We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Middletown
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$155
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Middletown)
US$175
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
154
110
18
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
110
18
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarbucks coffeefront deskmarriott brandroom with queen bedsoutback steakhousetgi fridayswedding guestshotel is locatedgreat amenitieswithin walking distancewest pointcheck in was easyparking lotcoffee tablepull out sofaother hotelsnice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Courtyard properly deserves its ranking as the best option in Middletown, based on our experience. The room was excellent and impeccably cleaned, the property well-maintained, and the service at the desk very good. Though slightly more expensive than the nearby hotels, it is probably worth the difference. Some costs though are a bit unexpected, such as the need to pay extra for their highest speed internet or the fact that you have to purchase coffee in the lobby (although you can make it in your room). Breakfast, also not included in the room rate, was kind of industrial looking, so did not tempt. Otherwise, a very good choice of lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardbeg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and work very hard to keep it that way. Athough breakfast is not included in the rate we do offer packages that include the cost of breakfast at our Bistro Restauarnt and perhaps it would be a good option for you to try on a future stay. The Bistro does offer the Starbucks coffee but as you know, we still offer complimentary coffee in your guest room. Our complimentary high speed internet access was recently upgraded and we also added an upgraded option for those that require more. We do agree we are the best option in Middletown and hope you return when in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I've stay at this hotel and it certainly has changed since I last chose to stay in it. The rooms are decent and there are microwaves in every room which is useful for making baked potatoes. I felt at home in this hotel cause it's very peaceful.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank deancraigwolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for retruning to our hotel! We have a beautiful hotel inside and out and am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We preferentially stay at Marriot properties when we travel. Excellent service is one of the main reasons. Every rule has its exceptions and this place is it. Our first request to have the room cleaned was 2:30 pm. From 3:00 pm onward to 4:30 there was a series of civil but increasing unpleasant conversations regarding this request. The excuse was full occupancy but they were going to clean the room anyway. Evidently "fully occupied " is their phrase for being incapable or unwilling to make up rooms out of order.
If you anticipate the need for service beyond the perfunctory check-in and check out, another motel might be better, based on our experience. If the location is a primary consideration, there is a Hampton Inn next door. Maybe they will be more receptive to providing good service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you bringing your experience to our attention. Being a very busy hotel is not an excuse for your room not getting serviced when you requested it to be done. Every room gets cleaned every day unless a guest requests otherwise and I am sorry that the room attendant did not get to your room more quickly! Our staff works very hard to ensure our guests needs are taken care of and will review your situation with them to help ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for sharing your exoerience and I do hope that you will stay with us another time should you return to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I love the Marriott chain and will only stay there; usually the properties I find offer "high speed internet" for no extra cost. At the Middletown, NY Courtyard by Marriott, they offer a free version and, once you're done pulling your hair out of your head and are completely bald from lack of quality browsing capabilities you can either pay $6.95 per day for "high speed" internet or simply use that money to buy a hat to cover your reddish, patchy head. I chose neither.

The rest of the hotel is fine and lived up to the Marriott standard I've come to know and mostly love, but I did find the towels leaning towards the early stages of sandpaper. The girl who checked me in was extremely professional and courteous, which is always a nice plus. I'd also say this is a pretty good place for group functions since there are some disgusting restaurant chains within walking distance (Outback, TGI Fridays). I'm from the school of "Support Your Local Restaurateur" so I did not partake. There's a lot of construction around the hotel(s) in this area so it looks like you're checking in to the land of corn cob pipes with a touch of honey boo boo landscapes - if you're here for business, that's fine. If you're here for pleasure, well, why?

Quality Marriott + Horrific, 1997 56k-esque dial-up-internet speed disguised as fast wireless = three stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for submitting a review about your recent stay at our Courtyard by Marriott.
I am so sorry that you had difficulty with our internet. We did a recent upgrade to the entire system and added the tiered service for those that require more. We will check into the issues you encountered.
The exits on Route 17 are reing reconstructed thus all of the construction taking place around our location. Although it is not the most attractive getting off the highway, it will make access to our entire area much easier in the near future.
We do thank you for staying with us and hope you return to our hotel should you return to our area! and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A very nice Courtyard by Marriott looks to have been refurbished recently but really, where did they get their pillows from? Probably not the place to try to save money to say nothing of stale bagels in the morning and not breakfast included bagels but ones you had to buy. Ok it was 6:30 am on Tuesday morning but no excuse. What a shame!

Room Tip: Hard to say I would expect this was a cheap bulk purchase so would be in all rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISO8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfranklin, General Manager at Courtyard Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We have both foam and feather pillows and I am so sorry they were not to your satisfaction. I am glad you had the opportunity to eat at our in house Bistro restaurant. Our breakfast breads are delivered fresh daily and am sorry that the quality was lacking on the bagel you ordered. We very much value your feedback and we appreciate that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.
We do hope you will return should you return to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews