We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy cottage by the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lenhart's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lenhart's Cottages
West Babylon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy cottage by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My fiance and I have stayed at Lenhart's, twice now, on recommendation of a friend of ours who has been going there for years with his wife. It's not too far from town or the Lighthouse. The owner has always been accommodating (late check-ins, last minute reservations and the like) without being intrusive. The furniture was clean and comfortable, a lot nicer than some hotels I've stayed at. The fire place is a nice touch, especially since we've only gone there in the off-season (February 2012 & March 2013). It was a nice romantic place to stay, especially because the last time we were there we got engaged!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is our second year staying at Lenhart's in Montauk. I have been coming out to the Hampton's every summer for the last twenty years (doing share houses in my twenties, then with kids and husband in my thirties and forties) and I think this is my favorite place. Lenhart's is close to Montauk but right outside of town, which means it is QUIET. If you want the 3am nuttiness of the Montauk nightlife and riffraff you should stay right in town at one of the beach resorts there. The cottages are up on a hill so the view of the ocean is magnificent. Our section of beach never saw more than a small handful of other groups.
We stayed in 7A which is a 2 bedroom and the largest of the cottages. We are a family of five but you could easily sleep more than that, the place has a lot of floor space and two floors. Two bathrooms, washer and dryer, huge kitchen. Not a lot of kitchen utensils but you are on vacation after all. There is a small swimming pool that is perfect for coming back from the beach. The property is immaculate and pretty to look at. Having a great week of weather topped off the experience. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want space pick 7A, I peaked into the cottage next to us and it is a lot smaller and not as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had stayed here over 10 years ago and the cottages still have an old Montauk feel but have been updated-we stayed in a 1 bedroom which has kitchen, fireplace, 2 tvs, internet access but most important fantastic panoramic ocean views. The cottage is spotless, beds comfortable. Just about 100 steps to the beach (across old Montauk highway). Beach was quiet when we were there-If you want more activity you should stay in the heart of Montauk where the beach had a lot of people and the town (especially at night, is full of a lot of young drunk people)...Ron, the owner is very accessible and helpful. We will definitely be back!!!
I should also add, having read other comments, that we are very down to earth people who really don't care if the kitchen is stocked with matching dishes. In our cottage, the furniture appeared new, so not sure what cottage Wayne was referring to. Perhaps the smaller units were not updated? We had everything we needed to make this a wonderful stay for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinGal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was a great place to stay with our dog! Very basic but clean accomodations. Extremely close to the beach. Property manager was easy going, but helpful and responsive -- broken toilet was fixed immediately after we mentioned it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice location on the Old Montauk Highway and a short drive to town. Beach is across the road and down some steps. The owner Ron is a nice guy and very helpful. My main comment is that the cottages are quite dowdy with old sagging sofas, rickety tables and gaudy patterns galore. Considering these cottages are $250+ a night in low season I don't see why they can't throw some money at the problem and give them a bit of a revamp. For example the kitchen is stocked with the most ancient assortment of mismatching cups, plates, glasses and flatware. They could replace the lot for just $50 in Ikea. A little bit of investment could go a long way. The fireplaces are a nice touch in the colder months and the cottages are cozy.

They also don't seem to have a website so the only way to get rates is by phone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaphank, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our trip to Lenhart's Cottages had to be postponed twice due to bad weather and illness but our third try was a charm. We stayed in cottage number two for two nights and the cottage and trip was exactly what my wife and two dogs were looking for. Although the temperatures were below average for this time of year, the four of us enjoyed ourselves.

The views from cottage two were breathtaking and unobstructed, although it appears that the view from every cottage are excellent. The cottage itself was perfect for my wife and I along with our two dogs. The living area contained two couches, a fireplace, a small dining area table and chairs and coat closet with an incredible view of the Atlantic ocean. The kitchen contained a small fridge, stove, dishwasher and two bar stools to sit on. The bathroom and bedroom were good as well. The nutty pine walls and old wood floors gave the cottage a old Montauk or in the woods feel.

We spent our days walking the beach, going into town for pick up breakfast at the Montauk bakery, and hiking the trails at Shamdoor and Amsterdam Beach state parks...the views from both parks were incredible. The fireplace warmed the cottage up very quickly.

The path to the beach is almost directly across the street, making it incredibly easy to get to the ocean.

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we intend on coming back in the summer....thanks for making it easy Ron and we appreciate your laid back style.....cheers.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I met some friends for Presidents day weekend and it was a great stay! The cabin was two bedrooms and a sleeper sofa so there was plenty of room for everyone. The wood burning fireplace, free wifi, energy efficient washer and dryer and a full kitchen made our 6 night stay very comfortable. Each night we cooked dinner and watched the sunset from the dining table! Even through the snow, it was beautiful to sit by the fire with a cup of coffee and watch the snow falling over the ocean. The dogs loved sitting in the window watching the waves crash. The beds were actually very comfortable. The owner Ron was very accommodating and the housekeeper was super friendly and willing to get us whatever we asked for. I would certainly stay here again and recommend that anyone else looking to enjoy the Hamptons with their pets do the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.0 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenhart's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenhart's Cottages

Property: Lenhart's Cottages
Address: 421 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5022
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Lenhart`s Cottages Hotel Montauk
Lenhart's Cottages Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing