We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean, new/remodeled suite in the back. Just three of us on this trip, but excellent place for families. The village is within walking distance (not on a chilly day), beach right across the street ... Thank you for a great stay on our first visit to the hamptons.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    41
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
davemann17
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We generally choose places to stay based on Tripadvisor, and the reviews overall are usually dead on. Not so much for here. I know that it has a high rating for a Montauk hotel, so maybe it is wonderful compared to the other resorts in the area, but we will try out the other hotels on our next stay. Now, don't get me wrong, the location of the hotel is wonderful which is why I gave it three stars. It is an easy walk across the street on a path to the beach; we did have a wonderful campfire on the beach during our stay. (And we would have loved the large grass area if we had kids with us.) But we generally rate our stays on the rooms themselves, and here were our issues:

Although they had upgraded kitchen and decor of the unit, they forgot to upgrade the bed. So the mattress was hard to sleep on... luckily we had some Advil for our backs in the morning.
We were also on a bottom unit facing the highway. It could have been just that our upstairs neighbors were very large and active, but you could hear all of their movements upstairs. We tried to offset their noises by turning up the volume of the TV, but unfortunately that only worked until we turned it off to try to get some sleep. (Again, I am not ruling out the possibility that we just had some excessively "heavy-footed" neighbors.)

Maybe our stay at the Beachcomber was a fluke, but we will not take that chance. When we are on vacation, sleep is the most important thing for us and I would rather go with a sure thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davemann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This was a great Columbus Day Weekend stay. The hotel was a great short 1/2 of a mile from town of Montauk and 5 1/2 from the Lighthouse. The hotel put a dirt trail from Olde Montauk Hwy (27a), is the beach. It was 17 miles long to East Hampton.
The hotel was clean and spacious the TVs were a little small and the pillows were a little hard but it okay. The people were VERY nice. The Deck needs replacing and the pool is gr8. This Is the best Montaukain hotel in Montauk

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartanReviewer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I love this place. Right across from the beach and they have updated some of their rooms. You can walk to town but just far enough away from the noise. Staff very friendly. I live on Long Island and this is my new favorite place. Try to get to The Harvest for dinner and if you feel you must be like every other tourist then by all means go to Cyril's. The only thing I am not happy about is you can't stay here for one night during the week ( summer season). I know this is prime $$$$ for the season. I get it. But just keep in mind that word of mouth and repeat customers are also your bread and butter all season long.

Room Tip: I would make sure to ask for an updated room if you can. Keep in mind there is no guarantee during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longislandchick60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the Beachcomber for a wedding this weekend and could not be happier with our room (407)! It is decorated very nice with a beach theme, it is clean and clearly has been updated recently. For the guys there is a large HD Flat screen TV too! If you are staying at the Beachcomber with 2-4 people stay in 407 you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedrack101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our room had a great view of the ocean, nice balcony and perfect sized galley kitchen. A very short walk to the beach and about a mile from downtown and great surfer beach in Ditch Plains. I would definitely stay there again. It was CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Clean, nice rooms with kitchenette. Really a good place for those who like well kept properties and don't need the luxury 5 star treatment. Beatiful views, across the street from the beach. Pool is heated and in good shape. Much better than the properties we saw down in the village. Great for families.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.0 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#10 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort At Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort At Montauk

Property: Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Address: 727 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5176
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort At Montauk 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beachcomber Resort At Montauk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk Hotel Montauk
Montauk Beachcomber Hotel
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing