We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Hilton Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Bad Hilton Property”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am a Hilton Diamond member and travel a lot. This was, by far, the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed in. I stayed three nights and had to have four sets of room keys during my stay - the keys just would not work. I sent two shirts out for laundry and they weren't returned until the end of the next day (supposed to be same day service). The internet was out all of one evening and the next morning. Quality of service at breakfast was very, very poor. I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    205
    133
    114
    97
See reviews for
235
103
32
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First of all they over charged me $793.00 when I checked in, and they refunded it back to my card but it takes 3 days for it to go back on my card so I was on vacation with no money to use and they didn’t even apologize for the inconvenience. I left my belongings in my hotel room thinking it’s the Hilton so it’s a safe place but I had no idea that everything I had would be gone within hours of me not being in my room. MY PURSE, WALLET, CREDIT CARDS, CASH, MK SUNGLASSES, MY PASSPORT, everything was stolen from my ROOM. The staff was very rude; the cop that came to investigate was a joke. They had no idea how someone got inside my room and I didn’t have enough money to get back home and all they said was “WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO ABOUT IT”. It’s the worst place to stay, I felt disrespected, cheated, and just unimportant. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

such a horrible night. At first sight room looked to be very nice and large on 4th floor, which I am told is the "executive floor" although it did smell of smoke and countertops were not cleaned well. However, between the hours of midnight and 3 am - there were a bunch of drunk teenagers from a prom banging on all the doors, being REALLY loud and smoking cigars in hallway. I called front desk 3 times and asked to have my room moved. I was told the hotel was full and they cold only move me 3 rooms over, which obviously wouldn't have helped. Each time I called I was told " ok, we will check it out" to no avail. After a night of zero sleep, I went to front desk to complain, where a nice young girl said " I will take care of this, I cant right now because our systems are down, but I will take your info" (should have gotten a refund) and lo and behold, never heard from her or anyone else. Upon my return home ( 3 hour drive on no sleep) I emailed " general manager", Eleen Ruane, who also did nothing to help me. Such a shame, we have stayed there so many times and are Hilton reward members - but NEVER, EVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaninct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jeaninct:

I apologize for the misunderstanding. Please recall that I emailed you twice in an effort to contact you after I read the Hilton survey you completed the day after your stay. You emailed me back saying not to contact you because you were too busy. Therefore, it is very difficult for me to have any type of communication with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Banquet hall is doing a party often and people are so noisy.The hotel man said they can't do anything and actually
didn't do anything for me.I thought it was a dance club instead a hotel.I couldn't sleep until 4:00 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummy_036367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Yummy:

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize that the night you stayed it was noisy over our banquet room. I am sorry that we were not able to move your room that night because we were sold out. If you ever return to this area, please call me directly so that I may personally handle your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have been going to this hotel for years,and it's recent refurbishing has improved the hotel a lot. The entrance area, bar and breakfast area are much nicer, and the room has improved also.
The staff is generally very friendly, personable and pleasant, especially at the breakfast area.
The gym wasn't cleaned properly, there were towels, drinks on the floor, no water available and no cleaning materials. When I complained, the gentlemen at the reception 'explained' that he knew there were a bunch of kids in the evening causing this and they soon will be gone. He didn't feel anyone needed to either clean up afterwards or take any other action, but tomorrow it should be fine.
Other than this incident, I feel this is a pleasant business hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tve2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Carol A:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely hotel, I wouldn't recommend the restaurant at the bar. Rooms are very clean and the executive lounge was very nice with lots of food, beverages, etc. The staff was very helpful when we had a rowdy crowd staying on our floor - they kicked them out of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Carol A:

Thank you for your review about our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights on the executive floor and I have to say our first room was loud, we could hear the guest in the next room through our walls, we didn't last 5 minutes however the front desk did everything they could to accommodate a quieter room for us. The Bell Hop, Mike, could not have been more friendly. The two front desk personnel we dealt with with amazing and kind and warm and sympathetic in an honest way, big thank you to Ben and Amanda, especially Amanda for making our 6 night stay feel like a home away from home. Unfortunately, this is an older property and we were a bit uncomfortable with the heat/air conditioner situation. We like a cold room and it was impossible to have without our window being left open the entire stay. (rm 503) Management again was helpful and sent up and engineer, Marquis, who could not have been nicer or happier to explain the older system to us and lack of cooling during the winter month of March. One thing I want to mention is the website indicates a coin operated laundry facility for guests, please be advised that there is no such facility at this hotel. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay and we will absolutely return again and again. Thank you to all those mentioned here and to those in the executive floor lounge, each and everyone of you made us welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellesor826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Ellesor826:

Thank you for your review. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our front desk staff and engineer to be helpful. I am sorry that your first room was not as quiet as you had hoped and that it lists we have a laundry facility on site. I will make sure we remove that immediately. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Long Island/Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Long Island/Huntington

Property: Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Address: 598 Broadhollow Rd, Melville, NY 11747-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Long Island/Huntington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Long Island has completed a multi million dollar renovation. The lobby was completely made over and now boasts a brand new front desk and state-of-the-art business center. All guest rooms, suites and corridors were enhanced to meet the expectations of our guests. Guests can work out in a totally revamped fitness center fitted out with state-of-the-art Precor gym equipment. Both guests and locals now can enjoy fine, Mediterranean dining at the brand new basil’s BISTRO or enjoy a glass of world-class wine or cocktail at the new 45-foot bar at basil’s Lobby Bar. For those on the go, there’s basil’s EXPRESS, a fully staffed convenience store offering coffee, Danish, bagels, sandwiches, wraps and other good food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Long Island/Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Long Island / Huntington Hotel Melville
Melville Hilton
Hilton Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing