We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. John's Pancake House

Mr. John's Pancake House
Ranked #37 of 106 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Mr. John's is an old fashioned store front restaurant. The ambiance is out of the 1950's. It is, however, a great place for a tasty breakfast in Montauk. The menu was varied. The food came quickly. I had blueberry pancakes one morning and French toast with Canadian bacon on another. Everything was perfectly cooked. John's is a friendly, pleasant and relaxing place to enjoy a really good breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stanfshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    39
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wendy the waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

was great, we met her the night before at Liar's. I know this place gets busy in the summer, but this weekend had no wait for a table. Nice breakfast selection, decent food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debster-11942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

good eggs - the pancakes looked fantastic... very crowded, slow service but I don't think they were prepared for so many people so early in the season. Very small place - much better than Anthony's across the street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food, with even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

LOVED Mr John's the pancakes melted in our mouths, the bacon was cooked by God himself and the waitresses, could certainly teach the Harvest at the Pond staff a lesson or two! They were fun, smiley and efficient. Wish I could have brought Mr John's back to Manhattan.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“You Can't Beat Breakfast at John's Pancake House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I traditionally try to get out to Montauk once or twice off season. This time, we brought our 20-something year old daughter and her boy friend along for a few days. There is never a doubt as to where we are going to have breakfast: John's Pancake House! We had told the kids there might be a wait, but it is well worth it. Arriving on a busy Sunday of a holiday week-end, there was indeed a wait. Still, the weather Gods were with us and we spent a pleasant 30 minutes or so soaking up the sun outside of John's.

When it was finally our time to go in, we were escorted to a booth (a prized win!) One of the seats was seriously sagging and patched with duct tape, but my spouse pleasantly sat there with no complaints. We had 3 number 2s (two eggs, three huge pancakes, bacon) and my partner went for an omelette. Oh my gosh, the food is so darned good! Our daughter invented something that should be on the menu: two eggs over easy on top of home fries. Yum, yum! The wait staff is friendly and accommodating. We liked it so much, we went back the next day!

If you want down home hospitality with food like you wish your Mama made, go to John's! It is absolutely worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. John's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Mr. John's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing