We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal spot for a transit stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Singleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ideal spot for a transit stop over”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stopped at Preskil on our way back from Paris to Perth. Close to the airport, we were welcomed and well looked after - food was excellent and there was lots to do - water activities, tennis etc. Rooms were great and it was quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasoSingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Preskil Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive comment you kindly posted through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your back for a longer stay soon.
With kind regards

Christopher Desmarais
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    890
    248
    114
    52
See reviews for
553
1,419
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a great little property for a 4 star standard , or ideal for an over night stay before an early morning flight as only 15 mins from the airport . Suiting all , families , couples , single travellers and elderly if need be as no steps .

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach I think would be ideal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Preskil Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive comment you posted on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for a longer stay with us.
With kind regards

Christopher Desmarais
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We recently visited preskil beach resort in Mauritius on 23rd June 2014 for me & my wife's honeymoon and on way to the resort we wasn't impressed with how the area was as we felt we was going through a third world country on the way ,on the way we went through a small village then to preskil beach resort on the Entrance we thought it was very nice on arrival ,after checking in we realised after that the holiday company trail finders booked us the wrong room and then it all started from there weather was poor as it was there winter but was told by the trail finders that weather was still hot & good NOT,and the room had baths for our 2 year old son But didn't so wasn't happy traveling all the way from England to have all these problems,the room the trail finders booked us in was a lagoon room very basic Room not worth the money the bathroom was old dated and yellow & white tiles dirty sinks & toilets very shabby ,on arrival after complaining to the manager he kindly upgraded us after the trail finders holiday company booked us the wrong room from the start as we needed a bath for my son and only room with a bath was the cottage room so we looked at the cottage suit that was very nice and a lot better than the lagoon room that was disgusting and had to pay for wifi too as this wasn't free, food was very limited & basic didn't have kids menus , and entertainment was rubbish ,we could go off the resort as the areas around the resort was too dangerous as we didn't feel safe and there wasn't anywhere else to go and the supermarket was a good 25-30 walk away , overall the staff was amazing and very helpful ,weather don't go in the winter time as not that warm,views was amazing from the beach, all resort staff friendly & helpful,just not great entertainment and could do with better food and more variety for English and kids meals and the kids club only look after kids over 3 years as this didn't help us at all,as we was told he could go , and it's a formal evening meal dress code but wasn't told again by trailfiders so this caused us more upset as wasn't told ,would we go back NO would prefer the north side next time more to do I think .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flic-en-flac
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently visited preskil as a family of 3, we were made very welcome with a complementary candle light dinner and massage for our anniversary. Staff were welcoming, polite and personable. The grounds were extremely well maintained and activities well organised. The resort is ideally situated on the crystal clear lagoon. The day trip on the catermaran was idyllic with delicious BBQ food and rum!
The kids club is small however made our son feel special.

Thanks preskil team for making a memorable holiday.

Simon Kathryn and jack

Room Tip: The lagoon rooms had a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wixters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Preskil Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for having chosen Preskil Beach Resort for your holiday in Mauritius and also for sharing your experience on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay amongst us, and made the most of our geographical location and its pristine beauty. Thank you for recommending our full day cruise on board of Cat cruiser our catamaran to future travelers. This is indeed one of the highlights recommended by most of our guests who visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christophe Desmarais
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Preskil is on the east coast at the bottom in the former capital of Mahebourg. We went in late June which is winter in Mauritius - it wasn't that warm or sunny, though when we went across to the west (tourist) coast it was a lot warmer, so I would say if you are going out of season you may not want to stay, but this area stays pleasant when the summer humidity kicks in on the other coast. On the map it looks perilously close to the airport but we really didn't see or hear any planes so not an issue. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful with impeccable English, and the place was sparklingly clean. The food was good, massive choice at breakfast and a different themed buffet every evening. I would recommend going all inclusive, not that much extra and it meant that all the lunchtime food was free, and you could eat at the speciality restaurants as well for no extra charge. The inclusive drinks were local beers and spirits and some very passable South African wines, and they made a mean cocktail too! There were included water sports which included waterskiing lessons, which I thought was good value to be included. The only downside was the service was sometimes a bit hit and miss which was manageable as the hotel was less than half full but might get a bit frustrating in peak season.
We were only there a week and took the direct BA flight so were very happy that we were so close to the airport as that flight leaves at 8am and you don't need to leave the hotel til 6 as it literally takes 15 mins door to door whereas those coming in from the tourist areas would have had an hour to an hour and half journey.

Room Tip: We were in a room away from the main complex but it meant that we had quiet and brilliant beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent the last two days of our holiday in Mauritius in the Preskil resort. This resort is definitely not on the recommendations list.

The upside is that the room is in close proximity to the airport, has a nice beach and the staff is helpful and friendly, but.....

The rooms are way overpriced. We had a standard room, which was very, very small. The bathroom is worn, old, small and should get a renovation. In addition, it is not cleaned properly. In summary, the room is basically of the same quality as an average 3-star city hotel and most definitely not up to 4-star beach resort standards. Annoying is also that they charge for WiFi in the room, which is something I would not expect in a €200,-/night hotel...

In addition to the crappy room the food (we had a half-board package) is not up to par. Not much variety to choose from and not very tasteful. I must admit that we stayed in an apartment for the rest of our holiday and ate in local restaurants all the time. Mauritian local food is very tasteful and full of spices and different flavors. I do realise that one cannot expect that from a resort buffet that needs to be acceptable for everybody, but still... I have had better for less!

We were a bit disappointed and had hoped to finish our holiday with two days of luxury, which sadly was not the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneDeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This resort has a tired feel; there were numerous little things that needed attention, such as wooden steps that required repair/maintenance, pathways that should be revamped and ordinary gardens. We spent one night at Le Preskil while transiting from Reunion on our way home because this resort is close to the airport. I'm relieved that we did not spend longer there.
The best part of our stay was the welcoming host, a delightful woman who told us about the resort and escorted us to our room; she was most efficient in dealing with the kitchen on our behalf to deal with a food allergy. The other staff all did their jobs well, but they lacked gusto - which made me ponder the nature of the management/staff relations at the resort.
Our room was on the small side, but comfortable and we slept well. The food provided on the half board arrangement was of average quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,419 reviews
26.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,326 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,251 reviews
15.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Property: Preskil Beach Resort
Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing