We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of many wonderful surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Milton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“full of many wonderful surprises”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

we used a voucher we purchsed online on "living social getaways" and after checking this inn's reviews, we decided to try it. located in a rual area of milton, ny, one would not expect to find such a wonderful place to stay tucked away in this remote location. there are so many beautiful nooks and crannys on this large property that you have no need of leaving it "looking for somelthing to do." we spent a full day walking paths, looking at gorgeous views of the hudson river and discovering interesting places such as the llama farm and glorious peacocks proudly displaying their colorlful "fans." after a fantastic dinner at "henry's from the farm to the table," a restaurant right on the premises, we fell happily exhausted into a comfortable bed in the "captains room." this inn pays attention to detail, such a cleanliness and to making their guests feel welcome. we wanted to stay an additional night because of this, but alas, no reservations were available! this wonderful inn is definitely a place we want to come back to.......it is very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shu075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    123
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
70
303
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful day/night at the Buttermilk Falls Inn. We just loved it!! The staff was so warm and inviting! We stayed in the Sage Left room and had a nice patio area with views of the Hudson River. Everything about this place was wonderful!! I really can't wait to go back. Since the spa was booked up, i will definitely make my appointments when i make my next reservation. The dinner we had a Henry's Farm to table was fresh and wonderful. The breakfast and afternoon tea, which is included in your rate, was delicious and satifying. If you want a nice, relaxing day or two away from the hussel and bussel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: book your dinner/spa reservations when you book your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfanandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piermont, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

During a 100 mile kayak trek on the Hudson River, my boyfriend and I decided to make a stop every 20 miles along the way. After researching what options we had for our third night, Buttermilk Falls seemed the most intriguing, being an estate on acres of property with farm animals, a waterfall, and a spa! When I called to reserve a few weeks before the trip, the woman on the phone seemed as excited as we were about the trip, but said, "I don't know how you will find us from the water." I was not concerned because we had a GPS, but she continued by saying that the resort was at the top of a steep mountain, though there was an unmarked trail. On the day we arrived, not only had Buttermilk Falls set up orange cones on the rocky beach on the river, but also cones to mark where the trail began...and better yet, we were greeted by a young man waving to us. He had been waiting on our arrival with a quad to motor us and our gear up the trail!!!
Besides that extremely considerate touch, our room was charming and immaculate with a fireplace and french doors opening to a private patio terrace with a view of a beautiful pond, and the river! The modern spa was not a half bad way to end a long day of paddling, including a swim in the pool (in a glass enclosed room overlooking the grounds,) a sauna, and a fabulous massage...no more back and neck pain the rest of the trip! Dinner was in a farmhouse style building, decorated in contemporary style. The menu featured many wonderfully prepared dishes with ingredients from their own garden, like the doughnut peaches that we were invited to pick at any time.
Early the next morning we walked through the grounds to the gardens and farm animals, where we got to see the chickens who laid the eggs for our breakfast...ah, breakfast! That was served in a happy sunroom, with brightly colored zinnias on each table, plenty of fresh fruit, home harvested honey (yes, Buttermilk has an apiary!) and the chef coming to each table to take breakfast orders. But, alas it was time to move on, so our friend with the quad came and picked us and our gear up once again, and toted us back down the winding path, past the waterfall, and back to the rocky beach on the river where our kayaks awaited us.

Room Tip: Sage Left features a private garden patio overlooking the grounds and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loripier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was my first time at Buttermilk Falls, but hopefully it won't be my last. The place is more beautiful than I could have imagined and the staff and services were exceptional. We stayed two nights in the main house -- a perfectly comfortable room with a sweet view of the gardens. The breakfast and tea times -- included in the price -- were plentiful and wholesome, and just decadent enough to make you feel just a tad 'bad.' We loved the scones and lemon butter cookies.

There is no where to start when reflecting on the gorgeousness of the property. From the waterfall, to the view of the Hudson, to the swan pond, to the gently rolling hills with wild flowers and peach trees at every turn, it is amazing. We had small issues at the spa (35 minute late start for an appointment ) and with Henry's -- the onsite restaurant (decent food, but nothing special). But neither of these things detracted from the over-all experience. This place is AN ABSOLUTE GEM!

Room Tip: Sage Right is lovely, but dark. Only gets early a.m. sun. We like that, but if you don't ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAA313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, it felt like we had come home (in every good sense of that phrase). The interior decorator/designer for the River Birch House made it spacious yet hospitable, pairing neutrals with splashes of color and accessorizing with a nod to the beautiful nature beyond the windows. Don't miss a ramble of the extensive property with breathtaking views along the Hudson River, the baby Alpaca and its llama friends, the guinea hens and the organic garden (with the best tasting heirloom tomatoes). Enjoy a massage at the spa and relax poolside with some tea and honey from the inn's hive. And if you do nothing else, be sure to sign up for a cooking class with Chefs Paul and Andrew. Both are so personable, they made the whole experience not only educational (we came away with a bunch of new tips and recipes) but delightful too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I love this place. We stayed here for the 4th time last month (July) -- so now we've been there in all four seasons. Each has its own special beauty and attractions-- but one thing that always seems to stay the same is the great service and the courteous and helpful staff. Nice breakfasts and afternoon tea. Nice spa with indoor pool, steam room and sauna. Spa services are excellent. The room we stayed at the last two times has breathtaking views that could do a postcard proud. We've already made reservations for our 5th stay over the Thanksgiving holiday -- but I won't reveal the room because I really would rather not deal with the competition for future stays. We look forward to trying the new restaurant this time. (Photos taken Autumn '10)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayortony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Living in Brooklyn sometimes all you want to do is see trees and land! When the local park is not cutting it anymore a quick drive upstate is usually the answer. After my new husband and I got married in early July we decided that would be the perfect get away for us to unwind. After hours of google searching for the "perfect" place, I was amazed when I actually found it! Here at Buttermilk Falls it gathers all the little bits that make a perfect stay! High quality luxury rooms ( with alot of room), Privacy that you could not believe, freedom to roam the 70 acres of property, a farm, the Hudson, and the amazing restaurant Henry's! I almost forgot Breakfast and afternoon tea! We hardly left the place only once to get dinner in New Paltz! Every night our food was amazing at Henry's farm-to-table but one night it was closed so we had to try elsewhere. Their spa is top notch but book ahead of time they book up fast! Also do yourself a favor and take the hike down to the river front through the woods if you are able to get down there. It is an amazing sunset or sun rise I witnessed them both! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
13.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Property: Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Address: 220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, eco-friendly spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Falls Inn And Spa
Buttermilk Falls Hotel Milton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing