We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was the first time we had visited Mauritius, and we stayed at the Preskil Beach Resort for 10 nights between 23rd October and 2 November 2013 for our honeymoon. It was amazing! We went on an all inclusive board basis which we would highly recommend. The choice of food and drinks is brilliant, and everything is clearly marked to show what is and isn't included in the all inclusive package. We ate at both the Tapas restaurant (not actually tapas food) and The Chakra, and the meals were fantastic. We are always slightly worried about buffet style food, but the buffet at the Preskil for breakfast, lunch and dinner, is varied, fresh and delicious. There is also the option to eat in the Spice bar at lunchtime, and the burgers, sandwiches and salads there were equally as nice. The setting of the hotel is unbelievable, paradise! We stayed in a Prestige beach front cottage away from the main resort. The room was nice, but nothing special, but that was fine as your patio doors open right out onto the beach and the views are amazing which is what you go for. We got up early one morning and just walked out of our room to watch the sunrise which was amazing! The rooms were cleaned everyday if youwant them to be, and the mini bar is re-stocked. All the staff at the resort were so friendly and helpful, although we had a slight problem with one of the managers after there was a bit of confusion over some charges which were added to our final invoice despite us being on an all inclusive package so we would suggest always checking the receipt you are signing to ensure the balance is 0.00 if you do go all inclusive. It will save you having to deal with the food/beverage manager who at one point tried to blackmail us into paying for drinks which we were told were all inclusive, which was a real shame as all the other staff at the Preskil were fantastic. The waiter service on the beach was brilliant, as was the option to put your red flag up so that you weren't disturbed if you didn't want to be. As part of our honeymoon package we got a free couples massage at the spa, which was fantastic, as was the candle lit meal for two, which we had to pay a supplement for which was something we weren't told when we booked our honeymoon, but it was well worth it. We chose the gazebo, which the hotel decorated for us; we had our own waiter, and music and it was the perfect way to end our honeymoon. Whilst we were there we rented a car for 2 days and drove around the island. We organised the car through the front desk at the hotel which was much cheaper, it worked out about £40 a day, and it was delivered on time, with the option of a sat nav if you wanted one although the island is really easy to navigate as its so small! We visited Port Louis and then drove to some beaches on the north of the island, and then also drove through the national park to the Chamerel rum factory. Don't be put off by how close the hotel is to the airport, its only about a 10-15 minute transfer, but we must have only heard 2 planes fly over during our 10 night stay because the general flight paths mean that planes just don't fly over the resort. We had the perfect honeymoon, and would definitely return to Mauritius, and the Preskil, it was perfect!!

Things we would recommend - Chamerel rum factory, travel the island, Tapas and Chakra restaurant, candle lit dinner, watch the sunrise.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Prestige beach front cottage, slightly away from the main resort which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    889
    248
    114
    52
See reviews for
553
1,418
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our second visit to preskil, this was for a friends wedding, funnily enough, a couple we met at this resort two years previously. Stayed on an all inclusive, which I have to say was well worth it. Wines and cocktails good quality, food very good with a choice of 3 restaurants, the main one being buffet that had plenty of choice and a different theme every day. Evening entertainment predictable but reasonable.
Plenty of sun beds and you could always find somewhere not crowded. Waterskiing and glass bottomed boat with snorkelling included.
Unfortunately it rained on our last 2 days and there was not much to do there in the wet! Wedding went well, sun shone that day!
Staff friendly. Rooms comfortable, stayed in the
Penthouse villa, great views and spacious but lighting poor so putting on makeup was hit and miss! Could do with updating the mattress too!
Overall a relaxing holiday very pleasant but nothing extra special.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAMERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I visited this resort in September 2013 with my family. Initial impressions were good - the lobby was attractively laid out and the staff friendly and informative, despite what I had read on some other reviews! After completing a short form, we were informed that our rooms would not be ready until 2pm. This was unexpected and not particularly welcome given that it was around 8am!

The staff sensed that we were not happy and arranged for one of the rooms to be ready 'quick-time'. This at least gave some of us the chance to relax whilst the others explored the resort. The rooms were spacious and clean, and although the bathrooms look slightly dated, the shower was hot and toiletries were replenished daily.

The hotel is laid out on it's own little peninsula - it is well designed and the room blocks are well spaced, with immaculately manicured gardens in between. The only point I would make is that the swimming pools are nestled VERY close to the restaurants and bars, and have very little room around them for loungers.

The flag system on the beach umbrellas works well, and the staff attentive but not intrusive. The beach hawkers could tell who to talk to or not, and rarely bothered us during our stay. I made use of the fitness suite which is excellently equipped with modern machines, a good selection of weights and all of it was immaculately clean!

The food, in my opinion, was very good. The buffets were varied and there was always something on the menu that appealed, but the star of the show (as others have said!) was the Charka steakhouse. Superb food in beautiful surroundings, and the staff were amazing.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was sad to leave. My thanks to the staff and management!

Points to note:
There is only Wi-Fi in the reception area - this extends through to the bar (sometimes!) and it is free.
One of the swimming pools was closed for re-sealing - no biggie as i'm not a swimmer, but the work detracted from the atmosphere somewhat.
The hotel definitely did not appear full, but the lack of ready rooms on our arrival combined with the stress of a long journey wasn't the best start - UK visitors take note - if your flight arrives early AM then be prepared not to get a room until early afternoon!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerh1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in a beach front Prestige Cottage from 16th to 25th October for our Honeymoon.

The staff were all incredibly welcoming and we experienced exceptional customer service throughout. Everyone seemed to genuinely want our stay to be as perfect as possible. We arrived at about 6am in the morning, so in theory we couldn’t check in until the afternoon, however they allowed us to store our luggage and use there shower facilities. We were then shown to breakfast and had a doze on the beach following this. Our room was ready by 11am (much earlier than expected) and it truly was the most amazing hotel room we have ever stayed in. It was clean, light and spacious and the bed was very comfortable indeed.

Most of the water sports are included which is a big bonus and we thoroughly enjoyed using the pedalos and kayaks. We both had a go at water skiing too which is something I never thought I would do, but as it was free we thought “why not??”. I strongly recommend going on the complimentary glass bottomed boat trip which operates twice daily in the afternoons. It also includes a free snorkelling session. However if you are a really keen snorkeller I would insist on booking onto the trip to Blue Bay reef which operates 10am daily (at an extra charge of about £12 pp). I grew up in the Caribbean and I can honestly say I have never experienced such a spectacular snorkelling experience!

I would also recommend booking the Adrien’s Dream ½ day dolphin excursion. It costs £38pp and includes transfers to Flic en Flac bay on the west coast of the island, packed breakfast/lunch and the boat ride. We also did the Walking with Lions at Casela Park, which at £70pp is quite expensive but it really is a once in a lifetime experience and definitely something I will never forget doing.

The only slightly negative comment I have is that the lunchtime buffet does get a bit repetitive, and is very limited if you aren’t keen on fish. However each evening at Spices restaurant there is a different theme for the food which offers more variety. I would strongly recommend one or two visits to Chakra Grill restaurant (best steak EVER) but remember you need to book a day in advance.

Finally be warned of fireworks going off at midnight on occasions! This occurred twice during our stay and happened less than 100m from our balcony. I think they do this for weddings at the resort, but the bed was so comfortable I had no trouble getting back to sleep!

A truly magical experience and would recommend to anyone for a Honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from our 10 day holiday and it was just what we wanted. We were badly in need of a rest and you could do as little or as much as you wanted. Staff were all so friendly, they all spoke several languages and every time we passed a staff member in the grounds, we were greeted with a friendly smile and hello. The leisure activities were well run and plentiful.
Each request we made of the staff was promptly and efficiently dealt with. The grounds of the resort were well kept and spacious. Rooms were quite soundproof, so often you can hear
voices and movement from neighbouring rooms or from above, but we could hear none of this.
Convenient location to the airport was also a plus. Would thoroughly recommend this venue.
John and Joan Johansson, Wagin, Western Australia.

Room Tip: Corner downstairs suite easy to get to dining room, reception and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Mauritius is rigged towards the tourism industry and one would expect that they have everything sorted. Well we were not disappointed at all. Talk about a well oiled machine! Food was great and plentiful (our diets did not last long!!), accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. There is something about cocktails on an island beach that cannot be replicated anywhere else. Our Christmas there was very special and the nightly entertainment varied widely, allowing us a glimpse of the local cultures as well. Service was friendly and requests were promptly and efficiently addressed. Make time to rent a car or motorbike to see the everyday Mauritius, it is well worth it! The level of activities depends on yourself. We went from lying on the beach to parasailing and doing an 'island hopping' motor boat excursion. Make the best of every minute you are there, there are certainly enough activities available to holiday makers. Preskil Beach Resort is certainly a place that I will recommend!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corleone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I'm actually here at the minute and finding it hard to contain my anger. We have a lagoon room and it is a long way off a 4 star hotel. Perhaps they have a different star rating to us but I can only compare it to other hotels I've been too and I would genuinely rate it at 2 star. The room we have is awful. The paint looks like it's been applied with a trowel and the wet room resembles something from a prison. The grouting on the tiles is mouldy and the tiling itself must have been done by a 5 yr old. Wiring on the lamps is dangerous and exposed.
Then we come to the food. I have eaten across the world from street vendors to high class restaurants and the buffet here is genuinely some of the worst food I've ever tasted. Bland, cold and over cooked. You require a fine set of teeth to chew the meat it really leaves a lot to be desired. We paid an arm and a leg to stay here and it leaves a very bad taste in the mouth........literally!
And another thing do not expect fine silky white sand on the beach. I'm afraid it's the texture of coarse grit. Much like the food.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukhozikariega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
26.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,325 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,243 reviews
15.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Property: Preskil Beach Resort
Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing