We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We enjoy a very good week. The location were so beautiful. Some days it rains, but we needed relax, so that's all right. The south Mauritius is good and we liked the giant turtles. The service in the village were efficent. We liked the cocktail. So, overall, a good place for the relax and perfect for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoSere22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were first over in 2011 and stayed at Preskil. Beautiful resort set in a beautiful location. The hotel was first class and all the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much bother for anyone. The grounds were kept immaculately as we're the rooms. We stayed in one of the prestige rooms which were beautiful. All the meals were well presented with plenty of choice. This time around we weren't disappointed it was a perfect visit to Mauritius and we will definatley be back in the future. Lots of friends to catch up with.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 28SuzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is overall very good. The room are clean, the furnishing is ok. Just ask for a room on the second floor with a seaview. The resort is very close to the airport - only 15min with a taxi, and only 15min walk to the nearest shop where you can buy water and other basic stuff, so perfect location. The sand is rough so it's difficult to walk barefoot. The sea is perfect for swimming and snorkeling, there is a lot of fish and corals, also nemo with the anemonies. Do the glass bottom boat trip - it's amazing! For water ski lovers- perfect! Diving center is also very well equipt and the guys are very friendly! I did not go to the spa, but my friends told that the steam bath is great. The gym is well equipt, although the machines are a little old. It's very hot inside, but there are always towels. The breakfast is perfect - there is a big variety of food choices and a lot of different fruits. The dinner in the main restaurant is also amazing - always grilled fish and vegetables, also pizza, meat, lots of desserts and salads.
There are two tennis courts in good condition, raquets for beach tennis are also available.
The only think that I actually did not like was that the glass bottom boat trip was not divided into watching and snorkeling, but they did both together. So if you want for example just to snorkle you must wait the guy to make the watching tour and lose 20- 30 min from your snorkling time!!!
If you want to watch only- you have to wait after that 20min in the boat while the others snorkle....They should do 1 hour snorkling and 1 hour snorkling divided and not like now both together!

Room Tip: choose a second floor rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Staff and hotel were perfect rooms very sound proof and private air con worked perfectly. Wifi was patchy but who need that when you are surrounded by paradise. Hawkers were all allowed access through the hotel and if you said no they wernt pushy .that said we booked a couple of trips through "captain jack " and would recommend anyone going to priskil to look him up he promised us a swim with wild dolphins or our money back he did not disappoint memorable trip as well as a private BBQ on a deserted sand bar .we were all inclusive food was always cooked to perfection and service was second to none I can't praise the staff more highly running my own service company here in the uk if I could bottle these people and bring them home I would happy attentive helpful even watched one of the beach boys carry a disabled lady down to the sea then wait a discreet distance till needed again commendable service perfect holiday

Room Tip: Preskil cottage is very good with so much going on they are really quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We picked this hotel because I liked one picture. :) God - was that one of my best choices. I recommend an upgrade to bungalow. We got one facing small beach, a bit isolated from the rest of the hotel venues. And it has its own coral reef! Few steps into the water and you can admire fish everywhere. It is magical! Also - I was really impressed how many things are included. Almost all things at the water sport center was free of charge - which was awesome! There is a small island (nature reserve) that you can go to with water bicycle or cayaking - also magic. In the middle of our stay we were surprised by an invitation for a complimentary afternoon catamaran cruise - which amazed me even more. I visited many places and never experience anything like that for free (drinks and snacks on board included). Do not go for all inclusive. Half board is more than enough. Food is excellent and choice is amazing - but said this - I was disappointed by a'la carte menu so I would not recommend lunches at the bar or restaurant on the beach. Stick to open buffet and you will not be disappointed. I rarely had seen such choice anywhere. I also recommend renting a car and go to places like Chamarel, and also north (along the coast - the road is so breath-takingly beautiful). Look at the map - Preskill is in the south so not many of huge hotels and resorts there (and we weren't looking for crowds). Also - 10 minutestaxi drive form the airport. Yes - furnitures in rooms are a bit worn but like I said - everytjing else is so woinderful I did not really care. Besides the bed was huge and with a view at the bay. If I could - I would have gone back there every year. (even if not impressed by staff- except maybe managers - note - every Wednesday you are invited to kind of welcome drink party. If you are statying longer - you still get the invitation - and it is not like one welcome drink. It is regular coctail meeting lasting 2-3 hours. Generally I would not change this place for any other despite some small flaws in service. Thanks to the location we explored the center and south of the island (went also norh but not much to see except tourists) which is in my opinion the most worthy seeing. And we had a motoboat trip to Ile-aux-Cerfs - no words for that beauty there. You must see for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked through Hayes and Jarvis on a half board basis and flew direct with BA, 12 hour flight.
Preskil is about 15mins from the airport but it did not affect our stay there, we were not aware of any flights although we occasionally saw a helicopter fly over the bay. The hotel is set in beautiful well maintained gardens and nothing is higher than first floor. However we would agree with others on Trip Advisor that it is not a 4 star hotel.
We arrived at Preskil at around 08.00 and didn’t get our room until gone 14.00 (6 hour + wait). However the hotel did give us a locker and luggage store and use of their changing rooms free of charge so we could get changed but to be honest after a 12 hour flight all you want is to get to your room and have a bit of a rest, so this is something we think they could improve on especially as we checked out of our room at 04.30 and check out for others is no later than 11 so a little more organisation would improve this wait.
Accomodation: Our room was on the first floor, and at night the steps could be a bit dark. But we had a lovely view as you can see from the photo. The room was quite basic but very comfortable. We did have a cockroach on two occasions but it was quickly and efficiently dealt with by the staff and yes we had the odd little gecko run up the wall and on the balcony but hey this is a tropical island. The maid kept our room lovely and clean. Clean sheets every day and towels changed as often as you wanted. On my birthday she decorated the bed with flowers (see pic) which was a lovely touch. Tea, coffee, sugar and powdered milk is provided free of charge but if you use the fresh milk from the fridge you will be charged and you are charged for water too.
Restaurants: We ate mostly in the Spices Restaurant which is buffet style. Food is quite basic and repetitive if you are there for 2 weeks. There is a wide choice at breakfast and I would agree with another Trip Advisor’s comment that yogurt and fruit should be better covered, perhaps a refrigerated/covered food station would be more appropriate. Dinner at Spices is themed, so one night may be Mauritian, another Chinese etc. but there is always pasta and pizza but it can be restrictive if you aren’t a lover of that day’s theme. If a menu was displayed in reception on the day then you could choose to eat in one of the other restaurants if it was something you didn’t like. Plates for main course are cold and the salad and dessert plates could be warm if they had just come out the dishwasher. Agree with another comment on Trip Advisor that the dress code for dinner should apply to both male and female, if men have to wear casual long trousers etc. then we think women should not be allowed to wear shorts, please ladies make an effort. The staff are friendly and efficient and on my birthday provided a beautiful birthday cake which again was a lovely touch. We did pay extra for the Beach BBQ at The Tapas Bar. We were under the impression that this would be less formal and more of a “party” on the beach atmosphere like other places we have visited but it is still quite formal (dress code still applies) and just like the Spices Restaurant but on the beach so not really worth the extra money but the lobster was lovely.
Bar/Beach Service: We found this good although drinks and food are expensive so all inclusive is probably the best option or go to the supermarket down the road and stock up on your water etc. Beach towels are provided by the hotel although this isn’t specified in the Hayes and Jarvis brochure and you can change them as often as you want. The beach isn’t soft sand like illustrated it is quite hard and coarse even in the sea so we would recommend beach shoes. There are plenty of water activities for free including a glass bottom boat ride round the lagoon, diving and water skiing which is unusual as these are normally charged. Sea is warm with lots of coral and pretty fish ideal for snorkelling. There are plenty of sun beds on the beach and round the pools and no-one reserved with towels which was very refreshing to see. We didn’t find the beach hawkers a problem, a polite no thank you and they moved on, if you stay round the pools they won’t bother you as they are not allowed on the hotel premises and let’s be honest everyone has to earn a living.
Entertainment: There are plenty of things to do and take part in during the day if you want too but the Sports and Leisure team don’t put pressure on you to take part, they are really friendly and fun especially Fabrice, Kane and Kevin. What we saw of the evening entertainment was interesting, lively, colourful and fun.
Take the bus into Mahebourg; it stops right outside the hotel and its only 20 rupees each and a fabulous experience of local life. Monday is market day.
The sun is extremely hot with a lovely breeze, even when its cloudy it’s still very warm and you will burn so be careful. When it rains it really rains but it’s over quickly and still warm.
So to sum up – Mauritius is a beautiful island, the people are warm and friendly, the weather is great but we have stayed in better hotels/resorts for less money, a great relaxing holiday but in our opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

BEAUTIFUL LOCATION, Friendly staff, however the rooms are dated and need a refurbishment
more like a top end of a 3 STAR
Went all Inclusive, but only selected local drinks offered you have to pay a supplement
Also wanted a supplement in the Beach Bar if wanting Lunch and also in the EVENING IF YOU HAD KING PRAWNS/ Lobster.
Was our 30th Aniversary and was given a chance to Dine but when requested the Beach Jetty we were told again this was a supplement.
Been to may ALL INCLUSIVES and have not been told about extras before!!
Arrived early morning but had to wait until 2.40 pm for our room to find the air conditioning dripping onto the mat, key safe code did not work and telephone did not work, after having to wait for the room you would have thought that checks should have been done and not to have to wait once again for these issues to be rectified.
Breakfast/ Buffett excellent choice however with the heat I think that they need to invest in better covers for the foods as unfortunately there was many a person who would not put the covers back on the food and with the heat there was flies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,698 reviews
27.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
513 reviews
26.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
21.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range: £132 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing