We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the pillows and the stale bagels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Middletown
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A very nice Courtyard by Marriott looks to have been refurbished recently but really, where did they get their pillows from? Probably not the place to try to save money to say nothing of stale bagels in the morning and not breakfast included bagels but ones you had to buy. Ok it was 6:30 am on Tuesday morning but no excuse. What a shame!

Room Tip: Hard to say I would expect this was a cheap bulk purchase so would be in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISO8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We have both foam and feather pillows and I am so sorry they were not to your satisfaction. I am glad you had the opportunity to eat at our in house Bistro restaurant. Our breakfast breads are delivered fresh daily and am sorry that the quality was lacking on the bagel you ordered. We very much value your feedback and we appreciate that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.
We do hope you will return should you return to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

As my overnight recuperation venue for a weekend of events at Bethel Woods, I stayed here for two nights, and from the moment I entered the lobby, I was thoroughly pleased with my choice. I can be a pretty harsh critic but everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. The property is in sort of a travelers’ quadrangle of hotels and restaurants, just northeast of the heart of Middletown, immediately off Rt 17.
The main entrance opens into a large, nicely configured (and apparently newly refurbished) space comprised of (left to right) registration, business area, bar/lounge, and a ‘bistro’ (as they call it) with both tables and booths that serves breakfast and sandwiches (paid, not gratis); tucked at the end of and behind the registration desk is a beverage and snack shop. The business area is nicely spread out, with several computers and a central printer facility, along with the cozy addition of a fireplace (one side faces the business area, the other faces the bar/lounge) and a selection of magazines. There are two large TV monitors essentially at the axis of the 4 areas, one (facing registration) displaying local and national weather, stock info, etc., another (opposite side) showing standard broadcast TV, while a third large screen for sports etc. is in the lounge.
My room was as surprisingly well laid out as the main lobby; it‘s a rare occasion to find a unique design in a small room. Mini-fridge, coffee maker and microwave are all provided, in a nice nook between bathroom and the combined bedroom / sitting room; aside from the king bed (facing the window, unlike a weird opposite layout I encountered in Chicago), there’s a sofa bed and coffee table on one wall, and a work desk (with flat screen TV) and armoire opposite.
The hotel has an indoor pool (though I didn’t visit it) with whirlpool, an exercise room, and outside, in the rear of the hotel, a nice patio lounge area and gazebo. There’s free high-speed internet access (both wi-fi and wired) throughout the hotel (lobby and rooms).
Within the immediate quadrangle I mentioned (2 minute walk) there are several restaurants including TGI Fridays, Outback, Chili’s and Soho Bar & Grill. Within a very short drive, there’s the Galleria at Crystal Run (a large mall which includes a multiplex movie theater), and on Rt 211 (the other side of the mall from the hotel), within a stretch of a mile or two, just about every fast food chain as well as a Perkins restaurant, Mobil and Exxon gasoline and a Rite-Aid drugstore. (Bethel Woods Center for the Arts which I mentioned earlier is 38 miles away).
Overall, it’s an extremely well-appointed hotel within a few minutes or at worst a few miles of every necessary convenience. I’ll be back!

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel overlooks gazebo etc, while the front looks at the parking lots and other hotels a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyRave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I loved my stay here. The room was modern and clean. Beautifully decorated and spacious. The lobby is very relaxing and offers amenities. There is a Starbucks on premises. Located directly off the highway. Fairly priced for the area. I would definitely stay here again. The staff isnt overly friendly but they do their jobs well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWBeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very clean and updated hotel. Room and surroundings were well taken care of and spotless.pool area well maintained.The location is perfect, right off of the road and in the middle of 4 resturants so there are plenty of food choices.Did not get a chance to use the Bistro Café, but the menu looks like typical Courtyard fare.Staff very friendly and upbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschwenk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ultra clean room with friendly staff. All the convenience of home...frig, microwave, washer/dryer, etc Clean pool with quiet environment. The breakfast food was excellent. My teenager ordered her own breakfast and had to go back and forth because she kept forgetting something. The staff was very patient with her. The best Mariott I've been to.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TheLion2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Middletown, NY is a place in transition. The Marriott Courtyard seems to be in a renovated area which will include shops and other hotels. Since Marriott hotels are reliable, we chose to stay in this one for a recent visit to the area. The room was clean and comfortable. It was located near an exit door, however, which made it rather noisy. Food options included room service, refrigerated snacks, an overpriced breakfast/restaurant-bar area-especially limiting since nearby restaurants did not serve breakfast. The coffee served was Starbucks, which alone was enough to send us heading in a different direction. We found a diner several miles away, which had adequate breakfast food. For the record: we do not like being stuck in a hotel offering cardboard food and expect more of the Marriott. This hotel was pricey for the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not near elevators, exits or ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compassrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Everyone is helpful and upbeat at this Courtyard. Good beds, good breakfasts and most good bar! Rooms have walls which appear to swirl around, and this makes for a less conforming and more homey appearance. Wish they had movie selections.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the staff, our beds, the breakfast and the bar! We hope to see you again should you return to Middletown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#2 of 9 in Middletown
672 reviews
1.1 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#6 of 9 in Middletown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
31 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Middletown

Address: 24 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Region: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: £93 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Middletown offers everything you need for a successful hotel stay in the Goshen, NY area. Modern, spacious rooms and suites include amenities like free Wi-Fi and comfortable, well-lit work areas; additional perks like a microwave and refrigerator in every room provide flexibility and convenience for your Middletown visit. Start your morning with a healthy breakfast and a cup of Starbucks® coffee at our onsite restaurant, The Bistro. Our hotel offers meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as affordable group room packages. And our Middletown location puts the attractions and local businesses of Goshen and the rest of New York's Hudson Valley region right at your doorstep. Trips to Newburgh wine country or Woodbury Commons our convenient from our hotel. And let's not forget our friendly, welcoming staff, who have helped our hotel earn TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Refresh your routine here in style here at the Courtyard Middletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing