We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priorities- thoughtful upgrades matter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel upgraded their rooms recently (don't be fooled this is not a hotel --this is definitely a motel). They make a big deal about the flat screen TV, and upgraded baths and kitchenettes. I am sure many people appreciate those upgrades and visually they do lend much to the rental. But I still believe that when you rent a room it should have comfortable bed, decent sheets ( I don't care about thread count but like sheets that don't reflect their history), and breathable air. All three were missing at the Royal Atlantic suite that we rented....and from talking to neighbors in other rooms we weren't the only ones that felt we landed in a dive. The Bed - old, deeply grooved and hard. The sheets - although freshly laundered they had stains. The air - musty and damp. When we mentioned that to the front desk they suggested we open the windows and air out the room. That would have been a thoughtful consideration that the motel might have considered before we arrived. By the way we slept (fitfully) with the windows open since we couldn't breath if we closed them. The Royal Atlantic also makes a big deal about their free breakfast. It is the equivalent of any good deli except at deli's the staff smiles. The two days that we stayed at the Royal Atlantic the staff was as sullen as could be....maybe they are overworked, underpaid and exhausted.....but isn't greeting a customer a basic skill that you extend in the hospitality industry. The housekeeping staff cleaned the room nicely but when we turned down the bedding there was a long hair in the bed. Neither of us has long brown hair. Not everything at the Royal Atlantic is a downer. Here are the positives - they are ocean side- the ocean is stunning and the beach is wide and silky. So if you don't need to sleep the Royal Atlantic is the place to go....but if you are human and after 18 hours of celebrating a friend's wedding you would like to crash in a decent room with breathable air and a comfortable bed then this is not the place you should choose. Like me you will wish the entire night that there was a Holiday Inn Express nearby.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the bar unless you are in bar... A friend said the poolside units are nicer than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in May and we are hoping for the same beautiful oceanfront room!!!!! Location is perfect...steps from the ocean and blocks away from center of town! Thank you Royal Atlantic!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wachsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have not been out to Montauk in many years - Royal Atlantic is still a beautiful spot on the beach. They have made several upgrades, rooms were redone, pool area, bbq area - all have nice added amenities. It is still a motel on the beach in Montauk - so don't expect luxury, but rooms were clean and quiet, beds were comfy and location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms truly were oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A wonderful fall rental of one of Royal Atlantic's condo with balcony on the dunes and ocean,

Two bedrooms downstairs one with window nestled in dunes, and upstairs a large living/dining room with two couches (one a pullout bed) and balcony, windows smack on ocean. Gas fireplace, tv, wifi, kitchen. Space for my two sons, daughter in law and me. Easy walk to stores.

Clean modern and feels like a spacious shipboard resort.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Also - condo vs. hotel rooms if you need several bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinterBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are renovated and clean. We had a pool/ocean view from our balcony. Many children during our stay but the room was very quiet when we turned in. Air conditioning was quiet and cool.

Room Tip: request pool/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debray46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

there is nothing not to like about montauk. there are high end restaurants and beach pubs. the beach is beautiful. beach fires at night toasting marshmanllows with your friends or family. great place to party without any worries of driving. this resort is right on the ocean and walking distant to almost everything.. go every year with my friends and family. luvvvv it!!!

Room Tip: choose an oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80danam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Based upon recent Reviews expecting the worst - free breakfast was -eh - almost indelible - rooms - clean - except for the mascara and other used items found under the bed.
Beach - great
beach bar - also great - tip - get a double shot in your drink -
Beach pools - relaxing - but a lot of kids
Close to beach and town
Pull out sofa - bring an air mattress to put on top of - we did - ask for extra blankets!
Kitchen nice for making coffee(you have to bring!)cold drinks
Nice 2 flat screen TVs
Quiet at night

Room Tip: Depends - westend less noisy - but further from beach - your call
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tootsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
375 reviews
5.0 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#11 of 39 in Montauk
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#20 of 39 in Montauk
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts

Address: 126 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5428
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing