We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pet friendly get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hither House Cottages by the Ocean
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Pet friendly get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have a small dog and it was great to find a place that was clean and pet friendly. We had a nice clean room and a pleasant stay. The room was sufficient for our stay of 2 nights and the manager Wen was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mphilippou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    2
    7
    12
See reviews for
19
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I just came back from Hither House. I was supposed to be there 4 nights but I left after 2 nights. The cottage is old and in major need up an upgrade. The shower head is gross and rusty, I didn't even want to shower there. The refrigerator smelled bad. The whole cabin had a bad musty odor. I had to keep the A/C on all the time just so I didn't smell the mildewy smell. I was looking forward to bringing my dog on vacation and we did take some nice walks on the beach and in the parks while we were there but the cabin was just so depressing I couldn't stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank judyg7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitherhouse C, Owner at Hither House Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience. Since you have stayed with us all of our cottages have undergone major renovations and we can assure you that we have taken to account all of the issues that you had during your stay. Our staff works very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in each cottage. We hope that you take into consideration giving Hither House another try and checking out the new changes. We would love to provide you with a much better experience and of course we'd love if you bring your dog along too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have traveled all over the world for both professional and personal trips and never encountered such rude, disorganized and dishonest management. I made a booking and had to cancel due to a family member's health. they suggested I keep the credit and rebook to avoid a cancellation fee. So I rebooked and they charged me twice for the booking and we had to cancel again and they charged 2 cancellation fees. I did not authorize them to make the second charge as I was supposed to have a credit. AWFUL--avoid at all costs unless you like expensive nightmares.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pondicherry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitherhouse C, Owner at Hither House Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest,
We are very apologetic for this major inconvenience to you. Most places do have a standard cancellation policy and you should have been made aware of that from the very beginning. From what it seems there was some extreme miscommunication and the second booking should not have been processed. Again, we sincerely apologize and will do our best to ensure that situations of this sort do not occur again if you choose to try Hither House again or for any future customers. We pride ourselves in being hospitable and an honest business. If you chose to book with us please mention the situation that occurred and ask for the head manager so that we can accommodate you appropriately and ensure you have a far better and quality experience.

Sincerely,
Hither House Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The rooms were very clean and the staff could not have been any nicer! It was great to share a week in Montauk with our dog, running on the beach was priceless. The walk to the beach is a couple of blocks but it's worth it, it's very private. The manager "Wen" has a beach pass that you may borrow to drive to other nearby beaches. We stayed in the East/West cottage, it was very nice, we will definitely ask for the same unit next year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend in Montauk and were so pleased to have found Hither House. Big deal, so you have to walk 10 minutes to the beach. It’s exercise. (Unfortunately though we could not get down to the beach with our dog. The steps leading down were in need of repair.)

We stayed in the East Cottage. Comfortable, clean. Pleasant gardens. The staff was friendly and efficient. What is not to like if you know you just want a place where you can enjoy a weekend away and bring your dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mescand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitherhouse C, General Manager at Hither House Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thanks! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Montauk and Hither House was a perfect getaway for our family of four plus dog! Well located only a short walk from the beach and well furnished with everything you need. Lovely gardens and bbq and sun loungers for each cottage. We stayed in the East West cottage which was a good size, though if the 4 of us went for a week we would stay at the larger Hither cottage (our children are very young).
We'd definitely go again and have already recommended to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank FionaG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Not on the beach! You have to walk and lug all your belongings. There are so many places to stay in beautiful Montauk. There is NO reason to stay here and pay the exorbitant rates. The cabins are small and TOTALLY outdated. And, to top it off the front desk people are not all there. Take my word for it...stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrystL7905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitherhouse C, Owner at Hither House Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest,
When first making a reservation our staff should have made you aware that we are not located right on the water. It is correct that we are a short 5 minute walk to the beach. Heading to the beach from the property is down hill however, there is a large set of stairs that need to be climbed to get down to the sand. We apologize that this was not conveyed clearly to you and that there was a misunderstanding. However, we do provide all of our customers with beach permits that allow you to park your car at various beaches all over Montauk if the walk to the private beach was not something you found appealing. We can assure you that our staff is on call and on property almost 24/7 and it is very concerning to hear that you found the staff to not be present for most of your stay. You can be sure that the staff has been made aware of this issue and it has been completely addressed. Hither House has made some very exciting updates to all of the cottages and the property, so we hope that you may consider staying with us again. Again, we apologize for your poor experience and if you do choose to book with us we will ensure that your experience is much more enjoyable!

Thank You,
Hither House Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
1.4 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hither House Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hither House Cottages by the Ocean

Property: Hither House Cottages by the Ocean
Address: 10 Lincoln Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, tranquil, 2 acre-property tucked away into the residential area of Montauk.There are 8 country/modern style units of all sizes to choose from. With just a short 2 minute drive to main street Montauk/downtown and a quick 5 minute walk from the beach, Hither House Cottages is the perfect place to escape the noise and crowds of Montauk while still being in close distance to all of the activities available. Bring your pets and your family for a quiet get-a-way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hither House Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Montauk
Hither House Cottages By The Ocean Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing