We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE TRUTH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE TRUTH”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I would like to class myself as a very average man, not snobby in the slightest. This is a very truthful critique on a very sub standard poor establishment.

The food
Unedible is the only way to describe the slop that is served at all periods of the day. Flies in yoghurt at breakfast, insects all over fruit. Food posioning was contracted from raw chicken, I was ill for the duration.

The Room
Only way to describe it was like staying in a zoo. Creatures appearing at all hours of the day, lizards, cochroaches running around room and in beds.

Average room at the best.

The Resort
Fairly poor, food and drink very over priced. Nothing to do in the vansinity of the hotel.

Staff
Polite except for manager and high up staff. The staff beg you to write good trip advisor reviews and in exchange for good reviews, offer complimentory food in the al a carte and drinks.

How this hotel has 5 stars and are giving it good reviews is beyond me. If you are to take anyones advice this year, do NOT stay here!! Save your money and book else where.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cnb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    890
    248
    114
    52
See reviews for
552
1,420
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Says it all - we totally regret not making it 6 out of 6...!!! (went to the South Coast of Durban - big mistake..!)

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at Preskil - glad to see that things have only improved during our absence. Staff / food and the resort are great - very special Xmas and New Year spent at what now feels like a 'home from home'.

The diving school & the boat house at the resort are professional and helpful - always something to do.

The Preskil's staff (very small turnover of staff) are all pleasant, helpful and attentive and always make an effort to greet and make sure that you are happy.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewbJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Preskil Beach Resort is in a fantastic location and has a really relaxed feeling about it. I think it offers great value compared to many options in Mauritius, with many water sports, including waterskiing, in the price.

We were here two years ago and came again as we had enjoyed it so much. We stayed in one of the cottages - it's worth paying a bit more for one, as they are well spaced out and all have fabulous views across the turquoise waters of the lagoon. The resort is spread along a wide beach, so never feels overcrowded. If you like peace and quiet, just go to the far end of the beach where barely one third of the beach beds are taken, even when all the rooms are full. If you like it busy, stay close to the pools and the water sports.

This time our trip included New Year and the evening leading up to the big fireworks display at midnight was good fun, with a floating stage on the swimming pool to provide an additional dance floor.

The restaurant on the beach is great for an evening when the buffet doesn't appeal. The menu is good and the location and service are excellent. Dinner on the beach on Christmas Eve was really special.

All the staff speak both English and French and seem genuinely to care that you enjoy your stay, so they do their absolute best to make sure that you have everything you need. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I would recommend this resort. Excellent value for money. Room 323 was great. Food very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Mauritius is an island to explore. Be aware of relatively strong and continuous current close to the beach. Snorkeling is good but can't compare to Maldives. Vast majority of guests is French. Some rooms don't have sufficient level of privacy so be careful to chose the right one.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms 320 to 330.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Just unexpectedly magic 4* hotel you can easily compare to all 5* hotel. Great place for wedding. Quiet, nearly empty beach even when the hotel is fully booked. Just lift the flag and some beach boy will quickly come to fulfill your wishes...
Heavenly mountain-island-blue bay view from every room.
All sorts of sport including dive centre available, food just delicious. What else you can wish than one "sisha" smoking after delicious seafood dinner when the moon shines...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavli_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After 10 trips to Mauritius and different hotels I can truly say Preskil has the best position.
I loved the feeling of private island. The gardens, rooms and public ares are all great.
I quite often find that in general a 4 star grading in Mauritius is equivalent to a 3 star.
My only complaint is about the food and sometimes the slow service at the main restaurant. There is a huge difference of quality between the main restaurant and the other 2. I found that there wsn't enough variety and the quality of the food wasn't of a 4star. The worst food of all the hotels I have been in Mauritius.Although there is a majority of French clients there is never a presentation of cheese platters!!...only industrial cheap gouda in the morning! I wanted to discuss this with management but nobody returned my messages!! The boat house staff are great. I do recommend the guys on the beach selling tours as they are well priced and know where to take you!! JP was great and took us to see the lighthouse, waterfalls, Paradise island and even took my 7year old fishing!!

Room Tip: we had a fantastic lagoon room with a great sea view.....very noisy birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Manager at Preskil Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review, and the feedback!!
It is wonderful to hear that you rate Preskil Beach Resort as being the best spot on the island. Additionally, thank you for your comments regarding the food and the slow service at times in our main restaurant.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

The Preskil Beach Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We arrived in Preskil Beach Resort late on the 6th December this month and the lady who checked us in was so efficient and helpful. We were given a welcome drink and then were shown to our rooms. They were charming, fresh and clean and not too far from the main restaurant and entertainment area. We had a wonderful dinner and as we travelled on the all inclusive package deal were able to enjoy a variety of drinks. This is the only way to travel and we didn't have to worry about food and drinks. Anything with a red asterisk is available to those on the all inclusive deal. We enjoyed wine, champagne and cocktails from 10 in the morning until midnight. The sight that greeted us the next morning was indeed magical There are a number of beaches and it is advisable to collect your towels before breakfast and book your spot under a shaded gazebo. There are loungers to relax on and a flag system attached to the pole of the gazebo. You simply push the green flag up and within a few minutes a lady or gentleman will arrive to take your order. Simply heavenly especially in the blazing heat.
The lady in charge of the towels had a remarkable memory and knew our surname and room number after our first visit. We were able to swim in the azure blue sea and just beyond the rope that encloses the swimming area is the most beautiful coral and fish. it is a very good idea to take your own snorkel and mask, fins are not really necessary.

My son occupied himself with wake boarding and paddling on kayaks which were free activities. My girls loved tanning and swimming in the pool or in the sea. There was also a trip in a glass bottom boat and the snorkeling was amazing!! The highlight of our trip was a magnificent trip on a catamaran to Ile Aux Cerf. The crew were so friendly and helpful and the price included all food and drinks. We stopped after an hour and were able to snorkel far out to sea in 1 m water. What an incredible adventure, the coral was alive with fish of all varieties. We then went to see a waterfall and while taking photographs the crew cooked fish, chicken and sausage on a braai. This was served with delicious salads and lovely drinks. We then went ashore to explore Ile Aux Cerf and buy a few presents. Remember to barter!
What a beautiful day!

The meals were absolutely delicious and every evening had a theme and on a few occasions there was a show. Just remember to take roll on mozzie spray as the mozzies were out in full force. All the rooms have air conditioners so there is no problem with mozzies in them. There was such a variety of food and the waitors were most attentive. It was a holiday of a life time!
It is also a good idea to visit the local town of Mahebourg as we were able to buy many presents there. We also went to Port Louis and we were impressed with the mall with an avenue of colourful umbrellas.

We highly recommend Preskil beach Resort if you are interested in a laid back holiday filled with adventure, delicious food and glorious cocktails.

Room Tip: Included in the all inclusive deal is a meal at Tapas and a meal at Charka Grill. these 2 restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,427 reviews
26.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,332 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,255 reviews
15.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Property: Preskil Beach Resort
Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing