We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
359
250
164
141
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
250
164
141
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungelong islandindoor poolnice hotellobby barfront desk staffnew yorkhuntingtonkathyconferencelie
Filter
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was disappointed that there wasn't free wi-fi service in the rooms, only the lobby. Also, the bathroom was inconvenient due to there was no shelf or counter to place your toiletries, I have stayed in many hotels that offer these ameinities

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim F, Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Catherine,

We truly appreciate your feedback and take your points very seriously. Our goal is meet and exceed your expecations at our property. Thank you as well for the high scores on our newly rennovated hotel. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Ellen Ruane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Hotel was clean. Accomodations were good. Nice selection for breakfast. Room was comfortable. Though the vending machines didn't work with cash or credit card. The front desk reimbursed me immediately. I was pleased with their service. Starbucks on site!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Candy S:

Thank you for your favorable review. I am happy to learn that you found our hotel clean, and you liked our breakfast selection. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A recent week stay at this hotel reaffirmed our commitment to the Hilton Honors Program. A previous two week stay was not as satisfactory, but due to corporate and business arrangements we had no choice but to stay here again. It was a complete about face. Service was personable, professional and top notch with every employee contact. Food and service at the bar and in Basil's Bistro was excellent....thank you Gary and Yolanda....and a special thank you to Irma in the Concierge Lounge.
We were upgraded to the 7th Floor Honors Concierge level with access to the Lounge. A full hot breakfast is served in the Lounge beginning at 6AM and dinner service begins at 5PM that includes the option to purchase wine or beer. Cookies/pastries/dessert items are offered in the evening after dinner until closing. The Pasta Buffet offered on Thursday evenings in Basil's was excellent and includes the option for chef-prepared pasta to order and guests receive a discounted price and bonus Honors points for dining there. A lunch menu is available at the bar and includes some very tasty and well prepared sandwiches for a well-priced lunch. A complimentary wine tasting is hosted every week night evening in the Lobby for all guests and includes finger foods.
This hotel is tailored for business travel during the week and has a large group clientele during the weekends although it does not appear crowded or disorganized. Large meeting rooms are in use during the week in the ballroom area, but the hotel provides ample parking for all guests or visitor's.
Shopping and other dining options are an easy drive away, and the hotel offers a free shuttle service to guests to locations within 5 miles and to the Farmingdale Train Station. Note you may encounter delays with shuttle availability on weekends as they tend to get booked up with guests visiting all the nearby wedding venues, but cabs are plentiful and if headed to the train station for a trip into Manhattan the cab fare is only $5. Cabs are always available for train arrivals back into Farmingdale if the hotel cannot dispatch the shuttle.
Rooms are large and equipped with Wifi access and cable television. Elevators are prompt. Rooms are quiet except for guests who slam doors when entering or exiting.... not uncommon in most hotels but still irritating and inconsiderate. The property is well maintained including clean and well manicured lawn areas, parking lots and the inside public areas. It has a feel of contemporary design. There is also an outside lounge/patio area for smokers just off the main Lobby.
It was noticeable how personable all staff were during our stay and we felt our business was appreciated. When you stay 100+ nights a year in hotels, you appreciate a consistent, pleasant and professional response from staff and the folks at Hilton Long Island Huntington were on point every day of our stay.
Our sincere Thanks for making our stay so pleasant and uneventful this time around and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Park on the "Grand Ballroom" side of the hotel. Ample lighted parking, easy access in/out of the hotel, and close by elevators without walking through the lobby. Purchase or inquire on an upgrade to the 7th Floor Concierge level for access to the excellent Lounge and room amenities offered on this level.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEEBNTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear TEEBNTPA:

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your recent stay. I am pleased to learn you found our service personable and professional with every employee you made contact with. I will share your comments with all of our staff especially with Gary, Yolande, and Irma. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here years ago and the hotel was a little worn out and dated. Was pleasantly surprised to have a King non smoking that was nicely updated with cool colors and modern furniture. The bed was very comfortable and 4 long pillows on the bed was a nice touch. The bathroom was clean although more attention could be given to the grout lines in the shower, there were dark stains in the corners. The Executive lounge was well stocked and comfortable. The evening amenities were plentiful, it was enough for a small meal. Did not even have to go out that night for dinner. The front desk staff was very courteous and helpful as I checked in early. They were able to get me a room around 1:30pm. I have stayed here for business in the past and would not hesitate to do so again.

Room Tip: Area hotel is in does not offer a great views. Upper floors would be better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear CCG2010:

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to learn that you are pleased with our renovation. I am pleased that you found our front desk staff courteous and helpful. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was booked for our family that was traveling for a wedding that was taking place near by at The Sterling. We were given a group discount since we had other family members travel up for the wedding as well, which was a plus considering the regular rates. The location of the hotel was key when booking because we didn't want to travel long a long distance to the wedding venue.

The rooms are spacious which again was a plus because we had our 1yr old child with us on the trip. The only issue with the room we had was that the linens had stains on them when we arrived and the ceiling the paint was chipping away but they weren't a deal breaker. (picture posted) There was a safe, refrigerator, 2 bottles of water and coffee supplied.

All the staff that we encountered were friendly and polite. No problems with staff the whole stay.

The bathrooms near the pool area could have been cleaned a little better, which are down on the bottom level. It looked like the pool itself could use some revamping from what you tell from the lobby area looking down. The hot tub again probably needed a little updating from what we could tell when we went down to take a look at it along with the pool. We didn't use either. We did see a few people in the pool during our stay. There is a gym also near the pool area on the bottom floor.

There are two restaurants I believe in the hotel but we didn't eat at either so we can't comment on the food or services. There is a bar in the main lobby of the hotel, which was nice and had quit a few seats to sit around and also eat at. The prices are average for their drinks considering its New York.

There are a few restaurants in driving distance 5 -10 minutes in the area it just depends on what you like to eat. (Applebees, Hooters, Dave and Busters, etc). There is a Walmart near by if you forget anything for your trip.

I know there is a Gentleman's Club across the street from the hotel called "Gossip" but couldn't tell you anything about it. Its view is blocked by the Bank across the street so you can't really see it from the hotel if you are worried about that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delaware2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Delaware 2011:

Thank you for your favorable review. I am pleased to learn you found our staff friendly and polite and our rooms spacious. I do apologize about the linen and bathroom ceiling. I have addressed this with our key managers in an effort to enhance our performance. We are lucky to have such an ideal location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews