We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who needs sleep???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
NORTH WILKESBORO
2 reviews
“Who needs sleep???”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here a week for work. First 2 days were good. 3rd day, no water. Had to go to a neighboring hotel to shower for work.I was told my folio would be looked over, never heard another thing about it, let alone a discount or refund for inconvenience! Next day, housekeeping chose to phone the room (after the DO NOT DISTURB) were clearly posted. Almost immediately after hanging up with the housekeeper, the front desk chose to call the room, stating housekeeping wanted in. Really??? What's the use in a do not disturb sign if it means nothing to the employees. I was up for work & when I got back to the room each day/night it was approx 3 am. Therefore, 8 am is not a time for me to be happy when awoken to some needless call from housekeeping. Needless to say, I will not make a return stay at this particular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JACLYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    31
    42
    35
    44
See reviews for
55
32
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

According to past reviews I read, when I stayed I would be subjected to hookers running the halls, Section 8 residents smoking and arguing in the halls, surly staff, and generally, taking my lifew into my hands.

True - the hotel is old and in serious need of rehabilitation (which seems to be taking place, albeit slowly). Yes, the pool is still closed and doesn't look like it will open again in this century.

But, for the cost, it will not that bad. The rooms were clean, well air-conditioned, TV worked, bathroom fully stocked with towels, soap and shampoo, and the carpet cleaned.

Also, staff was walking the property checking around, making sure security doors were locked, and cleaning up the litter.

Also, staff was aware of the past problems and reviews, and honestly agreed with past complaints. The new owners cleaned out the hotel of those Section 8 residents, refused new state funding to house said people and is now spending money in fixing-up the hotel.

This hotel is not for long-term stays, but for a 1 or 2 nights, you go do worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Traveller:
Your comments are much appreciated. Here at the property, we like nothing better than to receive feedback that reinforces that we're either doing things right and/or taking steps in the right direction. Hoping we continue to move in the right direction for you and all of our other faithful guests.


Yours in Lodging,
Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Howard Johnson Hotel - Middletown, NY
845.342.5822
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here two weekend nights at the end of July while picking up my daughter from a local theater camp. Having read the reviews beforehand I was a little concerned but I was traveling alone and have stayed in all sorts of hotels through many years of business/vacation travel. Basically the price was right. Check in was friendly and quick. The property looks to have had a makeover in the last couple of years. Carpet, paint and bathrooms are recent and not in need of updating for a budget hotel. It's a fairly large two story hotel and my room was pretty much in the center of the building. I was there on a Friday and Saturday night and although the hotel seemed to be pretty well booked I found it to be perfectly quiet late at night. There are long term residents but they are working guys employed by an electrical service company and don't seem to bother anyone. They keep their trucks parked at the far end of the parking lot. Don't see why anyone would complain about them. There is a Perkins in what was probably at one time the HOJO restaurant. There is a Buffalo Wild Wings at the other end of the parking lot which is convenient for a night cap or dinner. The pool which is indoors is closed off and doesn't look like it will open anytime soon so if you have kids and need a pool this wouldn't be a great choice. Housekeeping is prompt but a little forgetful in replenishing things like coffee refills. In short you get a clean, recently updated room with coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave in a quiet property located conveniently for a lower price than the local competition. If you're looking for more you might be disappointed. I give it an honest three stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
I appreciate your inclusive feedback regarding our property during your specific stays with us. We are making incremental changes to cleaning procedures, front desk procedures and our services - so we anticipate things continuing to improve. Consider visiting us again!

Many thanks,
Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Howard Johnson Hotel - Middletown, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I hadn't been to this hotel in 19 years and was disappointed to see that nothing and I mean nothing had been redone in that time. Same carpets, same wallpaper, same comforters on the beds. The 2 best things about this motel are the girls at the front desk who are quite helpful and friendly and the Perkins Restaurant attached. Otherwise, a huge disappointment. I'm glad my reason for being in town meant I spent very, very little time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. I recognize that it can be frustrating to re-visit a property that doesn't appear to keep up with current trends in decor and services. Ownership has begun working on a master plan will include many modifications, but we're asking that our guests be as patient as possible - such large investment takes time to plan properly. We have introduced new bedding in guest rooms and hope to add some additional interim amenities in the meantime.

Hope you continue to stay with us as your travels into the area dictate.

Sincerely,
Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Howard Johnson Hotel - Middletown, NY
845.342.5822
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MA
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed here last year (June 2011) and then read the reviews. I should have read them first and then gone some where else. I, like everyone else, have a tight budget. This hotel is certainly budget friendly. I did stay here again just last week. Stayed for a few days on a leisurely trip with my fiance. The pool that was under contruction last year, STILL is not finished and doesn't look like it has had any further work done to it. We were upgraded to the only suite they had because the person they had in our room decided they were staying longer. Only half of the AC Unit worked and mind you it was 97 degrees for the entire time we were there. They also have people who live there. One lady, two doors down, has 4 dogs that love to bark. The Super 8 that is in the same parking lot, doesn't look very welcoming either. If you are staying ONE night, it's tolerable. If you are staying longer, they don't change the sheets, they don't vacuum and the clean towels didn't look very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmurphy1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Traveller:
I know from your review that I had responded directly to your concerns regarding your recent stay. Again, I am sorry that the water conservation program collateral was missing from your room indicating the program that we support as a Wyndham property. I was disappointed that the vacuuming wasn't done along with the basic daily housekeeping services that should have been addressed and I have alerted the maintenance team to the partially working A/C unit. Like you, we are eagerly awaiting further developments on the pool renovation - this capital undertaking by the owners is at their discretion. Please accept my apologies for these things that took away from your overall stay. My team and I will continue to work on issues that are in our direct control.

Sincerely,
Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Howard Johnson - Middletown, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

bad room that reeks of cigarettes and the bathtub had cigarette burns all over. this was supposed to be a non smoking room! there was also a large stain on the carpet by the window.One of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkman5596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. I have begun implementing a number of solutions to this problem that my entire staff will be involved with. From the use of more effective cleaning products and procedures from housekeeping & maintenance to better room inventory management by our front desk staff - we will minimize the negative impact of being a hotel that still allots some smoking rooms to our guests. I hope you will consider utilizing our hotel again in order to have a more satisfactory stay. Thank you in advance for allowing us to be your host hotel in the future.

Safe travels to you this summer.
Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have to agree with some of the other reviews that Perkins is one of the best reasons to stay here. The rooms are comfortable and it is a decent location if you're heading to the NY Renn Faire in Tuxedo. My husband and I have been traveling to this hotel for 3 years now for the Faire. We find it to be a comfortable stay. It is a great place for a budget (hotels.com works with them) too.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, be sure to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to be able to meet your needs. Our hopes re to continue to working on those things in our control and to enchance services moving forward. Thank you for placing your business with us.

See you again!

Lisa Wolgamuth, GM
Howard Johnson Hotel - Middletown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.3 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#5 of 8 in Middletown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Middletown
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
Address: 551 Route 211 East/I-84, Route 17 & I-84, Middletown, NY 10940
Region: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing