We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming New England Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No. 9 Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Millerton B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming New England Getaway”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Simmons' Way. It was a wonderful location with restaurants and shopping within walking distance, and breathtaking drives and day trips in the surrounding area. The house was impressive; our room was comfortable; dinner in the adjacent restaurant was creative; and breakfast was very nice. There were a few things that would have made the stay better, considering the $200 per night price tag. A smell permeates the entire downstairs. The owners are probably so used to it they don't notice; however, it almost gagged us. We think it might be caused by the lack of a good exhaust fan in the adjoining restaurant, because a lingering food smell is part of it. Additionally, you check-in in an area that looks horribly cluttered and unkempt. When I saw it, I feared I'd made a huge mistake booking these accommodations. Fortunately, that was not the case. But a thorough cleaning and some decor in the office would help with first impressions. Finally, we came for breakfast at the designated time and waited (and waited and waited and waited). While we weren't in a rush, we did have plans, and it was a little odd. Despite these few concerns, I do recommend Simmons' Way for anyone who enjoys a B&B experience. The owners are pleasant; the house is wonderful; and that area of the country is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowednrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Simmon's Way Village Inn on a recent Saturday night. Both the location and rooms are very nice. However, we were made to feel very unwelcome. We arrived around 11 pm on Saturday night -- later than we had agreed. And because I hadn't brought their phone number with me, we failed to call them to tell them that we would be late. The proprietor seemed a bit miffed when we arrived, and we apologized. We were told breakfast was between 8:30 and 9:30 am the next day. We arrived for breakfast at 9 am and were told by the proprietors that they had just eaten all the pancakes, so there was none available for us. We could only have eggs and toast. While we waited, we eventually figured out on our own that we needed to serve ourselves our own coffee and tea. The eggs were very nice. But overall we did not feel welcome. In fact, they made us feel like we couldn't leave soon enough. But at a cost of over $200 per night, we expected to be treated better. Perhaps given its location they can afford to be unfriendly because people will come anyway? Or perhaps they wanted to punish us for arriving late the night before? Either way, the negativity from the owners ruined what otherwise could have been a nice experience for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelerNY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Millerton hotels

New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We really liked this place. It's clean, roomy, bright, and the hosts are lovely. They made us breakfast in the morning, and it was delicious. They are located across the street from a wonderful restaurant (can't remember the name, but they'll tell you) that was pricy but just as good as anything in NYC. The bathroom in our room was a bit small, but it wasn't a big deal. This is a quintessential country inn, with quilts, curtains, bed skirts, etc. If you like that kind of thing, you'll be right at home here. My one issue is that there is a cat and dog, and I'm horribly allergic to cats. Other than that, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaP212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

What a charming place to lay your head, enjoy a cocktail on the front porch, meet other guests, and dine! Jay and Martha are simply wonderful. They are extremely helpful and obliging as well as making you feel like you are part of their family. The rooms are very lovely and the common areas are just like home (but much nicer). Cannot wait to go back when I return to the area.

  • Liked — Feels like home
  • Disliked — Had to leave.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank timetogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We used Simmons' Way as the defacto homebase for our nearby wedding this summer and we are very glad we did. Innkeepers Martha and Jay were extraordinarily helpful, friendly and ever-accomodating of our ever-changing list of guests and their needs. The dinner and brunch they served were wonderful, the prices were reasonable and their patience with some of our inebriated guests was remarkable. We couldn't recommend Simmons Way highly enough and we hope they remain fixtures in Millerton for many years to come.

  • Liked — Helpful, accomodating staff
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I recently stayed at the Simmons Inn with my 2 young sons and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I was looking for a place to stay near Lime Rock race track and the Inn is less than 15 minutes away. The Inn is decorated with country antiques and small details are taken care of (e.g. bathrobes, good pillows and linens, biscotti and botted water in the rooms). We stayed in the California Suite and enjoyed the large bath tub to soak our sore muscles after a 6 hour karting race that we particpated in. The Inn is air conditioned comfortably which is important for a summer stay. Dinner at Martha's Restaurant (open to the public) was also nicely done. Our Innkeepers, Jay and Martha Reynolds, have the perfect mix of enthusiasm and congeniality and when you come to the Inn you feel as if you are visiting friends in a big old Victorian home. My boys and I enjoyed our small step back in time and will be sure to return.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Member59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 February 2005

We have children going to one of the fine boarding schools that dot the countryside in Duchess County, Berkshires, CT River Valley, etc. And we always discover other parents -- with children at Kent, Hotchkiss, Indian Mountain, Salisbury, etc. -- staying at the inn too. These are parents from NC, CA, FL, MO, MD, TX, IL, really from all over America. And this B&B has an appeal that not only brings them all together. It keeps bringing them all back too. From their regional experiences, as with ours in Pennsylvania, the Simmons Way has something for everyone to like. An experiece there makes for a unique combination of perquisites (bar, wonderfully appointed rooms, tv room, lovely dining, family-friendly, peaceful surroundings, convenience to town) that would not seem to "work" together . . . but ironically do. In a big way. In a way that is impressionable, memorable. As someone else already wrote, I think the magic that binds everything together is Martha & Jay, the innkeepers. I don't think another inn - that is, innkeepers - could pull this off. I've stayed at the SWVI only 3-4 times, and M & J have become like family. You don't find inns like this too often because you don't find people like this too often.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millerton
4.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
78 reviews
18.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
12 reviews
14.3 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
130 reviews
11.4 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 9 Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 9 Restaurant & Inn

Property: No. 9 Restaurant & Inn
Address: 53 Main St, Millerton, NY 12546-5172 (Formerly Simmons' Way Village Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Millerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period American charm enhanced with a touch of European tradition and tranquility. Accommodations are thoughtfully designed to offer a pleasurable experience from a time when detail was important and appreciated. Guests frequently return “home” to Simmons’ Way and heartily recommend it to others – the best compliment! All rooms are uniquely and comfortably decorated and have private bath. Sleep in one of our nine beautiful and spacious rooms, each with private bath, most with queen size bed. Choose a room with a canopy bed, a private porch, or an over-sized bathtub. Breakfast choices include farm-fresh free-range eggs, our special Apple or Blueberry Pancakes or French toast with pure maple syrup. Bacon and sausage as well as fruit are always available. No. 9, the restaurant, is located within the inn. It is currently the "go to" dining place in the region. The location is conveniently close to all of the arts, activities and festivals in the Berkshires, Litchfield County, CT, and the Hudson Valley of New York. The area back roads and the Harlem Valley Rail Trail make this a great destination for bicyclists. By car or rail, just two hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simmons` Way Village Hotel Millerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing