We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NFL games start at 1pm NOT 4pm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Was there this past weekend. The staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean and the lobby was nicely decorated. We understand this is a summer resort so we were ok with the continental breakfast instead of the sit down in the summer. They were advertising the bar having 4.95 all you can eat chili on Sunday and I was looking forward to heading down there for lunch, watching the NFL games and staying for dinner. We were there at 1130 and it was closed. We asked the staff when the bar opened. We assumed noon. They said 4pm!!!
I said "You do realize there is football on at 1pm" They said yes but we dont open that early. So we took our business to their competitors (Webbs) and had lunch there and stayed to watch the games. We were there til 5 and spent almost 200 dollars. Just so you know, your decision to not open for NFL games at 1pm cost you AT LEAST 200 dollars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

The room was clean and spacious and the location was in nice proximity to the activities on the lake. However, it seemed as though they cut corners in some areas. Our thermostat was not working well and we were warm the entire night. Twice our room card wouldn't work so they eventually gave us keys instead. They just had too many issues for $150.00 a night. They are one of the only hotels that allows one night stays at Chautauqua. If we needed to stay one night again, I would consider it for that reason alone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarannjason1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visit the Wine Trail twice a year and have always stayed here. Our visit this time was good. The room was clean and comfortable. Television had a nice selection of channels and there was free wi-fi. The only downside of our visit was the continental breakfast. It makes no sense that this is a conference center and the breakfast is so poor. Small boxes of cereal, bagels, orange juice and coffee should really be beefed up with hot items similar to other hotels. Waffles, eggs, and bacon would be a nice addition. But perhaps they have not gone this way because the owners of the Chatauqua suites also own The County Grill in Mayville. The front desk recommended it and said it had the same owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a return visit for us, as we have stayed here before because we have attended weddings here, and rather than driving home (20 minutes) it's just nice to be able to stay and not worry about getting a ride home or driving after a long day of celebrating.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. With a pull out sleeper sofa in the "sitting" room, a TV, refrigerator, desk, ice bucket and plastic cups. Lamp lighting and not any windows or tables or small stands in this room. A narrow hall leads to a small bathroom with a toilet and sink. Very well lit, hair dryer, soap and towels. Following the hall to the back is the bedroom, and full bath. A queen size bed, nice linens, TV, alarm clock/radio. Plenty of pillows and extra blanket. The full bath is a little odd, as the door swings into the room and makes it just awkward. A roomy shower stall, good water pressure, nice hot water. Higher end shampoos and soaps are supplied. While it was nice foe the two of us, I'd be reluctant to stay with more than 2 ppl per room. I can see how it can be squishy, especially for extended stays. But-very clean. A continental breakfast is included, we did not partake, so I can not comment on this.

There is a fitness room and pool, OFF SITE. While it is probably located within 2 miles it is not at the hotel. Did not visit this either.

The Meeting room, is large and very nicely decorated. I have been to many events here from wedding receptions to sports banquets and the staff and hotel employees have always been friendly and professional. The public rooms are also clean and well lit, bathrooms clean and spacious.

The Belenni Lounge is located down the hall, and the meeting room walls can slide open and make it convenient to enjoy beverages from the lounge. But be prepared, the drinks are overpriced-$7 for bar vodka, and weak. Bottled beer $4 and up. the service is good, friendly and the atmosphere is nice, good lighting and also has adjoining clean restrooms. I believe they serve bar food and appetizers.

Olives restaurant is also located on site. We did not eat here this visit, but have before. The food is good, and I will write a separate review for that at another time. Just letting you know there is a full service restaurant on site.

Ample parking. Located across the street from Chautauqua Lake, just outside of Mayville, NY. Not really a lot to do within walking distance.

Our stay was just over $100 a night. Yes we will stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

When we checked in, we ran into a situation where the request we had was not in our file for our reservation. Natalie Butcher, General Manager for Chautauqua Suites worked with us to make sure we got all the arrangements we requested and make our stay comfortable.

This is a great example of good service and doing the right thing for the customer. Great job -Natalie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikkimc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while in Chautauqua. The location is very convenient, but the pictures are deceiving -- you are not ON the water, there is a road and a row of houses before you reach the water, and there is no lake access for guests. However, it is a reasonably priced, decent hotel with a little more space than average.

You enter into a small, somewhat dark sitting area with a sleep sofa, and a large closet/desk/tv/fridge unit. We appreciated the fridge. There is a half bath in the hall leading to the bedroom, which is a nice extra if you have more than one person. The bedroom is on the smaller side (we had one queen bed only), and the full bathroom is off the bedroom. There is a second tv in the bedroom. Overall, I felt the suite was kind of small and dark, but considering it's Chautauque, it was a great find.

We booked the room because of the sofa; I have a back condition which makes me sleep best when I'm on a couch. And from that perspective, it was perfect. The sound proofing was better than average, there is a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning (mediocre), and the location is great. It's a good choice if you're in the area, because it's new, gives you extra room if you're traveling with kids or you want a sofa, and is an easy drive to get to water front areas oro the Chautauqua Institute.

Room Tip: You might be able to get a water view, if you have one of the top floor rooms. Try asking. Rooms wi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I see other people have complained about the layout of the rooms. I see nothing wrong with it. You truly have the living and sleeping areas completely isolated. The second bathroom means that if someone stays up late they don't need to disturb the sleeping area.
The continental breakfast leaves something to be desired, so finding another place for breakfast might be a better idea. But, for an extra $10.00, it is mighty convenient.
All in all, this is a very nice place to stay if you are in the area. We have stayed before and enjoyed the experience the last time. So, our experience is not a one-time thing.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad one. I would try for the ground floor, as there is noone to help with your...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JhmKbm50063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
2.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#4 of 6 in Chautauqua
193 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center

Address: 215 W Lake Rd, Mayville, NY 14757-9693
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Mayville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayville
Hotel Class:3 star — Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chautauqua Suites is an all suites three diamond AAA rated hotel. Featuring Olive's restaurant, a northern Italian style (also AAA three diamond rated)and the fabulous Bellini lounge. Luxury appointments at a great value. Minutes from Chautauqua Institution, the hotel is in the center of the vacation region of Western New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting And Expo Center
Chautauqua Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Meeting Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center Mayville, NY - Chautauqua County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing