We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, a real Mauritian gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astroea Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What an amazing holiday! The hotel is small and peaceful, food is delicious, beach and coral reef are fab but what really makes the place are the wonderful staff. I can't rate them highly enough, they made our stay perfect. Summertimes, the company used by Kuoni for tours etc are also fantastic. We did a couple of trips with them and, not being one for organised tours, I wasn't too sure if we'd done the right thing but each day was informative, enjoyable and at no time were we rushed; Parwena is great!

Room Tip: Go for a comfort room so that you get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WenJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for your holiday in Mauritius and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s friendliness and helpfulness made your stay memorable.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely yours,

Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent a peaceful week at this lovely little hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. This was the first of two hotels in a two week break and we liked the fact that it is adults only, peaceful and overlooks the beach and the lagoon/reef. Due to the coral reef surrounding the island, the beach is safe with crystal clear water that is shallow to wade out to a good way. Most of the rooms face the sea - we certainly chose one of those for good reason, and they are spacious and well appointed. Previous guests have commented on the lack of hot water. We noticed that electric showers are now installed which are efficient - the water for the basin in tepid/cold but personally I wouldn't see this as an issue and one could always top up with water from the kettle if needed.
We were half board and the hotel was half full so the choice at dinner was no choice except what was on offer. However, as noted by other reviewers, the hotel are more than happy to make most things for you on an individual basis - they made us a lovely vegetable curry one evening and steak another time. Table service is five star, you are treated as well as any top hotel waiters would do - even 'crumbing down' the table between courses. We also went on to all inclusive option on a daily basis of 1200 MUR each (about £24) which meant we could have most drinks, including a lovely South African Pinotage and a Chenin Blanc and sparking white, all foods at lunch and snacks etc. Well worth the extra.
The hotel organised days out with the local taxi at a good rate and we just had a wonderful time. Highly recommended. Top marks to Vic and Sham, and their team - many of whom I remember well but cannot recall names except for Oliver and Jennifer - all of whom work a very long week, including going to hotel school, and manage to smile and make it look oh so easy. Thank you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beach facing room (some of the standard rooms are facing the mini roundabout and hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank workhousekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for your holiday in Mauritius and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team’s friendliness and helpfulness made you stay memorable.

We appreciate your kind words about the various activities offered at our resort as well as your special appreciation of the service delivered by Vic , Sham, Oliver and Jennifer.

I will make sure to share your comments to all of our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are eager looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely yours
Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I visited Astroea for 5 nights. what a lovely stay we had.
The rooms are huge, clean and with massive comfy beds. The decor of sandy beiges with turquoise works well.
The staff are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to assist in any way they can without "lurking".
The half board menu was delicious, beautifully presented and had lots of local seafood.
Wifi is not free, but to be honest we appreciated not having emails etc for a complete escape from civilisation.
The hotel is right on the beach with a wonderful small coral outcrop which meant we could snorkel easily without having to leave or take a boat.
Fantastic adult getaway - would recommend!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank DebbieBurton80068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed your room with the comfy beds as well as the decor and stunning views.

I really appreciate the fact that you acknowledged the dedicated service of our staff and it would be our pleasure to have you back at Astroea Beach in a near future.

Sincerely yours
Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

There is an excellent coral reef within a few metres of the beach, and there are perfect views to the reef out at sea. The staff were all exceptionally helpful, professional and friendly. Their main concern was your enjoyment. Excellent cocktails, good food and wine.

Our unit was extremely comfortable and had a sea view and was located almost on the beach. The views from sun-rise to sun-set were beautiful.

Prior to booking we were anxious that this was shown as the 'windier' coast of Mauritius. However, apart from the first few days that were quite windy this later subsided and was very calm – giving an almost flat sea for swimming and snorkeling, (snorkeling equipment and kayaks are available free of charge). Even when breezy, it was still very warm and for the initial aclimatisation, the breeze was very welcome.

There is easy access to Mahebourg – either to walk in (about 20mins) – or by taxi or bus. If you go to the hotel entrance gate and wait, very soon a taxi will come by and as they are mainly returning from Blue Bay empty they would offer a very inexpensive trip into Mahebourg. There is an ATM at the supermarket on the edge of Mahebourg.

We would especially like to thank Jenifer for helping so much to make our holiday experience very enjoyable.

Room Tip: One with a beach view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roy658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Astroea Beach. We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the service provided by our dedicated team has been to your expectations.

I will pass on your appreciation to all our team members with a special mention to Jenifer.

We look forward to welcome you again at Astroea Beach.

With kind regards
Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just on the beach, only you and the sea.. superb beach resort... staying here on a business trip,wanted a hotel near the airport, cant ask more than this, a cool place,beach is at the door step, indian ocean every where....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varadharajan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you valued our great location with the superb beach as well as the overall services.

I will share your candid comments to all of our team who are already eager to welcome you again at Astroea Beach for your holidays this time…

Sincerely yours
Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel between 12 - 26 June. We had room 107 which was sea facing, and indeed no more than 10 yards ( over a grassy garden area ) from the sand, and then ( at high tide ) no more than 5 yards from the sea.

The room ( remember this is 3 / 3.5 star property ) was functional, clean, and quiet. Electric shower ( no bath ) and oddly only cold water in the wash basin, which made shaving a matter for a boiled kettle. Bed was Oh SO Comfortable ( what else do we need ) with a TV ( unused ) a sofa, a vary stylish wooden chair, and french windows looking over our little patio and then, as above, out towards the ocean.

Beach is white fine sand, but there are large lumps of coral waiting to hurt the unwary. Also, whilst the reef offers splendid snorkeling, there are sharp corals and stingy things which it would be unwise to stand on. TAKE JELLY SHOES.

House-keeping was excellent. Mauritius has a taste for Vanilla Tea ( an invention of the devil ) so after a word to Rita we had an endless ( we brought 3 packs home ! ) supply of good old Orange Pekoe. Bliss. Linen change each day, timed for our breakfast so always clean and tidy on our return.

The property is adults only so blissfully free from children.

Some brochures / hotels have a knack of having guests who fit well together. This was certainly the case during our stay. We had a happy mix of German, Netherlands, and South African along with us Brits. Everyone was charming. We had not appreciated that we were visiting during World Cup Fever, and were a little worried that the place would be noisy as a result. We all had a splendid time teasing the various nationalities, and being teased in return. The Management found national flags for us all, which encouraged much banter.

The staff are exceptional. Treading very well that tricky line between professional and familiar, that certainly we enjoy very much.

Our visit was on an All Inclusive basis. The house wine was perfectly drinkable, which we did with gusto. There was a beach service and drinks available up to 11 pm.

The restaurant which overlooks the ocean ( great breakfasts BTW ) offers a lunch menu ( Fish and Mauritian dishes predominate and are very tasty ) and a Table D'Hote for dinner. These evening meals were splendid, however if we found the planned meal did not appeal, Chef was always willing to offer us an alternative. We went completely Off Menu once and asked for Lobster and King Prawns, which were sourced willingly, cooked well, and all for £30 supplement.

Oh, and the local Phoenix beer is truly wonderful !

During our stay we could see winter approaching. The days were mostly very sunny and warm, pleasant for sunbathing and we returned with a great tan, but there was a constant wind. This wind brought a few showers and we had one day of total cloud and rain.

Having looked at the Kuoni Price list ( were are not for organised tours much ) we decided to adopt a DIY approach and hired ( lovely driver organised through reception ) all day taxis which ended up costing us only 1600 Mautirian per day. Much better.

So overall, an excellent hotel.

We have been finding that large 5 star properties are ceasing to please us recently. There are too many people, attracted by lots of stuff we do not use, and the whole experience becomes so much less personal. So, recently, we have been trying smaller hotels ( Astroea only has 16 rooms ) and have found them much more to our taste.

Astroea is a gem of a place and one which has confirmed our plans that small is so much better.

Room Tip: e had a look about before we left, and if we were to return we would go for 110. Avoid 106 as we hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorDeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Astroea Beach. I was much pleased to read that you really enjoyed our service highlighting our staffs' professionalism and their passion to provide exceptional service. Your feedback has been conveyed to our team and they are all looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kind regards

Nanda Appadoo
Resort manager
(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently went to Mauritius on our honeymoon and stayed in Astroea Beach Hotel. The staff were AMAZING; really helpful and could not do enough for us! Food was delicious; we had a great time and will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Astroea Beach. We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to hear that our staff met your expectations.

We are looking forward to having you again with us soon.
With kind regards

Nanda Appadoo
Resort Manager

jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
1.0 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astroea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astroea Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal road, Pointe d'Esny, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Price Range: £89 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astroea Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away and forget everything else in this exclusive boutique hotel, hidden between the powdery white sand and magical turquoise lagoon of Pointe D'Esny, in the south-east of Mauritius. Exclusively for adults, this haven of peace in the evocative charm is ideal for couples on honeymoon to reconnect and escape the pace of modern life. Between idleness, play, pleasure reading, surrounded by staff dedicated to your every single whim and fancy, time stands still, and indulge in all your desires and pleasures without a second thought. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astroea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astroea Beach Hotel Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing