We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite satisfactory”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here the weekend of July 5th this year. The hotel room was clean, fairly quiet, and the staff was helpful and courteous (and the shuttle and trolley drivers were extra-friendly). There was a discount, so I was satisfied with the accommodation.

That said, I found the hotel and room layout was not user-friendly. The bedroom section was nice, but the sitting area in the front was dark and made me feel claustrophobic. The tv was perched too high on the wall for a comfortable view. The hotel itself was huge. I think this hotel works better for convention attendees as it lacks charm that a casual vacation goer appreciates. The continental breakfast was pretty bad, so I made do with yogurt and granola. In the future I'd like to save up to stay at the Chautauqua Institution for the charm.

Overall, though, I would recommend the Chautauqua Suites for a nice inexpensive stay if you can get a discount.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    62
    21
    15
    2
See reviews for
27
68
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My brother, sister-in-law, and I shared a room. Much to my surprise, the two beds were actually in their own, separate rooms! No doors on them, but separated by a hallway. Plus, it had one full bath, and a second half bath for the second room! It was so nice that they had their private bathroom, and I had mine.
We stayed here because we had tickets to a concert at The Chautauqua Institution, and rooms at The Institution are very expensive. As luck would have it, they have a trolley that will drop you off and pick you up! It was so nice not having to drive to the venue, pay for parking, and have to stress about driving in all of that concert traffic...let the trolley driver do that!
Once we got back to the Hotel, we stopped at Olive's Lounge because we heard live music. That was an added kick!
The free, continental breakfast was very nice, with lots of choices. (fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, quiche, cereal, hard-boiled eggs...) Besides that, they seemed to always have coffee in the lobby. We all appreciated that. They had a lovely, outdoor patio that I would have liked to enjoy, but it was raining.
After peeking around a bit, I found a small workout room, as well.
I would absolutely stay at the Chautauqua Suites again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksp270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here last year for the 3rd and 4th of July.It was worth a return visit,the parade this year made it all the way through(last year was stopped near the end due to thunderstorms)and was very good.We took the shuttle to town 3 times over the two day visit and it saved alot of walking.Room was clean and the continental breakfast had a very good selection.Staff were polite and helpful.We've booked for next 3rd and 4th and hope to have the grandsons come over from a nearby campground where they stay to watch the fieworks.There's a patio outside where you can watch all except the groud effect fireworks(really great not having to try to leave after with a few thousand"friends".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here two nights whle attending a nearby wedding. We had a special rate of $89/night which was a good value. There don't seem to be many other options for lodging in the area if you're traveling off season. As stated by others, the 2 room concept is a bit awkward, making for a narrow passageway from the front room to the bedroom. I guess if you were traveling as a family the 2nd half bath would be a plus. Our breakfast was included in the rate and we found it to be more than adequate with fresh fruit, yogurt, quiche, cereal and pastries. I would suggest that this Inn is not right on the lake as some photos imply. The Inn is across the street with houses in front and a large expanse of asphalt parking lot. While we could see the lake from our bedroom window, it's really not "on" the Lake. If traveling outside of the Chautauqua Institution season be sure to go and walk around (it's free when not in season). We also enjoyed visiting some local wineries while there. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel for two nights. This is just an OK hotel. The rooms are oddly configured and much smaller than expected. From the corridor, there is a small living room with a futon (not a pull-out bed). The TV here is mounted high and it is difficult to watch. From the living area there is a narrow hallway that leads to a powder room and then to the bedroom. The bedroom was very small with a double bed shoe-horned into the room. There is a full batch off of the bedroom. A room this small does not need two bathrooms. The TVs in the room are ancient.

The room was not as clean as expected. There were cobwebs in the corners and dust on surfaces.

One night while we were there, I ordered a pizza and some appetizers from the restaurant lounge downstairs. Neither was very good.

The lines marking the parking lot nearest the entrance to the hotel are faded. Guests at the hotel took this as a liberty to park however they wanted, leaving little respectable room between vehicles or parking at odd angles.

The staff at the front desk were very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We booked here to ensure a new room which we got but were surprised by how small the rooms were not quite suites. The rooms are very clean and maintained well. A nice Italian restaurant on the premises. A continental breakfast was included and was very good. The location is great right on the lake with lots of pleasant drives all around.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We came up a couple of days early for a wedding. This is the off season so there was not much to do but on the plus side we were not charged to drive on the Chautauqua grounds. The full service was great except the restaurant was closed at lunch on Saturday. We made do with food from Dollar General next door and the microwave in the lobby. The staff was nice and the room was very clean. We stayed in an handicapped room and the only odd thing was the toilet was a standard height. Not a problem for us but unexpected. A nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
2.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
8.6 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center

Property: Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
Address: 215 W Lake Rd, Mayville, NY 14757-9693
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Mayville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Hotel Class:3 star — Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chautauqua Suites is an all suites three diamond AAA rated hotel. Featuring Olive's restaurant, a northern Italian style (also AAA three diamond rated)and the fabulous Bellini lounge. Luxury appointments at a great value. Minutes from Chautauqua Institution, the hotel is in the center of the vacation region of Western New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting And Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Meeting Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center Mayville, NY - Chautauqua County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing