We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Patchogue, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stupid staff”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Last month I attended a recption at the Democratic State Convention at the Huntington Hilton. Several things weren't done correctly so I called the sales and catering office the next day. When I told the staffer I was calling about the Democratic Convention reception I had attended (hoping they had more then one reception that night), I was asked what company I was with. I told the staffer I was not calling for a company since I had attended the Democratic Convention reception. When I got a reply of silence, I asked her if she knew the political parties in the country. Of course she said yes after hesitating again. Obviously she was too dumb to look up on her computer which groups were having a reception that night and didn't recognize a political party.
At the reception one of the waitresses either didn't speak English or had such a strong accent that when I asked her what hor d'oevre she was passing, I had no idea what she said. This is coming from someone who grew up in Brooklyn.
The kosher station (thank you Shelden Silver) served franks in blanket with mayo not mustard. When I told the sales and catering employee, she just replied that is what the caterer sent over. I have never heard of a kosher caterer doing this but then they did mislabel one of the dishes (they put down francais when it was marsailas). She didn't know who the caterer was. That is scary since you go to that department to set up your parties.
The employee did not take my phone number or email address to have the manager contact me. How is that for customer service?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Annette L:

I apologize that our administrative assistant misunderstood you. In order to assist or connect you with the correct person, we typically ask what event or company the caller is referring to. We have already contacted the caterer after your call to let him know that he did not provide mustard and that the label was incorrect. Annette, you can reach me by calling 631-845-1000 and asking for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    203
    129
    110
    95
See reviews for
220
103
30
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room was clean, spacious and well laid out. The vending machine on the 3rd floor gave out a different brand of ice tea than what was on the front of the machine, but only after the Dr. Pepper button was pushed ... Hmmm.

The internet setup is designed to scavenge more money from your wallet. The bar area was pleasant and conducive to meeting with co-workers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wireleds888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Wireleds888:

I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room clean and well laid out. We will let the owner of the vending machines know about the mix up in brands. I am glad you were able to conduct a meeting with your colleagues in our bar. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My visit to the Long Island Hilton was nice change to the city Hotels. Friendly staff upon my check in , room was tidy and big space. Had ac issue and maintenance ( Tito ) came up and change something in the wall then started working. Pool was new and busy, Bars were also busy but needed more staff. New lobby and rooms looks great. Shuttle drivers will take you anywhere in the area with a smile. Door lock not working had to get keys twice , supervisor Fred walked me to my room to make sure the keys were working. He then gave me breakfast for the inconvenience and advised me that in 30 days the Hotel will get new locks to all rooms. Called the front desk for toothbrush , phones very busy and waited 10 minutes for toothbrush. Overall the staff was very good and Hotel clean with a New Look ....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Larry W:

Thank you for your response. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that our engineer was able to correct the a/c issue. Our drivers will take guests anywhere in a five mile radius. The new key system will be installed at the end of August. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived on a friday at 7pm. Rooms were not ready, when we finally got one of the two rooms we had reserved, that room was not made, the bathroom was disguting. After going back down to reception, we finally got our two rooms. We thought that all will go smoothly with our stay, well we were so wrong, our 20 years old boy who was staying with his cousin in a room decided at 1AM to go out to grab a bite for an hour, only to come back to his room that was broken into and his Mac Book Pro, his Iphone and Ipad were gone. After complaining to the hotel mangement and the security officer they assured me that they were on top of it. Well not only they are not doing anything about it but they confirmed that only two keys were printed therefore it had to be an inside job...

Bottom line, this has to be the worst hotel experience ever, from very poor service to robbery.

Gilles

Room Tip: Do not stay here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamar0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Gamar0525:

I do apologize for the rooms not being ready until 7 pm. We had a large group who unexpectedly departed very late in the afternoon. It is unfortunate that the front desk agent inadvertently checked you into a room that had yet to be serviced. As I explained to the family, there was no evidence of a break in and the only keys that entered the room were of the two occupants. Additionally, we cooperated fully with the police. I apologize that you and your family experienced this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I arrived at the hotel expecting that customer service would not be good because of reviews posted on line. I was wrong,, do not believe what you read... The staff very friendly, rooms are large and clean.. hotel bars busy with good staff attending guests...I was upgraded to 4 floor with access to lounge on the 5th floor because of key issues with room doors. Manager Fred very apologetic and advised us that the hotel will be upgrading to new lock system within the next 60 days..We book with hotels.com and never get the treatment we received at this Hilton. We were at the bar having lunch and complaining about the cold water in the pool. Fred was in the bar and called the maintenance Manager to quickly fixed the problem and explained that the matter will be fixed by the next day. He gave us discount voucher for dinner and free drink vouchers,, very good to get free drinks , after the free drinks the water was not feeling cold any more. NICE hotel and Great staff.....I will tell all my friends and family and will post on Facebook the great customer service the Hilton provides......

Room Tip: ask for upgrade and get access to lounge, good eats....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jeff D:

I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our staff to be accommodating. I am pleased to know that Fred was able to resolve your issue. The new key system should be installed by August. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for business for one night, hotel staff are exceptional, especially James Fallon who could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Lovely comfortable bed and a superb breakfast. Nice relaxing drink in the bar and food quality excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Thompa1:

Thank you for being our guest. I am very pleased you found our staff exceptional. We appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to your next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality ! We were extremely comfortable at the Hilton and everyone made us feel right at home ! Kids enjoyed the warm cookies and milk in our room before bed ! Thank you !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenRuane, General Manager at Hilton Long Island/Huntington, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Louise S:

We are happy to learn you and your children enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to serving you again when you and your family need a break-cation. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Long Island/Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Long Island/Huntington

Property: Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Address: 598 Broadhollow Rd, Melville, NY 11747-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Long Island/Huntington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Long Island has completed a multi million dollar renovation. The lobby was completely made over and now boasts a brand new front desk and state-of-the-art business center. All guest rooms, suites and corridors were enhanced to meet the expectations of our guests. Guests can work out in a totally revamped fitness center fitted out with state-of-the-art Precor gym equipment. Both guests and locals now can enjoy fine, Mediterranean dining at the brand new basil’s BISTRO or enjoy a glass of world-class wine or cocktail at the new 45-foot bar at basil’s Lobby Bar. For those on the go, there’s basil’s EXPRESS, a fully staffed convenience store offering coffee, Danish, bagels, sandwiches, wraps and other good food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Long Island/Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Long Island / Huntington Hotel Melville
Melville Hilton
Hilton Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing