We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Montauk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surfside Inn

The Surfside Inn
Ranked #10 of 106 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Old School Montauk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

If you are looking for a reasonably priced but excellent meal and don't need to be seen in a hip restaurant with lots of noisy customers, definitely consider the Surfside Inn. Service was gracious and not rushed, the seafood was fresh and delicious, and the ocean views marvelous, as we sat outside on the front porch. Great, stress-free evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    11
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Beautiful View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The food was great and the drinks were even better! We had seafood and were very pleased with our meals...tasty and fresh! The view of the ocean from a distance was also very nice. We sat inside by the window (there are also outside seating). The staff was nice for the most part but not the most attentive--we had to ask for bread 2-3 times. Definetly order a drink from the specials menu...very tasty! I had a Rum Punch. Overall would recommend...Enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Amazing food and view. The staff was friendly and gracious. They were extremely attentive to our table. I would like to address the previous review saying this was not a kid friendly place. Our children were treated very kindly because they have manners. They did not run around and sat in their seats (what children should so in a restaurant) Overall, great experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Exquisite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Exquisite seafood. This is that kind of cozy restaurants with a heart stopping view, in front of the Atlantic Ocean. This time we got the sunset. The best seafood and comfy. Gorgeous and splendid seafood. The best choice, number one for dinner in Montauk. I had the duck skins, the pork ribs, the shrimp cocktail,
The bottle of pinot noir was light, acceptable. The food was alluring, appealing and provocative.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

After reading reviews that it was kid friendly and calling to hear the same....as we walked up the stairs there was a huge sign that read..." Please keep children Quiet and they must remain in their seats!" WHAT? So we proceeded anyway and as we did my two yo daughter touched the chalk board with the specials...wiping away a little writing and we got a "if looks could kill" stare! I'm sorry but that's NOT kid friendly. I'm all for kids behaving well at restaurants but if you want to be that strict then put an age limit on your "kid friendly" restriction! Oh and btw we left and will never go back:)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Surfside Inn also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing