We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Surf Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Club Resort
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed in one of the 1-bedroom beachfront units at the beginning of May (still low season so very reasonably priced). We were right on the beach and had a superb view, it's great being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. The unit was clean and well-furnished (apart from the kitchen having no cutlery!).

As it was early season we didn't use the pool or other facilities so can't comment on these.

The Motel is within easy walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants in the town centre.

Montauk is a great location, right at the end of Long Island. We didn't have a car (came on the LIRR train from NYC (Penn station) for a short break and got a cab from the station), you can hire bikes from the place opposite Strawberry Fields in the town centre (can't remember the name) and cycle out to the Lighthouse (highly recommended). A great place for a relaxing break, and there are other things you can do which we didn't have time for, such as horse riding and visiting the varous wineries in the area, plus you aren't too far from the Hamptons.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    18
    13
    22
See reviews for
102
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2006

The property was great. We visited in late September, which is off-season and therefore pretty empty. we booked a 1br ocean view - everything new, very private, beautiful view of the ocean. there's beach grass growing in front of the condo so the ocean view rooms don't allow you to walk directly out onto the beach, but you can do so through a main pathway on the property. The building is designed on an angle, which gave our room an added sense of privacy. The shared amenities were not so great - the gym/sauna were small and didn't looked cared for, so we decided not to try them. The pool was fine. The staff was not really friendly or helpful. They insisted we leave a $150 cash deposit for a beach access pass, which we thought was a little ridiculous and caused us to have to make a trip back to the atm in town after just coming from there. We would have been able to swallow that better if they weren't so bothered and unapologetic in telling us so. The location is great and you can walk right into town for dining, shopping, renting surfboards, bikes and kayaks. This is definitely one of the newest accomodations and is more upscale than others - most of the beachfront places are more so motels. As far as the service goes, it feels more like you're renting a condo than staying at a hotel, but it is clean, in a good location, and the rooms have everything you need. For off-season, I though it was rightly priced for what it is and I would stay there again in an ocean view room.

  • Liked — room, location
  • Disliked — service, amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — you'll need cash for rental and pass deposits.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jimmoshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york,ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We have stayed at the Surf Club for the past ten years and it is unbelievable how nasty the management has become. I guess they figure that they can rent out the rooms anyway so why be nice or accomodating to anyone. We had so many problems with the plumbing in our room. We had a flood and both the kitchen and bathroom were out of commission for hours. Management did not feel that this warrented any type of compensation. When you pay more than $3500 for one week for basically nothing and you are unable to use your bathroom and have to go to dinner, you deserve SOMETHING in return. The location of the Surf Club is great. The rooms are clean but in no way luxurious. The prices are ridiculous. I am tired of being a loyal patron, year after year and being treated as if I OWE THEM SOMETHING. Next year I will try Royal Atlantic!!

  • Disliked — MANAGEMENT
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank givthks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We went to stay with friends this weekend in Montauk, Friday and Saturday evening. They booked us a room at the Surf Club so that the boat wouldn't be too crowded. We were there for two nights, with a room change between, so we saw two of the rooms. The first was an oceanview room. Very nice view of the beach, with nice wild rose plantings coming up to the little deck. This was good, since the room was nothing to write home about -- basically about your average Marriott grade of room, though with a kitchenette. Shower was tepid at best both in the evening and the next morning for both my husband and me (we waited in between thinking we'd let it warm up, to no avail.) The second room was a non-ocean view. It seemed to have been refurbished slightly more recently, though as with the first room, could have used new bedding. Cleanliness of both was good.

Where the hotel really falls short is on service, which is clueless and unhelpful They called Saturday morning about our room change, wanting us out of our first room. However, they wouldn't give us keys to the second room, since it wasn't ready. We asked if they would move our luggage, since we didn't want to leave it in our friends' car all day while we were out doing things. They replied that we could move it, and we explained that then they'd need to let us in the other room. But they couldn't do that, because it wasn't ready....and around and around on this. It ended up taking two calls and a trip to the office to get them to agree that they could move the luggage, and they still seemed confused why we would want to know our new room number.

The real killer was that I left a pair of earrings in the room when we checked out on Sunday. I didn't realize it until we got home to California. The office isn't 24 hours, which I can understand, so I called the next morning and asked them to check. 45 minutes later, no call back. I called again. They said that they'd try to get the maid out there. I explained that the earrings were a birthday gift, sentimental value, etc. (all true, btw). They'd try to get someone to check. After *another* two and a half hours (this is over three hours from the first call), I called back again. Uh, no, they hadn't found them -- and they were rude about it! I realize the chances of getting my earrings back were slim, but I at least expected a CALL back!

  • Liked — Nice view from oceanfront room
  • Disliked — Apathetic and totally unhelpful staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank supergirl_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2004

I took my family to Montauk this summer and we stayed at the Surf Club.
We could not have had a better vacation! The staff was wonderful and the Manager, Maria could not have been more kind and welcoming upon our arrival. The rooms were clean and well kept and you can not beat the location and views!

We can't wait to go back next summer!

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2003

My family and I stayed at the Surf Club for a week in August 2003. We found these to be very reasonable condos with nice location on the beach. Very nice heated pool. Babysitting service if needed. Good cable and VCR for rainy afternoons. Short walk to town restaurants and stores (including two health food places--Joni's and Something Natural).Warning that "two bedroom condos" are actually one bedroom (i.e., a room with a door) and a *loft* that overlooks the living area. Queen bed in downstairs room, two twins in upstairs loft. Loft can get rather warm, even with the AC on downstairs. (My kids didn't mind.) From other visitors, I have heard that the Royal Atlantic condo's (nearby) include two bedrooms, both with doors, and are gorgeous, on the beach, with great views. Hard to get, though, since there are only 12 and I have heard they are booked a year in advance. The Surf Club has more units and worked out great for us.

Helpful?
40 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.3 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Resort

Property: Surf Club Resort
Address: 20 Surfside Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Club Hotel Montauk
Surf Hotel Montauk
Surf Club Montauk
Surf Resort Montauk
Surf Club At Montauk
Surf Club Resort Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing