We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location”
Review of Surf Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Club Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a nice place to stay for a few days. Right on the beach, a nice heated pool, and a short walk into town.
The units are small, especially the kitchen. Appliances are very small and old and outdated decor. But the bed is great, the place was clean, and for the price you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    18
    13
    22
See reviews for
102
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were able to get away during the week and wanted to check out Montauk. We stayed at the Surf Club in an oceanfront room. This room was very nicely renovated. The location was the best right on the ocean with great views across a field of pink flowers blooming. We were able to walk into town for dinner and shopping. We had great weather for the beach. They have a wonderful cabana service with guys that bring down your chairs and umbrellas. They were great! Just nice and relaxing! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Suggest oceanfront and poolside views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall, the place is very nice. The location for being close to town and on the water is great and secluded from the "hipsters" in a way. They have security at the entrances so the parking is very good compared to the rest of the places around town and you can park very close to your room/condo.

The room we stayed in was clean and kept nice while we stayed there, service was good. However, the design of the room is very limited. The bedroom is upstairs, as well as the only bathroom. The view is great, close to the ocean. Very little living area downstairs but OK for two people.

I feel all of Montauk is over priced and over rated now, but only because it's NY. Where else is there to go and stay in NY on the ocean without breaking the bank?

The weekend is full of drunk hipsters, disappointing from my memories of staying out there in the 60's and visiting lately. Traffic is pretty bad too, but that has nothing to do with the Surf Club.

I found their staff to be very nice and helpful. They're pretty good. The layout of the Surf Club and the way it is maintained is very pleasing. The heated pool is also very nice, especially if you have younger children.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are just as nice as ocean view and cheaper. If you really want to see the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_J_Wills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Surf Club for my 40th birthday. We stayed during low season (end of April). The location is right on the ocean and close to town. We originally paid for a pool view but was upgraded for free when I called the front desk and informed them that is was my birthday and it would make the rest of my stay special if I had an ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thalia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Perfectly adequate, if unremarkable, 1br condo with dorm-like furnishings . Pool was lovely and beach access was extremely nice. An easy walk to several bars and restaurants in Montauk. We only stayed for a weekend, but I can see the benefit of having this place for a week and really using the kitchen. Overall, a pleasant enough place in an area that can be outrageously priced even during the off-season.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TDnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a very nice motel. The location is great. You are right off the beach, you just walk down the boardwalk. You do not have to cross the street. You can also walk to the town. What is also nice about this hotel is that it is not the standard usual one room you usually get in most motels. Most of units have two floors. Some of them have a loft. They also have a small kitchen, equipped with stove, oven, microwave, full refrigerator and dishwasher. All the units also have a nice deck to sit out on and get sun. They have a nice heated pool. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with an ocean view are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluejasmine1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked hotel for business, had to change schedule more than two weeks out, hotel has a ridiculous 30 day refund policy so lost out 100% of pre-paid room rates. Hotel should not be marketed on sites such as Southwest Airlines for business purposes with such a policy as business plans change far to often. Person on the phone when we called to cancel was unbelievably unfriendly and callous, didn't offer to allow us to use the lost money as credit for future stay, nothing. Unbelievable. Do not use this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.3 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Resort

Property: Surf Club Resort
Address: 20 Surfside Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Club Hotel Montauk
Surf Hotel Montauk
Surf Club Montauk
Surf Resort Montauk
Surf Club At Montauk
Surf Club Resort Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing