We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Act on Lake Montauk”
Review of Stone Lion Inn

Stone Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Lion Inn
Reviewed 18 March 2013

After a rough few months, my husband and I decided to "get away from it all" and head out to Montauk for their world famous St. Patrick's Day celebration/parade. Since it was off season, we asked friends of ours who live in the area to recommend a place to stay. They suggested the Stone Lion Inn because it was not only fabulous--it was right along the parade route! We pulled in late afternoon somewhat rushed to change and make our way to the pre-parade cocktail party at Gurney's Inn (also highly recommended!) The Inn is attached to a restaurant, and it was not at all obvious where we needed to go to check in. It turned out, we needed to go to the front check-in area of the restaurant. We found our way, were given our key, and were on our journey to a delightful week-end! Immediately after opening the door to our room, it became apparent that Lake Montauk is STUNNING. Our room (actually rooms) overlooked the lake and it was gorgeous. It was VERY cold upon entering the rooms, but two separate remote-controlled heating units got the heat cranking right away. The Stone Lion Inn does not skimp on space! We walked into a full-sized kitchen--ample fridge, cabinets, microwave, sink--we were surprised there wasn't a little cook top. Off the kitchen was a closet/changing room that was very large--I said to my hubby perhaps that was to accommodate a pack-n-play--only to read that the hotel doesn't allow children. Off the kitchen was an ample sized bed/living area--with a lovely picture window overlooking the lake and private deck (too bad it was so chilly!) The bathroom was impeccably decorated and if I ever find the funds to renovate a bathroom I will "borrow" the beautiful tile décor. Actually, the construction and decoration on the whole unit was very high-end. I would say the décor was zen/mod. One of the things I loved was the amount of wastebaskets in the unit!

One of the best things about the Stone Lion Inn: we could fill our red solo cups with a beverage, and walk outside to our chairs placed along the parade route--so easy! We were also within a very reasonable walking distance to town (check out O'Murphy's for a burger and a beer and Mr. John's for a yummy breakfast!) We enjoyed the whole trip so much, we hope to make it an annual event.

One small mishap we ran into: the neighbors in the room next to us were playing VERY LOUD reggae music the whole time we were there. While the info posted on the wall of the unit indicated the Inn follows a strict 10 pm noise cut off time--we had no idea who/where to contact someone when the reggae was playing well into the wee hours of the morning.

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the adjacent restaurant (ENE) one night of our stay--I've covered that in a separate review...it is well worth the trip just for the food. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at the Stone Lion Inn...looking at the lake from your bed is truly relaxing. The bathroom shower has a wonderful head and the cool pebbled bottom I adore. If you are in need of a "zen" experience--head out to Montauk!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

First off I would like to say the reason I rated this very good and not excellent is because of the air conditioning being out of service in the bedroom. I do must admit the place is awesome, its attached to East by Northeast Restaurant. How is that for a convenience factor?? The restaurant is deeeeeeeeelish. The room is exactly how it is pictured on the website. There is a awesome pond in the back. Even though it is connected to the restaurant, they do not tolerate noise passed 10pm. We slept peacefully! We visited on Labor Day Weekend and definitely looking to go back. It's near everything so you can walk everywhere. Thank you again to the wonderful staff for everything! We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Smart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We recently spent a night in Montauk with friends and stayed at the Stone Lion Inn. It was the perfect place to kick back, relax and enjoy some down time with family. The rooms are super spacious, with a kitchenette, walk in closet and modern bathroom. He staff was incredibly nice, gracious and full of local suggestions. The restaurant attached has a great bar for a late night cap close to home.

Waking up and opening the back door, we enjoyed serene views of the lake, ducks, fishermen, etc with a nice cup of coffee on the porch.

All in all, I look back on this stay with happy memories and look forward to going again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had reservations at Rough Riders..upon arrival the condo was filthy..unerwear under the couch, dirty kitchen, rug etc. So we asked for our money back. We found Stone Lion. We were greeted by Walter..what a nice man. He showed us a room to see if we liked it. It was fabulous, new, clean and a beautiful view!! The bathroom is amazing!!! You can have a small party in the shower!! LOL King size bed, living room area and kitchen, I have nothing negative to say except maybe I shouldn't give such a great review and keep this place a secret!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulap7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Lion Inn

Address: 51 Edgemere Street, Montauk, NY
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range: £83 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stone Lion Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Stone Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Lion Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing