We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent wine, rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Macari Vineyards

Macari Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Mattituck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Macari Vineyards & Winery, established in 1995, is family owned and operated with two tasting rooms and over 180 acres under vine. In the vineyard, the Macari family has strived to be on the cutting edge of viticulture, employing principles of environmentally friendly farming from the very beginning. Our Mattituck Tasting Room is open year round for winetastings. Wines are also available by the glass or bottle to enjoy in ourEstate Room or outside on our covered deck or picnic area. We offer cheeseplatters in season and light snacks are available in our gift shop.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent wine, rude staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The tasting room is nice, but that's about it. The first time we went we were ignored, and finally treated rudely when were able to order. We gave it another chance a few weeks later. Upon pulling into the lot, the "bouncer" told us they were closing in an hour and maybe we shouldn't stay. We didn't and won't be back.The other wineries are much more friendly and we've never had any issues with any of them. Adios Macari.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mediocre wines, nice tasting room”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Nothing overly positively or negatively to say about this vineyard. It had a nice tasting room. The pourers were very knowledgable and friendly. The wine was very mediocre but was priced right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachandFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
398 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good wines, bit of a mob scene on a Saturday”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had been visiting wineries on Friday and it was so nice and quiet that it was a shock to see the number of large groups here. However, we then found out that they also have a tasting room downtown Mattituck that probably would have been more appropriate for our trip. Our tasting server Larry, was very friendly and helpful even though he was clearly extremely busy, he made our visit very enjoyable. Next time we will go to the smaller room or go on a weekday. Would definitely go here with a group.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice sautern type”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Went to 8 different vineyards during the day, this was our first stop. The staff had great knowledge and could tell a story about each wine we tried, their sweet white was excellent so I bougt a bottle to bring with me back to Sweden

Helpful?
Thank Andy_of_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuscan sun yes...frigid embrace”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

When approaching wine counter stay away from tuscan blonde she pours a bitter glass. No smile, warmth, depth. Sour smile and chilly disposition. Two stars, one for the beauty of the vines and the kiss of the sun from the deck. Sad visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macari Vineyards also viewed

 
Southold, North Fork
Peconic, North Fork
 

Been to Macari Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing