We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ski trip with baseball team friend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Excellent facility and clean room. I visited the hotel with my family and my baseball team mates.
Receptionist is very kind and friendly guidance about how to go to skiing filed.

Dinner and breakfast is also excellent. We enjoyed variety Japanese hot pod for dinner
and breakfast buffet. Especially, free rice ball making corner is great help for family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yossy1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here on Feb 22, 23 and 24th 2013. I always trust Tripadvisor members opinion and only stayed here because it was a last minute trip with the kids and I couldn't find another place available. This place had bad reviews!!! Hands down this place is OVERPRICED. Customer service- TERRIBLE. Pool NO TOWELS and only 4 feet deep, so difficult to enjoy a good splash and swim with the kids. Room was dirty but a bit spacious with a small patio. Hot tub had grime in the creases. Room not cleaned properly; grime ring in the bathtub. They knew we were arriving at 12:30 in the afternoon so we were a bit shocked when we were told to come back at 3 pm because the room was not ready. They did allow us to use the swimming pool while we waited. We used the swimming pool a bit then left and returned at 3:45 pm and still our room was not ready. Food - EAT ELSEWHERE; food is not good or tasty and is pricey. This place is run or owned by Japanese so it's extremely popular with Japanese patrons.

Room Tip: There are no towels at the pool so bring one with you. Stay clear of their meal plan it's expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hanah Mountain Resort. We highly value the opinions of our guests and apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We strive to provide the best possible hospitality and service. Please be assured that the cleanliness issues you mentioned have been addressed. Again, our apologies.

When you return to Hanah, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. Hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.

Debra Storms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I am a big fan of this place. A general manager is very warm and welcoming (he is Japanese as the place is owned by a Japanese company, has limited English ability, but his warmness you can feel). The place was booked up in the President Day weekend and we were waitlisted. Finally we got a call a day before since one room was cancelled (Assistant Manager Ms. Masako called saying the originally quoted rate was a mistake as the person was a newly recruited staff (?) and the rate should be higher... finally the original rate was honored. I was a bit perplexed.
We stayed there in the past for a golfing weekend several years ago and it was fantastic. It was a special package with an unlimited golf, plus two meals (Japanese we picked) and you can use the wellness facility. We had a great time. This time we returned for ski. There are several ski areas around the property, closest one is 10 miles away, I believe.
The check-in was smooth. We chose Japanese diner (with Sashimi, Beef, then main dish - Seafood Hot Pot (Nabe) - delicious). It was a right choice as 1) it was very tasty, 2) other course meals took forever as the place was booked (everyone needs to take a meal plan and over capacity of the restaurant staff) and all of my surrounding tables waited for really a long time (45-1 hour to be served the first course). So I highly recommend to take a Japanese option, the meal is freshly pre-prepared (it is possible) and you will not regret.
As the lodge section is a bit far from the main club house building, you need to go by car to load your luggage. Then you need to walk back and forth. It was really cold when we stayed. Also the lodge corridor was not covered. Though I did not feel insecure as the propery is in a secured place, not roadside, it is cold. So my view is this place is better off in summer (very beautiful you can enjoy seanic from your balcony), though you can also enjoy skiing in winter.
The bed and room is comfy and enough room. Also there is a sport complex (pool, sauna, hot tub, mini gym), shower and changing room. Again because the place was full, it was so many people in a hot tub, sauna. It is a hard to relax. Always better off go there in quiet period (which many people including me, can’t!)
So, the place is nice and good value for money. Food is tasty. Breakfast buffet was great - even they offer making rice balls for picnic lunch. Also kids can stay free with parents (only need to pay meals $25 - great deal), so bring your family. We decide to return sometime in warmer periods, spring or summer, or auturm (we can enjoy very beautiful color changing maple leaves).
One negative point, we felt the service and attitude of Assistant Manager, Ms. Masako, was not warm, nor hospitable. We thought it was very cold and business like attitude. If she could improve her hospitality, this place would be perfect. Other staff is all nice.
I really hope this place will survive for a long time offering a great option to stay for golf, skiing or other outdoor activities. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Second floor with a balcony (if not in a winter period, you can enjoy a nice view from your balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doranobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hanah Mountain Resort. We value the opinions of our guests and apologise that we did not completely meet your expectatons.

We are happy that you are a repeat guest and have many positive things to say about our hotel. We also pride ourselves on our warm and friendly hospitality, and have shared your comments with the team so that they may utilize them for training and reiterate the importance of warmth and sensitivity.

On your return to Hanah, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Debra Storms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Thanks Hanah's all staff ! We had a wonderful time:) Everything nice. about,one of nice outside spa,one of inside swiming pool, one of nice play room with pool, one of nice restaurant's japanese meals & great Bar lounge,one of nice welcome drink bar with japanese snacks counter, one of nice winter nights star view, one of woderful staff's hospitality!! We will be coming back about in this summer too:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chikara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We've stayed here 4 maybe 5 times, sometimes in the house and sometimes in rooms. It's a beautiful place but a poorly run business. It's on the verge of being a great place. Food has been hit and miss over the years but generally it's very good. The combination of mountain folk and Japanese management makes for a humorous environment. We keep coming back because it works well for our skiing needs. I've suggested fixes and small upgrades...they don't seem to listen.
Really nice people...the kind you just wanna smack around because they are really missing out on having a nice place...with a little bit more work, they would have a happy ending.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayandSnooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for a convention along with about 40 other people this past weekend (late October 2012).

Good points:
- Large, comfortable rooms
- Tasty food.
- Beautiful location.

Negative points:
- Unbelievably slow service in the dining room. On Saturday they took our dinner entree orders at lunchtime but come evening we sat down at 6:30, and the entrees didn't start arriving until after 7:30, with the last one around 7:45. The previous night was even worse - it took us close to 3 hours to get through our meals.
- Extremely rude treatment of our hotel liaison, who was completely fed up with them even before we arrived.
- Except for the chocolate muffins, which were to die for, the breakfast buffet was just adequate: flavorless eggs, toaster waffles, etc.
- Rooms rather warm and stuffy this time of year. AC had been turned off due to the cool weather, but even with the windows open all the time it was a bit on the warm side.

I'd be happy to return here on an individual basis, but I can't recommend a group staying here due to the issues we encountered.

I should add that their policy regarding refunds seems to have become slightly more flexible: several of us left early due to the approach of hurricane Sandy, and we all received refunds of almost all of the cost of the night we cancelled.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinwparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for your reveiw. We were delighted to host your convention at Hanah. Your group was cordial and charming. It is true that there were issues when it came to your dining schedules. We feel that some of these issues may have been due to miscommunications and are sorry for the inconveniences you were caused.
Please note that we are accustomed to hosting large groups, mostly made up of golfers, who leave us satisfied, and return to Hanah year after year.
From your review it seems that, overall, you were satisfied with your stay here. Hopefully, our good points will outweigh the less than perfect dining experiences, and we will have the previlege of welcoming you again in a couple years. D. Storms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Annual golf weekend in the Catskills and we played here for the first time. This valley course is in great condition and has some very challenging holes. Meaningful water hazards on five or six holes and if you're not good, water becomes an issue on even more. $55 with cart. Not bad.

However, no formal pro shop, a joke of a tee time reservation system and noone, and I mean noone to enforce basic golf etiquette. We were constantly held up by a sixsome which led to painfully slow play. The group behind us hit up on us at least four times before we said something. After we asked the sixsome to split up, they would still spend ten minutes looking for a lost ball. Six hour round of golf. SIX. Never once saw a ranger, never once had an opportunity to ask anyone affilated with this place to enforce the rules.

After the round, there was noone to talk to about this. I'm not a serious golfer but there are basics that every golfer should follow, especially on a weekend.

Afterwards, we opted to eat in the restaurant and it was reasonable and good, albeit a little slow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
22.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
22.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Address: 576 W Hubbell Hill Rd, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455-2438
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Price Range: £120 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanah Mountain Resort And Country Club Hotel Margaretville
Hanah Mountain Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing