We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet”
Review of Auberge Aquarella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahebourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge Aquarella
Ranked #12 of 19 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What a gem of an establishment. Because of my shoot-in and shoot-out one nighter stay in Mauritius, I chose Auberge Aquarella due to its proximity to the Airport. Arrived late but was picked up on time by the driver that Veronique, the owner, arranged. She showed me personally to my room and though it was late at night, I was already enamored of the venue. She explained the various facilities and brought up some wonder local Vanilla Tea.

Needless to same, I woke up with a start the next morning when I saw light peeking through the curtains and i jumped immediately to my little balcony facing the sea. I managed to capture a beautiful sunrise photo which I'm rather proud of.

Veronique extended a complimentary late check-out for me, which was kudos to her really! I was undecided for my return leg of my trip through Mauritius in about 10 days time on where to stay, but I know for sure that I wouldn't be choosing anywhere else, but Auberge Aquarella.

Thank you, Veronique, you have such a wonderful establishment and making me feel really welcome.

Merci et à bientôt!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonlwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from a holiday in Mauritius and was a guest in the Aquarella Auberge for two weeks. Stayed in a secluded chalet away from the main complex, by the swimming pool, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. For peace and tranquility seekers this place will be hard to beat. The staff and management were both friendly and helpful and the hotel itself beautifully laid out with adequate facilities and clean rooms. Mine had aircon, tv and mini fridge. Highly recommended and the spectacular sea views are an unforgettable delight. Will visit again most assuredly!

Room Tip: Chalet away from the main complex is a high recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

A real pleasure to stay here, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Free internet, although the wi-fi can be a bit variable. Excellently situated, with many great restaurants within 10 mins walk (try Le Bistrot, Chez Patrick, Vielle Rouge, Saveurs de Shin, Copains d'Abourd.......) Likewise only a short walk from the town centre. A wide variety of activities available (boat trips, kayak, snorkelling, power diving, bike hire etc.) from Brummel & Christophe, whose office is just round the corner. The pool is fantastic, straight by the sea. This is a family run hotel, not a faceless resort. Breakfast was fine, fresh bread & different fruit every day, mangoes, pineapple papaya. Even some sort of really tasty home made fruit compote. Admittedly there was an issue with dinner not being available for much of our stay, but this is being worked on, and given the number of local restaurants not a problem. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is cozy, our room was a bit small but the ocean view was great! Breakfast was just ok, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C - wish we'd have had it (it was HOT!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loupriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

the location was amazing, with a gorgeous pool right on the beach. veronique was very helpful. i met other travellers who were staying in nearby blue bay. they paid alot more than i did and their room was tiny with no seaview. best value for money. no wifi, but there is a connection near the bookstand. busses run all the time. would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: i stayed above the restuarant and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PK_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

been here now twice in the year. There is never anyone to serveb you a drink or even help with any queries should they arise. Drinks are very expensive and so is water. you can buy both very cheaply from the local supermarket.Rooms are very basic ans you are lucky to get a tv that you can actually watch and understand, showers are unreliable, Meals are very very expensive breakfast was12 euros for mouldy bread, watered down juice and fruit that had been put on the table day after day and even weeks.Dinner can be 22.50 Euros for a basic meal nothing special and if you stay there for a week or more then there is no choice you get what you are given. wine by the bottle is charged at 11.25 Euros.
if you travel a little futher south to blue bay then you will have a better time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagleeyes005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed three nights in Auberge Aquarella on a B&B basis and recommend it unhesitatingly as a base to explore southern Mauritius. It is in a stunning location on the seafront within walking distance of the charming little town of Mahebourg, with local restaurants nearby. If you pre-book then you can also have dinner in the Aquarella, which we did one evening.

As experienced travellers we know that the greatest test is how difficulties are sorted out. Due to a misunderstanding, which was not in any way the fault of the Aquarella, we were booked into the wrong room, and cannot speak highly enough about how it was sorted out by Veronique & Bryan, the owners, with absolutely no fuss. We then had to leave early on checkout day to catch an early flight, and Veronique was up to give us coffee.

The sea view room in which we ended up was spacious and comfortable with an effective fan instead of air conditioning and stunning views across the bay, with a good ensuite bathroom (with a shower). The auberge itself has ample sitting areas and a very nice small swimming pool, and free broadband access. The continental breakfasts we had were very good (we didn't ask for cooked breakfasts so don't know if they are available). Our only reservation would be the lack of air conditioning if it had been hotter and more humid. The auberge does however have air conditioned rooms, and in future we would request one.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Chimp_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahebourg hotels
0.0 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,539 reviews
0.0 mi away
CHILLpill Guesthouse
CHILLpill Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mahebourg
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astroea Beach Hotel
Astroea Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mahebourg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nativ Lodge & Spa
Nativ Lodge & Spa
#5 of 19 in Mahebourg
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
ONS Motel & Guest House Mauritius
0.0 mi away
3Ds International Tourist Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aquarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aquarella

Address: 6 Sivananda Avenue, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Auberge Aquarella Hotel Mahebourg
Auberge Aquarella Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing