We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coast - CLOSED

The Coast
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: American, contemporary, freestyle cuisine & Sushi Bar. Locally Harvested Seafood,with always a few Hearty Meat Dishes, Vegan & Vegetarian Menu Options as well.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great food, however, slightly overpriced. It's a great place to go if the weather is not good. My kids love the place and then you can go next door for yogurt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

LOVED our meal here - and we are sushi snobs. Ha! The most fresh, buttery, melt-in-your-mouth salmon. Absolutely fantastic. My husband had one of the specialty rolls, too, which was unique and delicious. The kale salad appetizer was fresh and tasty - and the bartender created a fantastic rum punch cocktail for me with fresh organic muddled raspberries - and I'm still thinking about it 3 days later! Great menu here - well executed. Wish we were still there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The Coast had great seafood. The lobster mac n cheese was brilliant, very yummy.
However, the meal was ruined by the awful service. The waitress clearly wanted us to hurry; she kept asking if we were ready to order about 5 times, plates were wipped away as soon as we put down our forks and the cheque was thrust apon us and she kept walking by to see if we had paid yet. If you want a nice relaxing meal dont visit the coast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hector2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood, Seafood and More Seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lucky to still be on the east end of Long Island. Stayed a few days in a hotel, now with friends who live in East Hampton. So they are showing us all the great places to eat! If you like seafood and want to eat pretty much in the center of Montauk, this is the place. Not much atmosphere, but the food is good. We had clams and sushi which were very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

In Montauk, this title almost gets worn out. But The Coast does have it - sushi and rolls as well as cooked seafood all very fresh. Nice atmosphere and service. Right opposite bus station behind Chase Bank. An easy walk from any of the in-town motels and only three blocks from the Main Beach. Good value. Hard to go wrong here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coast also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing