We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly strange suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our check-in went efficiently in the large, attractive lobby. There are several sitting areas and a fireplace in that area. As others have noted, the suites have a bizarre layout. We entered into a small, dark "living room" with a very unattractive sleep sofa and built-in desk/closets along one wall. There was a half-bath off the corridor to the small bedroom, with the only window. Another reviewer noted that the bathroom is small (shower, no tub), and you must half-close the door in order to use the sink. The rooms are very plainly decorated, with an old, very small TV in each area.
The included Continental breakfast had the usual cereals and breads, as well as good cheese quiche and little Dole cups of fruit.
We had a drink before dinner in Bellini's Lounge, which has a nice, darkish atmosphere, pretty much ruined, though, by a very large TV on one wall. However the bartender made excellent martinis and served them in chilled glasses, a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here because a friend had an event in town. We received a Queen Suite for the night, the space is fairly big, room was clean looking but the bathroom layout was very weird. When you open the door it would hit the sink that was right next to it so i couldn't keep the door open and stand at the sink. I had fallen asleep on the couch in our room and when i woke up i had multiple bug bites on my arms and legs! seriously gross and itchy. Overall this was the worst experience i have had in my life in a hotel but was by no means the cheapest. Honestly I've had less problems at motel 6 before, If you want to stay in this town i would advise another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamapiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. We went to the bar the first night and found every table dirty, and when we asked them to clean one for us, they got snippy. The rooms were clean but funky. Because of the attitude we decided not to eat there and will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you're going to Chautauqua, and you don't have a rental on site, this is the ideal place to stay. Chautauqua does have a hotel on site (Athenaeum Hotel) but it's old and expensive. This place is fine, it's five minutes away, it has frequent shuttle service, and it's cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

You see a beautiful picture of this Hotel on Lake Chautauqua with a marina in the front. Guess what there is a whole set of house and a road and the hotel is way back on the other side. You do not even have access to the lake nor can you see it from the hotel. We stayed one night when it was suppose to be a week because of this false advertising. Of course they claimed no knowledge of this when we checked in. The amenities if you like very old school hotel. Very small rooms. no closet space especially when there is a sleeper sofa in the other section and only room for a few coats and shirts in the limited closet that is sharing a refrigerator in it.

Room Tip: Rooms very Small. did have a bath and a half in the room. not sure why when it was already so smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This Hotel is a very nice clean place with a very nice lobby. The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. The room layout was awful with only one hard chair at the desk. There was a queen bed and a double bed. The major issue was that in a room with two beds and one and a half baths that there was no place to sit except the one chair from the desk. So if you have three people in the room that only one person can sit on a chair. The staff was pleasant. It is overpriced for what you get

Room Tip: Tiny rooms with no place to sit!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed here twice, once for a wedding and once for a girls' weekend. Very nice banquet facilities and restaurant. The actual rooms are small although the extra half bath is nice. Included breakfast was adequate. Staff not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
2.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#5 of 6 in Chautauqua
197 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
296 reviews
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
18.1 mi away
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center

Address: 215 W Lake Rd, Mayville, NY 14757-9693
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Mayville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Hotel Class:3 star — Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chautauqua Suites is an all suites three diamond AAA rated hotel. Featuring Olive's restaurant, a northern Italian style (also AAA three diamond rated)and the fabulous Bellini lounge. Luxury appointments at a great value. Minutes from Chautauqua Institution, the hotel is in the center of the vacation region of Western New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting And Expo Center
Chautauqua Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Meeting Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center Mayville, NY - Chautauqua County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing