We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 10 days in Mauritius” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preskil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic 10 days in Mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Just got back from 11 days in Mauritius staying at the Preskil in Maheborg on a half board basis. We upgraded our room to be less than 20 feet from our terrace to the water.

The hotel was excellent, room very nice, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and overall we had a great week. The food was very good and we really enjoyed ourselves.

If you like fishing then take a travel rod with you and you can have a lot of fun as I did catching fish (night and day) off the jetty. Or there's a local called Nelson who'll take you in the lagoon in his boat to catch Barracuda and Trumpetfish which we did on the last afternoon.

Other tips.

Change money at the airport when you arrive in Mauritius as the rate is at least 4% better than in the UK.

There's a supermarket 20 mins walk from the hotel where you can buy things for picnics etc.

The local bus service is cheap and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    872
    236
    104
    44
See reviews for
531
1,385
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We arrived after our 12 hour flight and was given a welcome drink and wet flannel. The staff were friendly and efficient. We were also lucky enough to be able to get into our Super Delux room 3 hours early as was ready. We had arranged to get married on the beach here and mainly went to plan, other than a few things which was of no fault of the hotel. We had a fabulous wedding and party after helped by some people we met there and the staff noticing our needs/requirements. The room was as described in the brochure, spacious, with a lovely view across the bay, perfect for us. We found the food in the Spices Restaurant really good with plenty of choice. We also ate in the Steak House 4 times in our 2 week stay and my husband really enjoyed the steaks there, which was unusual as at home he doesn't eat them! The resident Manager made himself known to us and chatted to everyone staying there on a regular basis, he took all our feedback on board and answered any questions we had honestly. We found the staff couldn't do enough for us. Some of the night entertainment wasn't to our taste but this is an international hotel and has to cater for everyone. We would definitely return there again as a great time was had by us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazza61Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We have just returned from this paradise island, and fab hotel. We went for my sons wedding, in all there was 7 of us family, and wedding party at another hotel. We upgraded and our room was right on the beach with fantastic views. Everybody at the hotel cant do enough for you, they are all friendly, and really look after you. We went all inclusive, which we was glad, because we spent more than we paid for, drinks, lunches, breakfast and we dined in the steak bar most night, which was expensive if not all inclusive, the tapas bar was good, but not what I thought it was having visited Spain, we thought that you got bits of different things, but you dont. The place is lovely and clean. The weather was turning when we was coming home, but it is there winter now anyway. All in all we had a fantastic 2 weeks, and the wedding was fab in the Shandrani also. I would say not for children.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed at Le Preskil in November 2007 and forgot to write a review - so here it is now....fantastic holiday was had. The steak restaurant served the best steaks and the greatest sauces, the staff were friendly and charming and couldnt do enough for you.

We upgraded to a penthouse, and the room was lush, breakfast could be served each morning on the balcony, with great sea views and white sands. The sunset cruise is well worth a go, with the dancing crew being one of the highlights of our stay.

The spa is fantastic, and i spent our two weeks going through the menu, had one of everything and all of it was great, with the stone massage being the top of my list, even persuaded my hubby to have a pedicure here, never seen such shiny toes!

We don't often find somewhere were we would would go back, but this is definitely one which is worth a second trip!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Me and a partner stayed here for two nights after having stayed at the blue lagoon hotel for three weeks, and the indian resort (le mourne) for two days. Absolutely fantastic hotel with amazing service. The food was Also fantastic which was a buffet in the main restaurant un less you book in for another restaurant. we ate at the Charka Grill restaurant which served the best steak i have ever had it was lovely. The lunch menu in the batr is also great they do a lovely selection. i highly recommend going all inclusive in Mauritius as its expensive otherwise!

The 'Beach Boys' serve you on the beach if you pull up a flag beside you which is a great feature, i enjoyed lots of milkshakes :) The gym is fantastic with great equipment! internet is very expensive it costs £11. There is a great games room also! The lagoon rooms are comftable and air-conditioned the only downfall is the lizards which like to sit of the cieling, they dont hurt you but i found it a little distracting when trying to sleep. Also the beach is artiful so the sand is a bit grainy!

Apart from this the staff are brilliant and i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who desires a relaxing beach and sun holiday!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x_leena_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

It is what it says on the tin. The resort was great, have I used that word before! I sailed, Skied, kayacked, wind surfed, played tennis, aquarobics still had time to tour the Island, walk with lions, quad biked and still had time to relax! Summertimes tours were great, the beach guys were great the Dive guys were great but don't go for the diving. Overall great

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laird0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

The photos for this resort do it justice! The hotel was clean and the staff efficient. Although our room was the basic lagoon room it was very clean and the towels replaced daily - lets face it, you don't do that at home!! We had an excellent view and although it rained occasionally this was a good reason to get out the sun.
The restaurant was also excellant with a wide variety of food which only the fusiest of eaters would find fault with.And if you love your desserts then this was paradise.
We stayed half board and didn't find this a problem as you more than enough choice for breakfast and with the heat of the sun we never felt inclined to eat at lunch time. The drinks are alittle on the pricey side - but this seems to be the case were ever you travel to these days. Don't take to heart the negative reviews, go and judge for yourself. We would love to return to Mauritius as it is still unspoilt by commercialism and we will deffinately return to Le Preskil.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brainyblonde064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
2.0 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
26.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
27.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Property: Preskil Beach Resort
Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing