We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, highly recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burcliffe "By The Sea"
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Burcliffe is in a great location - the beach it's on is one of the best on Long Island (if not the best, in my opinion). You'll have a beautiful beach with tons of space and lots of room to relax, throw a frisbee and hang with friends / family. If you'd prefer a crowd, go stay at a place in town. If you're looking for some r&r, quiet beach time, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are modest, like most other hotels in the area. Nevertheless, it's a great place to spend a weekend or an even longer summer vacation. The folks managing the property were very kind and accommodating. I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which is on the south west side of the property - it's great for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I recently visited Burcliffe by the Sea with my family and was very impressed with this cozy, private resort. The hotel is just down a path to one of the most beautiful, private beach. The heart of Montauk was only a half mile walk, and I enjoyed pushing my boys in their stroller on the path that leads to town. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of our cottage. Having our own space to cook dinner at night was so convientent for this mother of two! Burcliffe makes a wonderful family vacation, and we are planing on making this our family tradition summers to come! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just spent a week in one of the cottages at Burcliffe by the Sea. Having seen the photos, I wasn't expecting too much in terms of comfort (chose it for location, good reviews and an affordable price for a week's stay) but it was quite nice. We had a private patio, grill, side yard and the cottage had all our family of four needed. The beds were comfortable, even the pullout couch was fine, according to my son. The owners were very nice and accommodating and the location could not have been better. Right across the street is a magical looking path that leads to the most spectacular ocean beach. It was never crowded and actually there were very few people on this beach, even in the middle of July. Was a quick drive into town or to the bay if the ocean was too rough, so that was a nice option. Although a hotel, the cottage was so private that we felt like we were renting a house and being minutes from the beach was as good as it gets. Place was also nicely landscaped and the room was clean.

Room Tip: Our cottage was the farthest one back from the road (closest to the smaller rooms in the hotel which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaphank, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just back from staying at Burcliffe by the Sea from Thursday to Sunday. My wife, dog Tucker and I had a great time staying in studio number four. The daily schedule: early morning visit to the beach directly across the street through a blazed path, morning run, visit to Montauk bake shoppe for egg sandwiches and coffee, drink and relax at the beach off of Navy Road, visit the ocean beach before dinner and then eat out....Burcliffe by the Sea is away from the crowds in town and made for a very relaxing visit. The studio was all we needed with a small refrigerator and freezer, a/c, tv, two beds (one for Tucker), etc.

We also enjoyed the breeze and view of the ocean. The fellow guests were very nice and pleasant. Bob made our trip very simple and easy......thanks again Bob......would recommend Burcliffe by the Sea for those looking for a low key getaway........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I made my first visit to the Hamptons and to Burcliffe recently and there are just no words to describe how the property, the weather, the private beaches, and wonderful people exceeded my expectations! I am a west coast girl with very little exposure to the east coast beaches, but after this trip, I plan to return as often as possible. The proprieters of Burcliffe were so warm and welcoming, not only to me, but everyone. I was impressed by the impeccable grounds, the nostalgic ambience, and most of all, the serenity you feel at Burcliffe. I have traveled many places, from Hawaii to Europe to Asia, but I truly felt this was my most favorite vacation by far. My only regret is that Trip Advisor only has 5 stars for ratings! :) ... Burcliffe definitely deserves a 10.

Room Tip: Speak with Bob or Lorna about your specific needs and they will help you without question!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBell914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My 15-year-old daughter and I wanted to go to the beach for a couple of days, and I am so happy we found Burcliffe by the Sea! The room was clean and spacious (though not updated) and had a lovely patio with a view of the ocean. The owners were courteous and professional, and best of all the beach was beautiful and pretty much empty. Because Burcliffe is not surrounded by other hotels/motels, it really feels like it has its own private beach! Town is only a 5 minute drive away, We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I booked Burcliffe at the last minute for Memoral Day weekend. We choice first, on availability and second, because they are pet friendly! It was great to be be able to bring our Morkie pup and have the beach right across the street. The owners were beyond nice and the studios were amazingly clean. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManhattanGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcliffe "By The Sea"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcliffe "By The Sea"

Property: Burcliffe "By The Sea"
Address: 397 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5039
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burcliffe `By The Sea` Hotel Montauk
Burcliffe "By The Sea" Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing