We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Montauk Summer Cottage.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hither House Cottages
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed at the Seaview Cottage. It was perfect for us and our dog Shakespeare. The staff was very considerate of our privacy. They made sure our cottage was always clean and waited until we were out to do their work. Plenty of linens. It's exactly what you would or should expect from a summer cottage. Short access to the beach, private area of the back yard, private grill. We were very happy here. Most of all our dog Shakespeare was happy here. We would go back again whenever possible. The owner, Wen, was very polite and kind to us. Maybe that's because we treated her and the staff like family instead of enemies.! Gerri and Dave Engel, Florida

Room Tip: We loved Seaview. We did have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gerriengel112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

We wanted to get out of the city and head to Montauk for 1 night.
We stayed in the Seaview at The Hither House, and it was cozy, clean and simple.
The bathroom is tiny, but it didn't bother us.
Great to have the kitchen for a nice breakfast by
the picture window that looks out on the sea (in the distance) .
We woke up to heavy snowfall in the morning and they had actually cleaned off the car for us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stellathebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I went to Hither House with my boyfriend in November and we stayed in the East cottage. It was very clean and really nice. However, we thought the cottage was haunted. At night we heard noises in the living room, it sounded like someone dropped a book on the floor.I felt like we weren't there alone, I felt a presence. Also a brand new bag of potatoe chips that we did not open was miraculously opened and half of the chips were gone and neither of us opened them. Also it is very close to the woods where some younger guests seemed to be wandering off into. I did not like that there was a door in our bedroom leading out to a screened in porch. We were afraid that someone could break into the bedroom. I had trouble sleeping and was scared. Also my truck was in the driveway locked up with the trunk closed and the next morning somehow the liftglass in the trunk was open. The door to the screened in porch was broken so when the wind was blowing we kept hearing the door constantly slamming. We were both freaked out.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianIcex17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I had read all the reviews for this place before booking, so I felt good, but you just never know how your family will like places compared to other families. We traveled with our miniture yorkie, so we needed a pet friendly location. In Montauk there are not that many. I am so glad the Chamber of Commerce gave me the help I needed. The Hither House cottages are not a huge complex-so you know who is the manager, who cleans your cottage and it has a homey feel. The management was very friendly! The reviews saying otherwise were probably from people who wanted to party and be loud. This is not the place for that!(Thank goodness!) All of the staff do an excellent job-the housekeepers clean everything, and I mean everything! They even cleaned the grill after each use! The grounds are kept perfect by a very hard working man who is very polite and always has a smile for you. One the weekends they have a very nice breakfast for you with coffee, milk, juice, bagels, muffins, fruit, etc. We liked that it was still available after taking the dog to the beach or if you want to sleep in! I even had forgotten matches and foil to grill and the office was eager to help-after hours! I can not say enough about how great this place is! The owner is very hands on and greets everyone, always making sure you are happy! The only down fall is not hearing the waves at night-but oh well-we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenilynMahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I booked my room over a month ago as I am running the Hampton's Half Marathon in October. I wanted to bring my dogs on the trip. I emailed Hither House from their site. They instructed me to call them- which I did. I talked on the phone & confirmed I wanted the cottage. I also gave them my address. My understanding was Hither House would send me an invoice and then I would send a check deposit (since they don't accept credit cards). I waited for the invoice which never arrived. I called them back to check on the reservation. The woman on the phone stated that my check never arrived- so she gave the cottage away. I told her there was a misunderstanding- she became completely belligerent. Told me I was wrong- she was right. I tried to be nice, as I was worried that all other pet friendly places may be booked. She had one cottage left which is double the price of my original cottage. I asked if she would give me a discount due to the miscommunication. Absolutely not! She was offended that I questioned her process. After unintelligible ranting she ended up hanging up on me. Her customer service is like none I have ever heard.. mind boggling bad. Their process also lacks coherency.
Fortunately, I just googled another pet friendly resort. They didn't have availability but gave recommendations for 2 other places. I just booked a room at Sole East. And guess what?!- I got a email invoice! Imagine that! I asked the other places if they knew of Hither House.. no one did.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Hither House is a true delight. It sits just outside Montauk, 10 minutes walk to the beach, 3 minutes drive into Montauk and 15 minutes (depending on traffic) drive to East Hampton.

Hither House is well-run, well-maintained with clean and comfortable rooms, most with kitchenettes, some affording glimpses of the ocean, staffed by very friendly and accommodating folks. As a bonus, it is “dog friendly,” meaning they welcome – really welcome – you if you’re traveling with Fido. I visited in early August for 3 days and will return. It is a bit pricy, but given the season, location and lovely facilities, it’s clearly worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Its now a tradition that every spring, before the 4th of July madness, we stay at Hither House. The beach is empty, we let our little pekignese run free, theres barely a soul in sight. The weather is beautiful & the cottage is adorable. It feels like coming home. Its a great way to spend a night or two with the ones you love.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank MaureenL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.9 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#11 of 39 in Montauk
521 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#13 of 39 in Montauk
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hither House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hither House Cottages

Address: 10 Lincoln Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range: £93 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, tranquil, 2 acre-property tucked away into the residential area of Montauk.There are 8 country/modern style units of all sizes to choose from. With just a short 2 minute drive to main street Montauk/downtown and a quick 5 minute walk from the beach, Hither House Cottages is the perfect place to escape the noise and crowds of Montauk while still being in close distance to all of the activities available. Bring your pets and your family for a quiet get-a-way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hither House Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Montauk
Hither House Cottages Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing