We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Road plan from the Airport to the villa
The villa location
Google map of area
Google map of area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mahebourg

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ajsb2018
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in the first floor. The villa was great, modern, spacious and clean. The owner Lindsay is generous and gentleman who dealt with us professionally. Also, thanks to Danny who was very nice and supportive. The location is nearby to Mahebourg which is a quite area with charming beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Dear Ahmed, thank you very much indeed for your stay at La Belle Maison De Bel Air. I also have to thank you for your outstanding message and review. You will always be welcome and hope to meet with you in the future. My very best regards. Inshallah. Lindsay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutaru
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
“A good base to explore Mauritius from..”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our family of 5 stayed the 1st floor apartment in December 2017 for 13 nights. The apartment was really spacious, modern, clean and exactly as advertised. The surrounding area was quiet, not too built up and close to supermarkets in Mahebourg town. We also used the services of the cook with whom we agreed a fee for cooking and reimbursement of the groceries bought. We were happy with the meals she prepared and it was way cheaper and at times better quality food than eating out at some of the restaurants. Danny, the caretaker, also came in daily to clean the pool and was available to attend to any issues.

The kids (aged 11 & 10) appreciated the pool and found it adequate for their needs. It was also a welcome amenity to occupy them especially after a long hot day of sightseeing. All rooms were air-conditioned and this was definitely very welcome at night due to the hot weather.

We explored Mauritius in part by seeking out the golf clubs, 2 in the east, 45mins out, 1 in the north, 1hr 15mins and 2 in the South, 50mins out. Driving back to our base was not always fun but once back home, the feeling went away. Roads from the north, west and south were great and from the east, a bit winding in parts.

This being our first time in Mauritius, staying in this area gave us a full appreciation of Mauritian people and their lives as well as the country itself. We also happened upon one or two resorts, livelier and more modern places in the west and north. Hence if you want more modern buildings and a touristy feel then the west and north would be the options but if you appreciate a quieter more relaxing experience, then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Good morning Ndai and family. I am over the moon with your outstanding review. Thank you very much indeed for your stay. Hope to see you again. My very best regards to you and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne T
Taipei
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect start for New Year”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in Mahebourg for the second half of our vacation, having spent time in Flic en Flac exploring the west coast first. I must say, we preferred this spot. Hiring a car is a must though, because though you're walking distance to the town, you will need it to get to the beaches.

It is a small island so you can cover much of it using this as your base. Make sure you visit La Mourne and the beaches on the south coast are beautiful too, with some good snorkelling. We did the zip lining which was great family fun.

Blue Bay is your closest beach at about 12 minutes' drive and is exactly as the name describes. It's a lovely, safe swimming area with snack vendors and amenities. There is good snorkelling to be had just around the corner at Pointe de Esny and if you head further up the coast, Ile aux Cerfs is a fun party island with restaurants, bars and all the fun water sports. Boat trips are a must too.

Mahebourg itself a bustling market town with plenty of little shops and supermarkets to get supplies and some delicious street food. Try the rotis and puris - great for breakfast or lunch.

The apartments are in a quiet residential area, about 10 minutes walk into town. The set up is basically two spacious apartments, each having a dedicated floor and a large shaded balcony area. The apartments are well set up with three large bedrooms, one en suite, a family bathroom and an extra toilet off the laundry. The washing machine in ours worked well and was handy to have.

There are security bars on all the windows, which means you can open the place up to the breeze while you're out, for plenty of fresh air. All our bedrooms had air con too, if you'd prefer. The kitchen is a good size and was well set up with everything we could need. The showers were hot and strong and the beds comfortable.

Our host, Danny, was friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. He fixed problems quickly and was available if we needed him. We also had a cook come for us, his sister-in-law. She was excellent and able to cook just about anything we asked for as well as making suggestions and introducing us to local favourites. We had kids with us, so she often made kid friendly version alongside a more spicy options to suit all of us.

We were on the ground floor and the apartment above us was only booked for the first and last day of our stay, so we had the place to ourselves. The garden is lovely, with mango trees and a well maintained pool. There is also a rooftop with views of to the ocean and mountains surrounding Mahebourg. It was the dream stop to watch the amazing firework displays coming from every direction at midnight on New Years.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely use it as our base next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Good morning Suzanne.
First of all I have to say thank you very much indeed for this outstanding review. I am over the moon. I am very happy and proud that many years of hard works from Danny and myself been recognised. Moreover I really appreciate the advices and guidance which I will implement in March 2017 when I will be there. Hope to see you again in the future. Our best regards to you and the family. Lindsay Roussel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
633vud
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Base for the non-mainstream traveller”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We really loved this place which really felt like home during our trip to Mauritius. We especially enjoyed the breakfast which we litirally celebrated every day on the terrace.
Absolutely safe neighbourhood with no tourists around. You will need a rental car to explore the island. Blue bay is within 5/10 mins distance, as so the airport (but no aircraft noise)
Everything else is a 40mins drive or more away. Bit the trips on these roads were very nice and the country on the way gives you some enjoyable views.

The house provides everything you need, i am not sure what there would be to complain about

Thank you for letting us stay at your house

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Good morning Mr. VU D.
Thank you very much indeed for your stayed at La belle maison de bel air. I really love and appreciate your lovely review. As I said before I feel very happy and proud that the apartment was to your expectations, liking and have enjoyed your time there. Hope to see you again in the future. Our best regards and a wonderful year ahead. Lindsay Roussel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“peaceful apartment, and very spacious”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we had a lovely time in the apartment, very spacious, we sat on the large balcony, watching the birds, it is a very peaceful area, where the locals live, easy to catch a bus into mahebourg, which then you can catch a bus all over the island.The pool was lovely to have a dip in, after the heat of the day.Danny came to see us everyday (caretaker)he only spoke French, and we only spoke English, so it was very interesting sometimes, thankyou Danny.We met Liindsay the owner, it was lovely for him to tell us the reason why he had the apartments built, and we enjoyed his company over a few drinks, thankyou Lindsay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Dear Christine and John
Thank you very much indeed for your stay at La belle Maison de bel air. Hope to see you again, all the very best and wonderful health. Kind regards. Lindsay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, the views, the veranda, the pool, the birds that came into the garden
Liked least: The absence of internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your stayed. I love your review. Hope to see you again. I wish you and family a very happy new year 2017. Blessings. Lindsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pouchele...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thank you very much indeed for your review. Actually I like to be there for these months too. We can enjoy all the tropical fruits as it’s the season. For the rain, Mahébourg been always pleasant and dry but unfortunately these past few months we have had more rain than usual. Over all Mahébourg is a very pleasant place to be. The local are very helpful and pleasant peoples.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing