We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon destination.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The accommodation was good and staff were really friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the Prestige Cottages on the ground floor. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The hotel is not one of the bigger ones but it was a very relaxing place to stay.

The food at the main restaurant was very mediocre in the evenings and we often asked one of the staff to make us up a pizza with our own toppings that we had collected from other parts of the restaurant ;) Breakfasts was the usual buffet but were ok. I think the only real topic that came up when we chatted to other guests about the hotel was the disappointment in the meals. On the last evening we had a special dinner for 2 on the beach and this food came from there steak house restaurant and was quite good. We didn't try the tapas restaurant.

The hotel messed up our booking in terms of the honeymoon extras that we were supposed to receive. But after contacting our travel agent and chatting to the front desk all was resolved and they added extra time in the spa to make up for this.

Hightlights:

- We made use of the dive centre at the hotel. They were very professional and we had 2 fantastic dives. The first being of the Sirus 1810 wreck in the lagoon and the second the coral gardens. A very big thanks to Dominic from Coral Diving for making this very special and making my wife feel comfortable and confident enough to join us for the second dive as part of her introduction to scuba :)

- Beach was lovely and clean. A beautiful setting and the water warm and clear.

- Trip to Gabriel Island by catamaran.

- Speed boat tour of the east side of the island with snorkelling and visiting old ruins and a fantastic lunch of fresh sea food on the beach along our trip.

- Being pulled along the lagoon in an air filled couch behind the speed boat.

- The spa at the resort was very nice and relaxing. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Definitely book one of the Prestige Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Preskil Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Preskil Beach Resort for your honeymoon and for reviewing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the various activities on offer at our resort as well as your special appreciation of the service delivered by Dominic from our dive center and our therapists at our Ylang Spa.

On the other hand, I take good note of your disappointment encountered during dinner time at our main restaurant. The hotel has 3 restaurants, namely the Spices restaurant serving themed buffet style food: the Charka Steakhouse which as its name suggests caters for meat lovers and finally our Beach restaurant and Bar, the Tapas Grill which provides for an a la carte dinning experience.

We look forward to having the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon to experience our a la carte restaurants, which we are sure will meet your expectations.

Kind Regards
Christophe Desmarais
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 2,607 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was actually here for a workshop - i was amazed at how helpful the staff of this resort are. nothing is too much trouble. plus i had a beach facing ground floor room. hop out of bed and fall into the sea. perfection. there were some blips - the bar staff were variable which led to the mark down. Also by day 6 i could not handle the buffet any more but that may be more of a person issue. the room was lovely, clean, great internet - some of the best of any hotel on an island ive been to anywhere. keep it up.

Room Tip: ground floor beach facing - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbvusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I had an excellent honeymoon here. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and the daily themed menu was great. Its nice that it is close to the airport too and near a lot of activities. The catamaran trip was awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryceP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great place for holidays , we spent only two days and were very sad when we left, food is great , rooms clean and comfortable ,staff very charming , it was the 3rd time we have had short holidays there and we are hoping to go back as soon as we will be able to do so.

Room Tip: Excellent place to spend holidays and enjoy the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was very nice,i was offered a birthday cake for free for my boyfriend's birthday! And also a nice decoration on the bed saying happy birthday! Reception staff were great! In general we loved the hotel. The food was nice but was just expecting a more variety of food specially for a saturday night! But everything was great,Had a really nice time there

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on the 3rd and final leg of the trip. Again, food and drinks very good, rooms clean and comfortable, service splendid and in a friendly helpful atmosphere. Beach was superb and the sunbeds comfortable too! Just the place to have yet another special meal laid on, bottle of champagne in the room and this time, a delicious looking cake which we were too full to finish!

Room Tip: Try one of the separate "prestige cottages" where, on ground floor, you may look out from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a great week in this beautiful resort. It has a mixture of accommodation made up of ground and first floor flats or there is a penthouse flat with two smaller flats on the ground floor. We were in a penthouse which if you can splash out is well worth the extra money. Massive bed, bath to relax in watching the sea or the TV whichever takes your fancy! There is a mini bar which obviously we didn't take up but instead walked to the supermarket, about 20 minutes, and bought wine and water at very reasonable prices. The supermarket also has a couple of cash points which is useful and if you would rather not walk back then for 100 rupees (£2.00) a taxi will run you back to the resort. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space too in the room.

Our room 431 was lovely with a view facing slightly north east across the water to the mountains. The water is turquoise and gently lapping, however there are only a couple of places at the resort which are suitable for swimming in the sea as underfoot it is quite rocky. This part of the beach is good because it is sheltered from the wind, which although always warm can sometimes get quite strong. There are plenty of sun loungers under the palm trees and staff who will bring drinks to the beach.

The resort is immaculately kept with excellent daily housekeeping. The gardens are really lovely and tended by a very diligent team of gardeners. There are two pools, both unheated; this time of year the water could really do with a boost as I found the pool quite a lot colder than the sea!

We stayed on a half board deal which was excellent, offering a huge choice of food and drinks for both breakfast and dinner from the Spices restaurant. The bar next to the Spices restaurant has a definite Colonial Indian feel about it with nice sofas and Lloyd Loom chairs. If you want to go to one of the other restaurants on the site this is made possible for the payment of an extra supplement. The tapas restaurant was nice which was on the beach but to be honest I wouldn't bother with the Charka as I thought the food very average and certainly no better than the Spices restaurant.

There is a very nice Spa with charming staff and a variety of treatments. Some are included in various packages that are available. Massages are excellent.

The beach is nice but the sand is imported so quite gravelly set on a hard surface. Certainly not the type of sand for building sand castles. To be honest I think this resort is more suited to adults than children as the beach is more for sun beds and cocktails than children's activities.

The staff at the resort are all excellent and charming. Nothing is too much trouble and service is always delivered with a smile and a greeting.

Altogether this is a really great place to have a relaxing holiday. There are loads of taxis outside the resort with drivers who are willing to drive you round the island for a day for approximately £50. If you book through the resort it will cost you double. We had a great driver who was knowledgeable and fun whose number I could pass on if needed. There are buses right outside the resort too which go to the small town of Mahebourg which has a great market on Mondays. There is also a bus station from which buses travel all over the Island.

My only criticism is that for a resort of this quality, bearing in mind that it is advised not to drink the water, is that a bottle of water should be provided in the room each day. A large bottle is very cheap and would cost the resort very little money to make guests happy. Would I return? Yes please!

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are lovely facing the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suseyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
27.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
388 reviews
9.9 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,898 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,641 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range: £131 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing