We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby Chic, Comfortable and Nice”
Review of Manna Dew Cafe

Manna Dew Cafe
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Millerton
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 518-789-3500
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic, Comfortable and Nice”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Driving down from Connecticut along the route 7 corridor, a beautiful drive on a gorgeous day, I was heading West and looking for a place to dine outside. As I approached the Village of Millerton, I noticed three dining options: one a dark looking tapas place that people outside raved about, another a lovely Colonial B&B that was serving dinner on their outside porch, and then there was Manna Dew Café, with a few street-side tables that looked like the choice of the day for me. I didn't want 'dark', and I didn't want 'stodgy formal', so Manna Dew was perfect.
As it turned out, it was a good choice. The server was welcoming and professional, the menu looked inviting.
I chose a salmon dish that could be ordered for $27.00 (not inexpensive!) or for $32+/- with an appetizer. I opted out of the appetizer. The salmon was 'ok', not sure exactly what kind, but not my favorite variety. However, it was served with a very good (light)sauce, with wild rice and a mix of very good, fresh vegetables including asparagus, carrots, broccoli and some others I couldn't identify but tasted good. I wished the bread was better as the butter tasted farm churned. I had a nice glass of white Bordeaux which went well with the meal ($11.00) and I overheard the waiter say they offer 1/2 glasses of wine, a great idea for those who want a touch more, but not too much if they need to drive. Overall, it was a pleasant dinner, next time I might try the dark tapas place, especially if it's a cool day and the sun doesn't beckon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moniquethecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable bar, was more than I expected”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have heard about Manna Dew for years but never found it open when I was in the area. Finally hit it on a Monday afternoon when many of the area's restaurants are closed. We were only looking for a quiet place for a glass of wine but we found it and so much more. The bar room was small, but comfortable and eclectic. The beer selections were out of the ordinary (more than the de rigeur IPA) and the wines by the glass were of good quality and appropriate price. Hope to get back to try the menu soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixonconsultinginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've been to Mana Dew many times and are never disappointed with the menus or the quality of the food.

Not the cheapest restaurant in the area, but nevertheless excellent value for what you receive. Probably one of the the best places around for dinner. Staff are very professional and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CliveAntler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to know about”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We often stop there for dinner after picking up visitors from the Wassaic station. It's a cosy little place, with imaginative, thoughtful food. You get the feeling that the chef cares about what he puts in front of you. The salads are especially creative.

Helpful?
1 Thank neiljeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“After Catamount”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are looking for a great post ski trip restaurant, this is the one. We stuck with the price fix menu which was an amazing value. 3 courses for $30. I had the salmon and it was the freshest piece of fish I've had in a restaurant in a while. The sauce that accompanied was delicious too. The portions are generous as well. We all loved the vegetables - which were beautifully presented, and crisp. My husband had the ribs which were falling off the bone. Desserts were also spectacular and homemade.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mynameiskarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manna Dew Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Manna Dew Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing