and lightly, yet flavorfully, dressed. I normally order the lavraki (sea bass) and it has gone from plain and bordering tasteless to well-seasoned and delicious. The faro salad with it is unusual and tasty. My husband loves the gyro platter and hanger steak.

Service is excellent and the vibe is laid back and friendly

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooselee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nemea Greek Tavern also viewed

Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing