We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple elegance...great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Millbrook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millbrook Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Millbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Simple elegance...great host!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently stayed at Millbrook Inn while visiting friends in the area. This is a beautiful home with 8 rooms. Ours was very spacious with a private bath. There are nice touches like a vase of White calla Lillie's in our room, and a vase of white/cream roses in the living room. There is a beautiful fireplace in the living room, with a couch facing it. Also a large-screen TV with two chairs facing it (might be a challenge if there are several who want to watch!). When we came in at night, there was wonderful classic music playing in the background. I was missing the snacks and drinks I have seen offered at other BandB's.....that would be a nice touch for guests coming in late who want to sit and chill-out before heading to their rooms. Breakfast was wonderful....home baked banana bread and frittata or eggs fresh from the local farm. The bacon is from a local smokehouse and probably the best I have ever had!! Be sure to ask for their card and order some for yourself!
Don is a wonderful host, and we spent a leisurely breakfast chatting about sports, food, and wine! He is a former restaurateur, so has lots of great stories! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
72
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent a very relaxing night at the Millford Inn. The place is immaculate, and the rooms are very comfortable, the bed was one of the best I've slept in. The owner Don runs the whole place on his own, I'm not sure where he gets the energy to do everything by himself. And he cooks an awesome breakfast, even made a great batch of pancakes for my kids. It's a great destination for an escape.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed two night's here in June of 2013, and the place is incredible. The rooms are expansive, clean and quiet, which goes for the entire house. Also has a lush, inviting living room, beautiful dining room and a truly wonderful host. Don keeps the inn immaculate, everything is simply perfectly placed and detailed. Would highly recommend the Millbrook Inn for anyone in the area looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay. Was a perfect home for the weekend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYUAlumCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great for a quick weekend getaway. Beautifully appointed b&b with spacious guest rooms, a living room with a roaring fire in the winter and a terrific magazine selection, and one of the best hotel/b&b breakfasts I've had. Think freshly baked popovers, thick-cut bacon, fresh-fruit, etc. Don was around to answer any and all questions. A bit pricey but would recommend this place without hesitation to friends and family.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I travel ALOT, and the Millbrook Inn--located in the bucolic fields of horse-country
Dutchess County, New York--was a revelation. This is truly most perfect B&B one could hope for.
Although it's been open for 2 years, the rooms are as impeccable and perfect as they must have
been on opening day. Everything at the Inn is spotless and perfectly-designed and smoothly-run.
Don's breakfasts are exquisite. Here's a place for tranquility and relaxation: the rooms have no TVs or phones... for entertainment one can retreat to one of several comfortable common rooms.
Although the Inn seems to be in the middle of nowhere, the Village of Millbrook, with its good
restaurants, is only a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Millbrook Inn while attending my reunion at nearby Millbrook School. Having stayed at a number of local B&B's and inns over the years the Millbrook Inn is clearly at the head of the pack. Don Sisemore, the inn keeper, is friendly and focused on visitor comfort. The inn itself, on the site of the old Greer School, is lovely with terrific decorations an comfortable beds. Breakfast is a feast in itself with Don's frittatas and local eggs and bacon (I'd never had duck eggs). We'll definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HinghamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a great time at Millbrook Inn. Rooms are newly renovated, very clean, well appointed and quiet. Don the owner is fabulous, very friendly, giving us great advice for dinner plans and things to do nearby (i.e. day trip to Hudson was a hit). We did a 2 day shooting excursion at Orvis Sandanona nearby and this is a great place to stay for either shooting or fishing school.

Room Tip: Gilroy room is at the end of the hall by itself, so very little noise from neighbors and gets more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreanJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrook
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
12.8 mi away
Le Chambord Hotel
Le Chambord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hopewell Junction
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Millbrook Country House
Millbrook Country House
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
25 reviews
15.6 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millbrook Inn

Property: The Millbrook Inn
Address: 3 Gifford Rd, Millbrook, NY 12545-6438
Region: United States > New York > Millbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millbrook
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Village of Millbrook, convenient to The Millbrook School, Millbrook Winery, Innisfree Garden, Orvis Sandanona and the Fountains at Millbrook. Spacious rooms with king and queen size beds and radiant heated bathroom floors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing