We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed”
Review of Breakers MTK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakers MTK
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just came back a 2 night stay at the Breakers. On the positive side - location is great - beach across the street and close walk into town. Nice Pool. On the constructive side - although it says quiet hours are 10pm, we had noisy neighbors who partied until early AM. The rule was not enforced. Also and most importantly, the 2 bedroom unit we stayed in was really small and very outdated, and had ALOT of bugs... Really disappointed especially with spending $300 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at Breakers MTK, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the many amenities that the Breakers has to offer. Nothing beats being able to walk right across the street to a nice secluded beach on a hot summer day! We look forward to the opportunity to have you for a stay again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have never written a review before but i have just returned from a 4 night stay at Breakers..After reading the TA reviews i was SCARED. Upon checkin i was greeted by the front desk with a smile. I have arrived early and expected to see the town and return at the usual checkin (3pm). I was pleased when i was told my one bedroom cottage was ready and given the keys! My cottage was immaculate,yes it could use some updating( appliances etc),but it was cozy and comfortable with everything in working order. The private deck had lounge chairs as well as a pinic table and small BBQ.The pool was clean and warm.Staff very nice and the most important of all...the quick walk across the way to the BEAUTIFUL beach...That is what MTK is all about!!!! If you want to relax,enjoy the beach,the town and the true MTK..Breakers is not only affordable but provided and very pleasent stay...For all those who have negative comments remember this is MTK,you wont find any 5 star resort full of glitz and glamour..its all about the "beach town feel vacation".

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I must admit, I was a little worried to see what kind of place The Breakers Motel was. Situated between two big resorts, my mind started to wander. The first sign that I loved this place started with the front desk woman. She was very nice and accomodating and we were able to get into our room early. I have stayed at other places in Montauk where the front desk woman is super unfriendly which I think is a huge turn off, especially since you are paying so much money to stay in their hotel. When we opened the door to our room (15) we were pleasantly surprised by our cute room with brand new floors and a nice AC unit. There was a ping pong table, pool, hot tub and volley ball net on the property which were great amenities to break up beach time. The property is located just minutes out of town which I think is perfect because it tends to stay more quiet at night, it was about a 5 minute walk to get into the heart of town. The most important part, the beach, is located right across the street! I would recommend The Breakers to anyone looking for a place in Montauk. Especially since they only require a two night minimium stay! Thanks Breakers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSandCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you love the beach, if you love to relax, this is the place to be.

The cabin was immaculate

The staff was wonderful

The pool was refreshing

The porch and anemities were great

Hang at the cabin, walk into town, it's all at your fingertips.

Had a FABULUOus time!

Meeting the other regulars was fun as well

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently rented a few cottages side by side. Overall, this place is VERY OVERPRICED in the summer.
Cons:
There was a gaping hole about 4 inches wide next to the tub in the bathroom floor.
The tub in one room would not drain without holding down the drain switch.
You could hear neighbors talking at a moderate level as if they were in the same room!
The rooms were poorly equipped, the bathrooms didn't even have towel racks! no bottle opener, can opener, cork screw, blender, microwave, etc.
The front grass area was not cleaned before our stay. It was littered around the grill with multiple cigarette butts, clam shells, and other small trash.
The ceiling fan was missing all of the fan blades!

Pros:
AC units seemed brand new and worked fine.
The location is very good, and the pool is OK.
The cleaning staff did a good job within the rooms.
One cottage had a large TV with dvd player (the other only a medium sized TV, no dvd player)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 955,321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers668, Front Office Manager at Breakers MTK, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Unfortunately you did not rent a one bedroom cottage someone did rent for you a one bedroom efficiency which is attached to another unit as was explained to the person that made the reservation. In regards to the items missing it is the end of July housekeeping does par up the rooms upon a check out unfortunately they missed some items which if where asked for at the front desk or asked housekeeping they would have been very happy to provide you with them. We don’t have microwaves nor blenders as mentioned to the person that made your reservation even the problems with the shower since there is maintenance onsite to help out with issues that show up unexpected if one was told about the issue we would have been more than happy to fix it. We cater to every guest and there needs if we are not made aware of any issues we would not know about them this is the hospitality buisness not everything goes 100% we so wish it does and we do our best its unfortunante that a comment so negative has to be posted and about minor details we do wish you do find something to your expectations in the montauk area for any future vacations you wish to take.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I love the Breakers. This place is affordable and great for families. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are clean and cozy. The beach is great and its an easy walk into the village. We loved the pool and private deck. We'll be back every year.

Room Tip: Each unit is different. We love the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

...It's kind of a rustic place, good for families on a budget. We rented a two bedroom cabin (double bed in one room, two twins in another, plus a pullout double in the main room), offseason for $150 night. Anywhere else, it would have been less than $100, but this is Montauk...

I know from experience that an "equipped kitchen" means 1 pot, 1 pan, and dull knives, so we brought our own to cook with. The stove had 4 burners and an oven, so it was fine for us...there was also a working coffee maker and toaster, forks, knives, plates, glasses and coffee mugs. The beds were firm, the shower was hot with good pressure, and there was a large screen HDTV with cable. There was also a heated pool, ping pong table and the motel is dog friendly. I would say half of the guests brought dogs (including us); they were everywhere.

Our little cabin had a big porch with umbrella and picnic table, and a charcoal bbq...our children liked it, and so did we. Cheap bar of soap, cheap towels, but we brought our own, so it didn't matter...the kid behind the desk was new, so he couldn't help us with any details about the town, but he was friendly enough...

The real story is walking across the street to the beach, which is what Montauk is all about...quiet, clean, not many people. We made a fire at night, had some s'mores...I would come back here again, most definitely. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Time T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
4.2 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
375 reviews
1 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#13 of 39 in Montauk
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hero Beach Club
Hero Beach Club
#9 of 39 in Montauk
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers MTK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers MTK

Address: 769 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly The Breakers Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: £141 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers MTK 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Breakers MTK! All of our houses have AC, Leesa Mattresses, Matouk Bed Linens, Frette Bath Towels, Malin + Goetz bath Amenities, and Tivoli Bluetooth Speakers. The entire property has undergone upgrades including all new indoor and outdoor furniture and decor, high-speed WiFi. NYC seafood staple Seamore's is now also open on site, serving lunch, dinner and drinks both indoors and out. The property is now screen free, so we encourage you to bring reading material and enjoy the outdoors while you are here with us in beautiful Montauk. We recommend bringing your personal devices should you desire to binge on Netflix while you're here on a rainy day. We are located across the street from a pristine beach on the ocean and within walking distance to downtown Montauk and many of its restaurants, bars, shops and activities. Contact us for further information. We look forward to having you visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakers MTK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Montauk
Breakers MTK Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing