We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, amazing food, delicious wine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Nestled in the beautiful North Fork vineyard, Shinn Estate Farmhouse was the perfect weekend getaway. My husband and I have been here many times for wine tastings and three times for their Futures Dinner, but this was our first stay in the Farmhouse. The accommodations were pristine and modern yet cozy. The service was top-rate and everyone was super friendly and professional. There was a bottle of wine and cheese platter in the common room for all of the guests to enjoy upon our arrival and we made new friends with other guests as we shared afternoon food and drink! The breakfast prepared by chef and vineyard co-owner, David Page, was spectacular. The eggs were so fresh because they were from the chickens that live on the vineyard farm! The orange-cranberry scones were delicious and we loved the potato hash with duck. We received a complimentary tasting of four wines, which we enjoyed after checking out and before heading home. I highly recommend Wild Boar Doe and Nine Barrels for anyone who appreciates excellent red wine. I love that their grapes are farmed organically and biodynamically and that they respect nature in their craft. The solar panels and wind turbine are further evidence that they take caring for our planet seriously. If you have a chance to stay here during your trip to the North Fork, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Vineyard room and felt that it was very private (a bit farther back from the o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash121681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Shinn Estate Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Visiting the Shinn Estate Farmhouse is truly a magical experience. From a walk in the vineyard, to incredible wine in the tasting room, to accomodations that were clean, comfortable, and charming, each element of the estate is relaxing and enjoyable! Cannot wait to book our next getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in Vineyard West-Gorgeous!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The farmhouse is beautiful, comfortable, unpretentious. Barbara was a graceful host. he breakfast was a culinary treat and the wine superb. The surrounding farm made you really feel in the country but with a modern touch. would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Shinn Estate was the perfect little get away for our first anniversary together! Pricey but worth it!
GROUNDS: Absolutley beautiful. They allow you to walk through the vineyards and learn all about their vines even though it was harvest time. It is quiet, romantic and serene.
ROOMS:I have never seen a more perfect combination of modern and "outdoorsy". Each room is designed to have a great view, super clean and cozy. Everything they provide is organic or enviornmentally friendly which is always a nice plus. The pictures online are a true depiction of the reality.
STAFF: Despite what some reviewers have mentioned, we found Barbara to be extremley pleasant. Some people might mistake her quietness for being stand off-ish, but in my opinion she was extremly accodating and friendly. I enjoyed watching her help the staff harvest the grapes and run multiple businesses at the same time. The vineyard staff was very nice and accomodating as well.
FOOD: What a gourmet breakfast! We were pleasantly surprised at the kitchen set up. Again modern and very inviting. We had smoothies, scones, risotto with homemade bacon and duck eggs. My husband and I were able to have coffee on the porch even before breakfast. For guests who wake up early, homeade granola and such were available. You are welcomed to the inn with wine and cheese too!
Well, well done!

Room Tip: We stayed at Vineyard West which had it's own bathroom and view of the vineyards. I believe othe...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at Shinn for our pre-wedding and wedding night. The winery is undoubtedly gorgeous! We didn't have any time to taste any wine this trip, but have in the past and it is great. The rooms are very contemporary, so we liked the style and decor of the rooms. We staying in the Vineyard room and it was quiet and the bed was comfy. LOVED the toiletry brand they provided. There were a few negatives...We met the owner Barbara and she was pleasant, but not overly friendly. The only experience we had with David was when we whistled for his dog to come with him as we were obviously not supposed to be playing with him. Because it was harvest time, we suspect that we did not get the experience of David cooking the breakfast. We heard his cooking is phenomenal, but never saw him in the kitchen and the 2 meals were fairly simple. We had scrambled eggs and duck hash (potatoes and chunks of duck) and a frittata the next am. My favorite two items were the scones and the small smoothies. Overall a really nice place to stay, but for the price I was a bit disappointed. Also, mentioned several times when called that this was our wedding and not one person said congratulations, etc. Would have gone a long way to have gotten a little card or something from the innkeepers...Isn't the personal touch one of the reasons you stay in a bed and breakfast?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbridgegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent four nights at Shinn Estate Farmhouse in September, and it was one of the best vacations we've had. The first-floor room was perfect. The hot breakfast each day was indulgent without being overwhelming, and gave us a chance to mix and mingle with other guests. Barbara, one of the owners, was a welcoming presence most mornings - despite the fact that harvest season was underway in the vineyard. The staff in the tasting room was really helpful, in terms of explaining the Shinn wines and offering tips about other wineries, restaurants and attractions in the area. Add perfect weather for bike riding, walking and exploring and we would go back to the North Fork - and Shinn Estate in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed a weekend oin August. We had a beautifully appointed room (there are 4). Overlooking the vineyard. It was restful and quiet. Just what we wanted. The gripe was that they need to turn on the AC before the guest arrives. It was in the 90's that weekend. The best surprise was breakfast. We ate with the other 6 guests. It was beyond compare. Truly extraordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
10.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
9.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
596 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
9.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Address: 2000 Oregon Rd, Mattituck, NY 11952-1762
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range: £138 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing