We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inflexible Management, Not A Hotel With A Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Our university team recently booked multiple rooms with Fairfield Inn-Medford for an event at a local college and has been doing so for several years. The location is decent, the accommodations reasonable and the general staff pleasant, however management utterly fails the test of basic customer service and this location falls far below the rest of the Fairfield/Marriott brand. As a result, we will never book with this establishment again and have found another local competitor offering more reasonable rates, greater booking flexibility, better customer service and better accommodations.

The story is simple, rooms were reserved with Mariott.com for a set of dates, but the event date was changed due to the hurricane recovery efforts (of which we were a part). Upon contacting the manager to alter our arrangements, she quoted policy and showed a level of inflexibility unacceptable within the service industry which resulted in the Fairfield Inn-Medford soaking our university for over $1,100. Not only is this an incident of management unwilling to be flexible and meet the customer part way in the event of reasonable extenuating circumstances, but it also revealed unprofessionalism on the part of management as she was rude, accusatory and even hung up on the person attempting to resolve the situation on behalf of our group. Paying a penalty for potential revenue loss is understandable, but the full amount when two + weeks were given as notice is simply unacceptable business practice. In 12+ years of booking for large groups I have rarely found such inflexibility and unprofessionalism on behalf of a chain establishment. As a hotelier proposing customer service as a goal, this Fairfield Inn fails the test.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Paul A,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn- Medford Long Island on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback.
As per our ,several, recent communications, when you booked the rooms for your tournament, you chose to book at the discounted Advance Purchase rate. As stated several times during the reservation process, if you book at the Advance Purchase Rate, the reservation is not subject to any changes.
As per the policy associated with Marriott's Advance Purchase rate policy, although the dates of your Tournament changed, we were unable to change your reservation.
In the future I suggest if you are unsure of the dates of arrival, you book at the Regular rate, which can be cancelled up to 6pm date of arrival.
I do hope this clears up any confusion you may be having.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Convenient location to LIE, friendly and professional front desk staff. Room was clean and of a good size, bed was ok, pillows were not. Wifi was fast. We didn't check out the continental breakfast but the in room decaf was adequate. Parking was a challenge after dark but it shares a lot with another hotel so we found space there. Good value for price.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Staubenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your kind words and hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will choose our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and have no complaints. The rooms were a bit small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and the overall service was good. Would not hesitate to come back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Race39car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Tontonka99,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn-Medford Long Island on TripAdvisor.

We do appreciate all of your positive comments.

We recently celebrated our 4 year Anniversary and rarely does a day go by that a Guest does not remark that our Hotel seems Brand New.

Marriott is enhancing the complimentray Breakfast next year and we will start including some additional Hot Items.

We do hope to see you on your stay on Long Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I've been traveling to the area for a long term project for work since August that will last until the middle of next year.

We had been staying at the Crowne (now Ramada) Plaza but decided to give this Fairfield a try. I'm very glad that we did. Having stayed at many other Marriott brand hotels (including many Fairfields), this one rates as a "better than most" Fairfield. The interior has been completely renovated and, most importantly, is very clean. New bathroom countertops, furniture, etc. The hotel is relatively small, just 3 floors.

Rooms aren't large, but again, good enough for business travelers. Each has a nice sized flat screen LG TV, updated furniture and a comfortable bed. Doors are nice and heavy. Room walls are a bit thin sometimes. If you have a loud neighbor, the sound does come through.

Exercise are has 2up-to-date treadmills and an elliptical. All Lifetime fitness equipment with individual video screens. Room is a bit small so no room for an exercise bike which would be nice. The hotel does supply headphones for use while you exercise too. I didn't use the pool but it looks nice, and there's a hot tub.

Breakfast is typical Fairfield fare. Cereal, microwave breakfast sandwiches, pastries, fruit. Though not a full breakfast like we had at the Crowne, I'd trade that for the updated hotel cleanliness any day. Good enough, and besides, not as fattening.

Only "complaint" I might have is what I've found with other Fairfields. It may just be the way Marriott does things, but the linens don't seem to match the quality of the hotel. I've been at many recently updated Fairfields (in WI, IL, upstate NY, PA, FL) and have noticed that the towels and bed spreads are flat and unimpressive, not matching how nice everything else has been updated. One might expect nice fluffy towels and a big heavy bed spread. Not really a big deal, just an observation, but if an owner might want to standout among other Fairfields that are getting updated, I'd upgrade the linens.

Overall the staff is very helpful, providing that cookies. A nice touch!

Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room walls can be "thin". Request a room on the end if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totonka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the entire Fairfield-Medford Team, we appreicate all of your positive comments and feedback.

We are happy you are staying with us and are thrilled your enjoying your stay at our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I recently spent several days at this hotel due to the hurricane. The hotel was well run with clean and comfortable rooms. The property was quiet despite the situation and there being many families staying at the property. Overall this is a good choice if you need to be in the Medford area. There are multiple restaurants in the area to choose from with a Starbucks within walking distance.

Room Tip: Upper floor in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Although your visit was not under the best of circumstances, we appreicate your great review of our Hotel.
We try our best to make all our Guests feel at home. We are happy we achieved that.
I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire Fairfield Medford Team.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed at Fairfield this past weekend for Baseball tournament at Baseball Heaven. Hotel only 5 minutes away. Great location. Manny at Front desk was awesome. He recommended great places to eat. Even remembered us by name. Hotel spotless. Seems brand new. Free wi ti and breakfast. Excellent value. Will stay again. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We do our best to achieve 100% Guest satisfaction and are thrilled we accomplished that during your stay.

I have shared your positive comments with the entire Team. Your wonderful comments regarding Manny, our Guest Service Associate, are not uncommon, he truly does go above and beyond and takes pride in the Hotel.

Thank you for recommending the Fairfield Inn-Medford Long Island. We hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will choose to stay with us.

Thank you!




Stayed September 2012, traveled with family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

It was a bit of a haul from JFK, but worth it. Fairfield Inn Medford is well situated near 495 yet in a relatively quiet suburban town of Long Island. Property grounds, lobby and public areas were all in excellent condition and kept exceptionally tidy. The room fixtures were standard, but of good quality and in new condition. The pool, jacuzzi, and exercise room were in pristine condition and were thoroughly enjoyed. Minor disappointments include the inability to access the pool area and restrooms with the room-assigned keycards. Instead, one had to temporarily obtain separate keys and keycards from the front desk for these areas. The outdoor patio areas alongside the pool and breakfast area were very enjoyable in the sunny weather with the exception of the four decrepit, swivel, captain chairs in obvious disrepair. Perhaps they are intended for late-night drinking sessions and card games as they apparently encourage the sitter to slouch and ultimately slide to the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfieldinnmedford, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate all of your positive comments. The title of your review says it all. We have received many similar comments.

The entire team of the Fairfield Inn-Medford Long Island ,myself included, are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return on your next trip to Long Island.

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn-Medford Long Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Medford
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Long Island Brookhaven
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island

Address: 2695 Route 112, Medford, NY 11763-2521
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Medford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Medford
Price Range: £68 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Confident travel begins at the Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island. We welcome you to our hotel with spacious accommodations, excellent amenities, and the friendly service that earned us a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2014. Famous attractions including the Hamptons, Baseball Heaven, and Splish Splash Waterpark are a short distance from us. Whether you're in the Hauppauge, NY area for work or on vacation, you'll feel at home in our stylish hotel rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi keeps you connected - unless you'd prefer to relax on deluxe Marriott bedding. Additional amenities in every room include a microwave, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker. Challenge yourself to a morning workout in our fitness center, or swim in our heated indoor pool - but be sure to enjoy our free hot breakfast buffet. Business travelers will appreciate our on-site business center and our hotel location near the Hauppauge Industrial Park and many local corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island Hotel Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing