We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, homely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Le Saladier
Ranked #4 of 19 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Warm, homely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was an overnight transit stay fr me. Clean, friendly and made to feel welcome. Airport pick-up was smooth. Jill's husband was the perfect host. I've been in Mauritius, staying in 5-star places, but will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

A great option at a great price 10-15 mins from the airport. Mahebourg is a bustling Mauritian town and nice sea front only a few mins walk from the Saladier. I was made more than welcome and owner couldnt have been more helpful. Rooms a good size around the garden, great breakfast with still warm French bread.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had just one night but it was a great stay. The owners are very friendly and very service oriented. The location is simple but clean, beautiful small garden inside. We had to go at 6am but this wasn't a problem. Breakfast was ready and good and they carried us to the Airport for much less than a taxi.
Finally: nice stay and very good recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomyK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Jill and Yussain are the perfect hosts, having spent decades in the high-end hospitality industry. They are also kind, intelligent and knowledgeable people. Their guesthouse is does exactly what it ought to do - provide bed and breakfast. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is simple, but tasty and sociable. The airport transfer is quick and much cheaper than any taxi ride.

Mahebourg doesn't have many of the classic tourist attractions within walking distance, except the museum and Notre Dame church. But after having spent a week actively travelling the island, it was the most authentic Mauritian experience I had, not the show they put on elsewhere.

If I ever go back to Mauritius, I would go to Mahebourg and stay at Auberge Le Saladier.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Herman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

As I said in the title - the guesthouse is simple but we were so warmly welcomed by the owner that straight we felt like at home!

Our room was quite basic but spacious, the bed was comfortable and there was hot water in the shower. the breakfast was simple but tasty. I can't say anything bad about this place :) I advice it to the travellers who like to travel in a simple way and appreciate to talk with the people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My girls n I had a terrific short stopover stay at La Saladier - nothing to fault but endless praise for their kindness and hospitality. Spacious, clean, inexpensive rooms (our family room surprised us!), great shower, simple breakfast - fresh local fruit salad, toast with jam & butter, coffee or tea, quiet & safe location, close to everything including supermarket, local market, bus station, shops, banks, etc).

Great local restaurant recommendations and the drop off & pick up we were given to biscuit factory, and local snack treats on our way back - these are what memories are made of!!

Thank you very much Jill & Yoonous for being such great hosts and friends!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Not much reason to be in Mahebourg other than proximity to airport, but if you do spend multiple nights here, the Le Saladier is short walk to restaurants, museum, center of town, bus transport to all over the island (country). This is a guesthouse run by a couple who are consummate natural hosts providing the finest hospitality -- Arab-style. Their equal not to be found at world-class, five-star establishments. Rooms have solid sound-blocking windows and doors, good-sleeping conditions, comfortable beds. Otherwise (including bathroom) a basic affair, but all amenities are in place. Walking around Mahebourg, some other guesthouses did look a little nicer from the outside, but was not remotely tempted to switch from the Le Saladier. Includes a nice baguette, fruit and coffee breakfast and they'll drive you to airport at better than taxi rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
1.4 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Mahebourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ONS Motel & Guest House Mauritius
0.2 mi away
Tyvabro
Tyvabro
#1 of 4 in Mahebourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHILLpill Guesthouse
CHILLpill Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mahebourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Saladier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Saladier

Property: Auberge Le Saladier
Address: La Chaux Street, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Saladier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Le Saladier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Saladier Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing