We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Water wonderland"”
Review of Sun 'N' Sound

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun 'N' Sound
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Water wonderland"”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at most parts of montauk for more than 40 years. The last 30 years at Sun'n' sound.
It has a deck on the water and many rooms are also on the water, within 30 feet. It has great nature, glorious and peaceful.
mc, bayside

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nycookie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    17
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two days in the off season and we really enjoyed our stay. Truly a special place for us. When we first got there Hakim got us squared away and was very helpful. The sunset view was spectacular. Room was very clean. Perfect location, very close to good seafood restaurants. Before we left we met Jamie who made us feel welcomed. We would love to come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LKHC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I spent several days here and must say that I was very impressed with the size of the rooms and the attention to detail by the staff. the room I stayed was more like a suite and the bedroom was separate from the living room and had a tv in each room along with a full kitchen. the room was immaculate and the staff maintained them that way. there is a pool if you are not a beach person and it is only a short walk to the dock area and restaurants. the view is beautiful at sunset and is photo op worthy. great place to bring the kids also.

Room Tip: ask for an upper level room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay at this quiet & pretty location on Block Island Sound, far from the traffic in town. Efficiency units provide flexibility with meals. There is an unheated pool & no microwave oven. Walls are quite thin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbo_Queens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a cute place in a beautiful location- as long as your expectations are realistic. It's not going to have the beauty of a 4 or 5 star place, but it's not a complete disaster either. I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night with my husband and kids. The motel appeared to be full or close to it, but thankfully was very quiet.

The Good- We had the waterfront queen loft. The view was beautiful. When they say a room is waterfront it is literally on the water. The outside seemed to be very well maintained. The pool looked like it was actually still open, which was surprising for the end of September, and looked clean. The pool is in the parking lot with no view. The room had a small but full kitchen, and that was actually clean. All of our dishes, utensils, the stove, etc appeared to be clean.

Could be better- Maintenance inside the rooms is lacking. The first sight that greeted us when we walked in were several large stains on the carpet. I'm not saying no one ever attempted to clean them, but a waterfront hotel that attracts people looking to fish and cook in their rooms should invest in a tile floor. The couch just had that "do you really want to sit here" look. We immediately opened up the bed and covered the entire thing with sheets for the kids. No weird smell coming from it or anything, just looked like it had been there since the 80s and had seen better days. The queen bed upstairs had this thin wicker headboard that had been nailed in the wall. However, it had actually been pulled out so the headboard had several long rusty nails sticking out of it. (I alerted the desk about this upon checkout so hopefully that has been resolved.)
The maid service was decent. I think the problems are more due to the need of a serious update than anything else. No matter how much the staff cleans, they can't make an old carpet look new, or make me feel like I should actually trust the colorful 80s style motel bedspread. I never actually met any staff- the front desk is limited to 9-5, but my phone contact with them for check in/ check out was fine.
With a little investment, this place could be really great. I don't think Dune Resorts (the parent company) should try to make this place fancy, but a few updates inside could really make this place stand out. While I would stay here again, I will look into other options first.

Room Tip: As others have said- the loft rooms have skylights and are very bright in the morning. That was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The best aspect of this motel is the large deck on the Block Island Sound, and the rooms that open onto it. It was gorgeous, and made up for all of the problems, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

The pool was also clean and refreshing, and a nice amenity.

However, the room was dirty. My wife and I noticed that the bottoms of our feet turned black from walking on the carpet barefoot. There were stains on the couch cushions. A couple of the dishes were dirty. I might have brought these problems up with the front desk, but it's only open from 9-5, and even then it was clear that I shouldn't bother--highly unlikely anything would get resolved.

The aforementioned patio was really great, but the furniture is old and dirty, and the table had a crack in it. Deck furniture could also use a serious upgrade. And in miscellany, the room had a coffee maker and coffee filters, but no coffee--seriously? Other problems: lamp broken and light bulbs burned out.

All in all, I'm sure you can do a lot worse in Montauk, and the view was amazing, but this motel has some maintenance problems and cleanliness issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was such a nice place to stay, particularly during the crazy summer period that is Montauk! It was out of town situated on Block Island Sound and was so quite, incredibly clean and a great place to relax with the family. It is within walking distance to Viking Fast Ferry which goes to Block Island and walking distance to Gossmans, one of the nicest seafood restaurants I've eaten at! The internet can be a little difficult to get started but once up and running, is fine. The hotel owners/managers are really great and exceptionally helpful. Their front desk staff could learn a thing or two from them about being polite and courteous though.

Only downside is that the rooms are exceptionally bright VERY early in the morning and they leave the exterior lights on all night as well which is a little annoying but you get used to it!

Overall, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters where your room is this is just a great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reilly1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
3.3 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.3 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
6.7 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#23 of 39 in Montauk
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'N' Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'N' Sound

Property: Sun 'N' Sound
Address: 22 Soundview Dr, Montauk, NY 11954-5110
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun 'N' Sound 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sun 'N' Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sound Hotel Montauk
Sun 'N' Sound Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing