We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded grandeur”
Review of Arrow Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arrow Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faded grandeur”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Arrow Park has been saved from ruin and has recently had a facelift. Unfortunately a lot more money needs to be spent on the building to bring it truly back to life. The rooms were enormous and the bathroom huge. However, water does not flow well to the top of the house, the shower curtain is draped so that water cascades onto the floor - and it is difficult to rectify.

Dinner was very good and the location was totally superb. Once sufficient investment has been made by the co-operative owners then this will be stunning.

Room Tip: There is no lift so beware of a top floor room if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileenbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are working every year to bring Arrow Park back to its original grandeur. You should come to see us again. We have done some nice upgrades to the building. A new water well was installed and we fixed the shower curtain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Love it...we fell in love with it. Our upcoming wedding will be at Arrow Park August 2014. Going soon go set up the final date off our amazing and romantic wedding. Everyone that I showed the place too love it and are looking forward to going to Arrow Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you! Arrow Park is a very unique place for a wedding and I am sure you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We needed a place to stay for an event over 4 days in Monroe, NY. Since all available rooms in the area were booked we were thrilled to find that Arrow Lake and Lodge had an opening. We were told when we called for reservations that their main house was indeed booked but they had an available "bungalow" in a wooded area and we were delighted since we both love the woods. When we arrived we were driven to the bungalow (close by the main house) which had 3 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths, kitchen and two living areas for $225 per night. We were expecting something somewhat rustic and simple but what we got was extremely spartan to say the least, very dated furniture (circa 1950's) definitely on the musty side (the place smelled like it hadn't been aired out in ages) but we were grateful to have a place to stay and so they handed us they only key to the place. It wasn't until nightfall that we noticed there were no curtains, shades, blinds, nothing at all hanging at any of the windows. My room only had a bed and a nightable in it. My clothes stayed in the suitcase for 4 days. The bathroom shower stall (the only one, very primitive, small and flimsy) leaked when I took a shower and we were greeted by an infestation of bugs in the "kitchen" at nightfall. We called the manager's office and they sent someone to fix the shower leak, handed us a can of Raid Bug Spray and hung sheets at the windows secured by push pins. When we checked to see if they cleaned up the water from the leak we found they certainly did. The clean towel they used to clean it up with was left on the floor and it was now filthy (black actually). So much for clean bathrooms. Early the next morning we requested that housekeeping come and clean the filthy bathroom floors, etc. Everyone was polite and accommodating but appeared to be somewhat removed from any of this. Also, the "breakfast" in the mornings consisted of coffee or tea, bread, butter, cereal and milk. Forget eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc.We also had to drop the only key to our bungalow off at the main house every morning if we wanted housekeeping services and pick it up later in the day. If we didn't call for housekeeping services daily there would be none. We continued to spray for bugs daily. Needless to say, we would never stay there again. I would rather camp out. And oh yes, when we complained about these unacceptable conditions at check out time, we were offered $50.00 off our bill. NAN

Room Tip: you may have noticed just above there is a rating for room service. There was no room service (I ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 743NAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We always strive for a good experience and I am sorry yours was not good. Please give a second try and I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised. Call me direct to book a great experience at Arrow Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It looks like an old caste from the outside, and the rooms were very nicely furnished and clean. They had a very nice continental breakfast with a cozy sitting area. The grounds could be updated but was very large

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Bravo! Love those great reviews. Our potential customers really need to understand what they are booking when they stay with us. People are disappointed when they think they are booking a chain hotel. We are a mansion built in 1910. We are a beautiful home with rustic charm, not TV, or the amenities these hotel chains offer. If you want a relaxing, old world charm experience, come visit us.
Call me first and I will give you all the details you need to know what we offer. Check out our website at arrowparkny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Do your homework before going. Leave dress shoes and fancy stuff home. We went on a Groupon. It was old, but nice. Its an old building from 1909, stone, chilly, and beautiful architecture. It is NOT the Holiday Inn. there are no in-room amenities- NO tv/ice/tea/coffee/fridge. wi fi works in certain rooms. we stayed in #10- it was very nice.
had a claw foot tub- nice retrofitted shower, hot water and very bright. disappointed that the fireplace in the room was gorgeous, but can't be used. :(
The best asset of this place is Nicole. She made the stay wonderful.
The boats are nice, but only rowboats. Ask at the desk. they will get them ready to use. The lake is so serene and calm. Small, so you can row around in 30 minutes. The trail is nice too, but doesnt go all the way around, so dont try it.

Room Tip: Do not choose the shared bath rooms, unless you like tiny rooms and a very small ill-equiped bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you, your great reviews help our potentail guests better understand our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Thank god I looked online and saw the first review where someone had their reservation lost. We booked August 20th when we bought a living social deal, and called right away for this weekend. Apparently the guy on the other end of the phone wasn't listening and between spelling the name wrong and booking the completely wrong date, they said they would take us but only with a $60 extra charge to get a room. Needless to say we didn't even make it to the hotel, it's a shame since we heard good things. Customer service was no help because they don't understand customer service is about making an accommodation to keep long term relationships, where return customers has been a proven basis for most companies increases on their bottom lines, and I'm sure we would have returned. This girl cared more about being right it seemed, and her pride, than just accepting responsibility for the screw up someone else in their company made and moving on. It was enough, wish we got to see the grounds as the photos look beautiful and we had been given good reviews. Not all situations are the same but I doubt we'll ever try again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemon128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are so sorry your reservation was lost. We try our best and sometimes we fall short of your expectations. We will strive to do our jobs better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blasdell, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We found this place pretty much by accident and were treated to a very relaxing and peacefull night. The staff is very polite and more than helpful. The rooms were unique and charming as is the property itself. Old world character and clean... Great place for introspection and relaxation. Might be a little too rustic for some. However, if you call ahead I'm sure they will explain the layout.

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you! You have made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
750 reviews
4.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
261 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
963 reviews
12.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
408 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow Park

Property: Arrow Park
Address: 1061 Orange Tpke, Monroe, NY 10950-5504
Region: United States > New York > Monroe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Arrow Park 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arrow Park Lake, inspired by the rustic beauty and charm of Europe, lies Arrow Park Lodge. A place of refuge and relaxation, we provide the perfect oasis for a getaway with family and friends. Guests will enjoy 53 acres of sparkling waters, with scenic hiking trails and easy access to the Appalachian Trail. Spend the day swimming, boating, fishing, or simply exploring the grounds and taking in all that we have to offer. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrow Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing