We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke smell in non-smoking room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Massena
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
566 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Smoke smell in non-smoking room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I booked a non-smoking room and for the price it was a pleasant surprise. Large room, big bed that was clean with new linens, somewhat beat up desk and furniture, new recliner I had NO desire to sit it (perfect material to hide icky things) a microwave and refrigerator. All for $89 I think.

However, during the time I was in my room I would occasionally get a whiff of someone's stale smoke. Not sure where it was coming from, perhaps the hallway. The hallway is right out of the 1960's era, perfect for a Norman Bates redux. Simply awful.

Never ate the breakfast, just grabbed a coffee, but any place that takes the time to bring in a waffle maker gets a thumbs up from me.

Don't expect a Ritz Carlton or JW Marriott experience here. Lower your expectations and this is an OK place, particularly for work crews.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge-Massena, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the smoke smell in the room. I will work on this issue with our cleaning staff. I assure you wont have this problem the next time you decide to stay with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was on my way to Toronto from Boothbay Harbor, Maine and stayed here for one night. I booked it earlier in the day while in Vermont after reading the trip advisor reviews.
I was very impressed. Room was big, clean and well equipped - there was a fridge and microwave oven in the room. Doug at reception was very helpful.
Breakfast in what used to be the fitness room included make your own waffles, bagels, cereal, yoghurt, juices, coffee etc. Very well presented.
There is a picnic area at the front with a propane barbeque.
Walmart is five minutes to the east.
Good place to stay and the price was better than I could find anywhere else being a long weekend in Canada.
Andrew

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tocanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge-Massena, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,301 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 741 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It took four one night stops to get from Buffalo, NY to Bar Harbor, ME. This was night two. The booking went smoothly, we had a nice unit with fridge and microwave and a decent breakfast. The room was immaculate and the service excellent. Very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge-Massena, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Luzerne, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Good motel, not high end but great for the price. We had a very large room with great beds and very clean. Plenty of towels also. All room furniture was in good shape. Breakfast room was large with enough tables for about 30 people which is better than most. Breakfast was the usual fare of muffins, cereal, bagels, make your own waffles, yogurt with juice & coffee. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge-Massena, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I know EconoLodges can vary quite a bit, but this is one of the really good ones. It's right on the edge of Massena--we were attending an event in Potsdam, only 17 miles away. The place is spotlessly clean, very well maintained. The manager, Mr. Desai, was exceptionally friendly and helpful at the desk. The room was large, much larger than most, and very comfortable, with a particularly comfortable bed. It included a fridge, microwave, hair dryer--not always the case in budget hotels. The continental breakfast included the make-your-own waffles, as well as bagels, donuts, cereals, fruit and more, with a large breakfast room. There are only two floors, and no elevator, so if that's an issue, ask for the ground floor. They'll bend over backwards to help you!

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor, so get ground floor if that's an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge-Massena, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were looking for something inexpensive and clean, and hoping for a little luck since we couldn't really afford to travel at the moment. What a surprise this little hotel turned out to be. The room was clean, if dated, and the bathroom was really good. The bed was as hard as the floor but it was clean and neat. Check out the fresh ceiling. There was plenty of space and WiFi, as well as HBO. There was a marginal continental breakfast but, again, everything was neat, clean and well placed. The front office is clean and appealing, the staff helpful and efficient. Maybe I'm giving this property a higher rating because my expectations were so low but I've been in many more expensive hotels that didn't make the effort this little, low-budget motel does. For $75/night, I don't see how you can beat it. It was secure, comfortable, clean, fresh-smelling (no mold or must smells, no cigarette or pet odors), with a good, efficient staff.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the back of the hotel and a vacant large lot bordered by trees. In the autu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Excellent location, close to the US/Canada border and the hotel is well maintained. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing directions and recommendations for a great dinner. Because the rooms funnel off an inside coridor, there is no noise from the traffic. For the small price, I was expecting the complimentary continental breakfast to be very limitted but I was wrong. I'd stay again, anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massena
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
15.0 mi away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
17.8 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 15054 State Highway 37, Massena, NY 13662-6188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Massena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Massena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Massena
Massena Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing