We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!!”
Review of The Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers Motel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay here!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

loved my stay at the breakers the other weekend! this place is conveniently located across from the beach- amazing view! equipped with a ping pong table, pool, and great service! everyone was super friendly, staff was excellent- it was such a relaxed atmosphere. pre-booking a room for the end of the summer now!

Room Tip: a room on the hill has a great view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachPlumMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are extremely pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities that the Breakers Resort has to offer. We always enjoy seeing familiar faces and look forward to seeing you again at the end of the Summer for another relaxing stay!
Sincerely,
Keith Glanzman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place would be great if it weren't for the Long Island college party crews. Don't stay here unless you are ok with all nighters.
The rooms were clean and service was good, but most of the people staying here were obnoxious early 20 something's.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachPlumMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It's good to hear you enjoyed the service and cleanliness of our rooms. We hope we can have you back for another stay to enjoy some relaxation with us.
Sincerely,
Keith Glanzman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Loved this resort, great getaway, friendly and attentive staff, highly recommend. Cleanliness is one of the most important factors when traveling for me, the shower and bathroom was immaculate. Easy access to a quiet beach and large pool to jump in and unwind after hanging all day the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachPlumMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind words regarding our property. We agree, jumping in the pool after a nice day at our secluded beach is an ideal way to relax. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Keith Glanzman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel this weekend and I cant believe what other reviewer are saying about this property. For starter the room had 18 inches on either side of the bed to the wall and no chair to sit on ! One plastuc hang in the closet. No creature comforts like no place to put soap or shampoo in the shower, No place to hang a towel or cloths when showering. 1970's faucets the leak and sqeak. The hot water setting was set to vacation mode, no need to use cold water because it was basically a cold water flat. Loght didn't work and it was basically old and used. Talk about silver spoon in your mouth, People say Oh they only have three month to make there money so they have to charge what they charge, well it take 12 months for me to make a years income,. I think they should get a winter job and lower the price of this hotel,. There charging way to much,. And as for the positive review I think it is tamily and friends because no one in there right mind would give this place a 4 or 5, It is a ONE. Pro's brand new TV Towels and A/c and Heating all work fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were staying at another hotel and decided to extend our stay at The Breakers because the rest of the family was staying there in the cottages. The swimming pool is right in the middle of the U shape groupings of cottages, motel rooms and efficiencies. You can keep an eye on the kids while they run around with all the other guests and make friends from your own little deck in the front of the cottages. (According to my brother-in-law these friendships have lasted years) The room options make it great for families. A standard Motel room for the grandparents, a cottage for people with young ones, and efficiencies with futons and additional beds for couples with older children. Nice. Helpful people at the desk allowed us to take a room on short notice without making it seem like a big ordeal. The beach is a bit of a walk across a slow street and down the dunes, but it is worth it for the privacy and the fact that you are not surrounded by the Montauk party crowd.

Room Tip: Call to get descriptions. Several of the rooms face outward and not toward the center pool area, pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Lasting friendships make for great memories at the Breakers Resort! As you have noted, we have a variety of accommodations for all. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Cleanliness is the most important factor I look for in any accommodation - especially when travelling with my family. From what I've been told by a fellow guest who's been coming back for several years, the entire motel underwent recent renovations and our room was one of the first to be renovated. We stayed in room 16B which has the best view of the Ocean (in my opinion) and it was perfect for my family of 3. It was a last minute reservation and the management team along with the facilities staff were friendly and very accommodating to our needs. As mentioned by other guests - they have a nice and clean heated pool and other activities such as basketball hoop and ping pong table, etc. We loved the beach across the road because it was empty and quiet compared to the the popular beach areas in the center of town, which is less than half a mile away and easily within walking distance. Also, loved the BBQ grills in front of each unit and the cleaning staff who cleans them each morning. Overall, a wonderful trip and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: For the best Ocean views, room 16B is the best but next time, I am going to book a unit that is sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesAhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Guest satisfaction is what we strive for here at the Breakers Resort. We are glad you got to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer along with the peaceful beach right across the street. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Breakers Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We are still here on our last night at the Breakers and I don't think I am jumping the gun when I say we have had no complaints. It is much as other reviewers have said. Charming and clean. The feel is very much what you would expect a resort in Montauk. There is a pool, ping pong table, volleyball court, a small golf putting green, and best of all a basketball court. My boys enjoyed several pick up games with other guests.
A 2 bedroom cottage was perfect for the 5 of us. We had plenty of room for everyone to sleep, a kitchen, and a large porch, In fact the queen bed felt like a fluffy marshmallow . We had ocean views form both the porch and the living area. All the cabins seem different but I think all overlook the water. There is staff everywhere working hard into the night.
The best part of this place is the location. Sooo close to town but away from the noise. I think Old Montauk Highway is much quieter than Montauk Highway.
A tip I have not read about before: There is a path that leads to the beach across the street. If you walk half way down the path and turn left, you can follow the trail all the way into town. I enjoyed exploring with the kids and we saw some deer on the way back. Maybe a little different than walking along the road the get to the village.
I am not looking forward to going home to laundry and work tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersMontauk, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Looks like you and your family had a great vacation! You really can’t beat our location, beautiful views and extremely convenient to get just about anywhere. With our two bedroom cottages, one bedroom cottages, one bedroom efficiencies, studios and standard rooms we have an option for just about anyone!
Sincerely,
Breakers Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hero Beach Club
Hero Beach Club
#23 of 39 in Montauk
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#18 of 39 in Montauk
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Motel

Property: The Breakers Motel
Address: 769 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Montauk Breakers! All rooms have Mitsubishi Air Units, Leesa Mattresses, Luxury Bathroom Amenities, etc. The entire property has undergone a mass renovation and we are pleased to announced we are open for the season! We are located across the street from the ocean and within walking distance to all the main attractions Montauk can offer. Contact us for further information we try to accommodate all guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Montauk
The Breakers Motel Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing