We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Millbrook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millbrook Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Millbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great for a quick weekend getaway. Beautifully appointed b&b with spacious guest rooms, a living room with a roaring fire in the winter and a terrific magazine selection, and one of the best hotel/b&b breakfasts I've had. Think freshly baked popovers, thick-cut bacon, fresh-fruit, etc. Don was around to answer any and all questions. A bit pricey but would recommend this place without hesitation to friends and family.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
72
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I travel ALOT, and the Millbrook Inn--located in the bucolic fields of horse-country
Dutchess County, New York--was a revelation. This is truly most perfect B&B one could hope for.
Although it's been open for 2 years, the rooms are as impeccable and perfect as they must have
been on opening day. Everything at the Inn is spotless and perfectly-designed and smoothly-run.
Don's breakfasts are exquisite. Here's a place for tranquility and relaxation: the rooms have no TVs or phones... for entertainment one can retreat to one of several comfortable common rooms.
Although the Inn seems to be in the middle of nowhere, the Village of Millbrook, with its good
restaurants, is only a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Millbrook Inn while attending my reunion at nearby Millbrook School. Having stayed at a number of local B&B's and inns over the years the Millbrook Inn is clearly at the head of the pack. Don Sisemore, the inn keeper, is friendly and focused on visitor comfort. The inn itself, on the site of the old Greer School, is lovely with terrific decorations an comfortable beds. Breakfast is a feast in itself with Don's frittatas and local eggs and bacon (I'd never had duck eggs). We'll definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HinghamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a great time at Millbrook Inn. Rooms are newly renovated, very clean, well appointed and quiet. Don the owner is fabulous, very friendly, giving us great advice for dinner plans and things to do nearby (i.e. day trip to Hudson was a hit). We did a 2 day shooting excursion at Orvis Sandanona nearby and this is a great place to stay for either shooting or fishing school.

Room Tip: Gilroy room is at the end of the hall by itself, so very little noise from neighbors and gets more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreanJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Millbrook Inn is a beautiful experience with lovely rooms, quiet surroundings, and a great host. We have been guests twice, and we look forward to coming back. The sitting room is huge! Books, books, books everywhere.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - pick any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We spent a night at the beautiful Millbrook Inn recently and found the property to be absolutely lovely. The rooms are well appointed with beautiful furnishings. Don, the owner/host, has taken the time to also consider the fine details of his guests' comfort too. The rooms are stocked with a great choice of books, the bathroom floors are heated, the beds are loaded with great pillows. Breakfast was a gourmet feast. We have stayed at several properties in the area over the past 3 years, and found the Millbrook Inn leaps and bounds above the other area choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

If you want to escape from daily routine and spent your weekend in silence, great hospitality and relax, then this is the right place to go. Inside you will find a library near the fireplace, you can enjoy reading the books/magazines sitting by fireplace or simply watching some old good movies on the big screen in the lobby, while drinking wine. By the way visit some winery or Vineyards - there are several of them around. We bought some sort of localy produced wine at Millbrook Vineyards & Winery and enjoyed it during our stay. Don was glad to serve us with nice glases. Sure we will come back. Moreover - breakfasts prepared in this hotel just amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrook
18.3 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
18.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.7 mi away
Millbrook Country House
Millbrook Country House
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millbrook Inn

Property: The Millbrook Inn
Address: 3 Gifford Rd, Millbrook, NY 12545-6438
Region: United States > New York > Millbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millbrook
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Village of Millbrook, convenient to The Millbrook School, Millbrook Winery, Innisfree Garden, Orvis Sandanona and the Fountains at Millbrook. Spacious rooms with king and queen size beds and radiant heated bathroom floors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing