We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Maplecrest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend, having booked only the night before. I didn't know the area particularly well before going but learned that it is near a small town called Windham which is about a 5 min drive away and has a decent choice of restaurants (we went to Neapolis and would recommend it).
The host Agnes is very pleasant, professional and did all she could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The room we stayed in was a little small, something Agnes mentioned herself without prompting and that the other rooms were larger.
breakfast was as nice granola fruit salad followed by eggs and bacon, coffee, juice etc.
The location is very much off the beaten track and over looks a small field at the front and the house backs onto a garden and a creak at the back. I would definitely return and recommend this place to any one else looking for a pleasant break from NY (or elsewhere) and would certainly recommend this to friends too.
I wish Agnes and her husband all the best with this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whosgotmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved Mountain Treasure B&B for its "out of the way" location yet so close to Windham mountain. The set-up was warm and inviting and Agnus made a breakfast "to die for"!! We plan on coming back this summer with the rest of the family.

Room Tip: Our room had its own bathroom which is why I chose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the "blue breeze" for two nights. The room was very comfortable w/ memory foam bed, mini fridge, flat screen TV,private bathroom w/ all necessary amenities. Our host made our delicious breakfasts to order, and made us feel like honored guests in her home. Staying here is not like a regular hotel - it is a delight and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergiu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound Ridge, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was very nice, warm and cosy place with delicious 3 choices of breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed the conversations with the host and other guests. We stayed there only one day. We wished for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlfredMier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sinai, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

For the tl:dr people:
- Good location, close to two main skiing mountains - Hunter and Wyndham.
- Clean rooms.
- Friendly owner.
- Free Wi-Fi.
- Competitive rates.

We had come up for hiking and zip-lining and were looking for a place near Hunter Mountain (though Mountain Treasure is also very close to Wyndham Mountain for those interested in skiing). Most of the resorts (or "resorts") that I found online were either too expensive or had reviews that noted out-of-date fixtures or less-than-clean rooms. Then I came across Mountain Treasure. The reviews highlighted that it was clean, as well as the efforts that Agnes and her husband had put into the bones of the house and in making sure that guests' stays were pleasant. The rates were also comparable to the more inexpensive resort rooms.

I was a little apprehensive about booking as this was the first Bed and Breakfast that I had ever stayed at, but I could not have made a better choice. The reviews were dead-on - the room was clean (Art Deco) with included fireplace (which we did not use as it was warm enough in the chilly weather), DVD/VCR combo, TV, and en-suite bathroom with a good amount of hot water (as well as a chair within the bathroom). There is a small DVD library at the top of the stairs.

Agnes had pastries available to have with tea on our arrival and prepared a great breakfast complete with eggs, bacon, breads, fruit, and coffee (waffles and crepes were also on the menu that morning). Tea and hot water were available at all times. There was a brook (really more of a rushing creek as it had been raining during our trip) in the backyard with seating, perfect for relaxing with a cup of coffee or someone else to keep you warm (or both).

Location-wise Wyndham is the closest town and has multiple restaurants. The town of Hunter is about a 15 minute drive. Cell phone reception on AT&T was a little spotty inside the B&B but you could get a reliable signal outside (though the entire area is somewhat patchy for AT&T - Verizon is apparently better). The included wireless Internet connection was a boon for planning our trip.

It is clear that Agnes has expended a great amount of time and effort into creating a first-class experience. She has big plans for her B&B and it will be interesting to see how Mountain Treasure evolves. We found a great base camp for our trip and we will return if we make another trip to the area.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art Deco room which has a small electric fireplace. It was a little cozy but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubhav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our stay was really memorable, especially thanks to the hospitable and friendly hosts, who are just a delight. They made us feel so at home. The house is newly renovated, so it's fresh, sparkling, and clean. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, and the place is very peaceful and quiet, so we had a wonderful sleep. There was delicious homemade cake and fresh coffee for us on arrival, and breakfast the next morning was fabulous. The surroundings are really nice: the view out our window was of a peaceful grassy hill, and you can walk down the back of the property to sit at a very relaxing spot right next to a lovely stream. And there are great hiking spots and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19vanessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for one night over Labor Day weekend. We were in the smallest room and it was so spacious- big comfortable bed, flat screen tv, lovely en suite bathroom and SO CLEAN! The lovely inn keepers showed us some of the bigger rooms which were huge and nicely decorated. The inn keepers were so warm and welcoming, they even let us ride their bikes. There is a stream at the back with a fire pit, which is great in the evenings. Amazing, fresh breakfast and delicious pastries and ice tea left out in the afternoon. I must emphasize how clean this place it- everything smelt like fresh laundry. It felt like we were staying in someone's home. Highly recommend this place, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maplecrest
2.8 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 4 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
6.9 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#4 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#1 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Address: 408 Route 40, Maplecrest, NY 12454-5228
Region: United States > New York > Maplecrest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maplecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly opened bed and breakfast offers four comfortable rooms with private bathrooms, flat screen TV, DVD, Wi-Fi, electric fireplace, fridge, A/C. Free full breakfast. Mountain views, a beautiful stream, and an open space make this setting a truly magnificent place. BBQ and fire pit on site. Packages available. Lowest rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing