We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad customer service”
Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bad customer service”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I was hoping to write a good review, being most of the time spent there was good, until the end, the rooms have space, clean enough, smell from the back side of hotel came in through bathroom, no mirror in bathroom, pool average , could have used more towels ..and finally terrible customer service skills by the manager Sasha Williams ... her employee gave out the wrong information to me and the manager took it out on me, the customer, even after the employee said he told us the wrong information, she then proceeded to tried and charge me more and didn't let down and stated the hotel went out of there way for me already... well that will be the last time i stay there .... thanks for ruining it ...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasmith19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    12
    9
    27
See reviews for
38
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastchester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have been coming to Montauk for 25 years. A Wave Inn was perfect for my family of 5. Clean rooms, excellent service. Room 12 above pool was where we stayed. Queen, full and pull out bed. Full size fridge, microwave and sink. Bathroom was small but served our needs. Walking distance to all. Steps from the beach. Can't beat the prices. If u r looking to stay at the Ritz, this is not it. If all you need is a typical Montauk resort, this is where u want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyAnn401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we stayed there last weekend the place is clean staff excellent.nice rooms and great location 1 min walk to beach and center of town.definetely enjoyed and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Post with Wifi spot, but it wasn't working. spoke with front desk no solution, no credit back. Montauk cell phone signal is weak, if you need internet, this Inn not a good choice. Bathroom is small & out date, but provide a lot shampoo & conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYYEUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This place is pretty rough around the edges in terms of condition. The service, however, was exceptional.

Pros: nice newer kitchenette area in the room. Good sized fridge. Extremely close to beach and town. Excellent customer service and laid back staff. Pretty good A/C unit in the room. Nice little pool area.

Cons: beds and linens are clearly very old--noisy and uncomfortable. Shower pressure and output was absurd. Bathing physically hurt. TV would randomly turn off while watching. Rooms do not block out external sounds at all.

Due to the comparatively low prices, this hotel appears to attract a young crowd, so there is inevitably some rowdiness after the close of the bars in the wee hours of the morning. Accordingly, I wouldn't recommend to light sleepers or families with young kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

And unbelievably expensive. Filthy, stained carpet. Doors and windows that don't close or lock. Thread-bare sheets, greasy spreads. The two bedroom is not two bedrooms. There is a bed in the main room and a separate bedroom, so really only one bedroom.

Toilet broken, mold and mildew in shower, light over sink was dangerous because it plugged into the wall with a wire hanging loose. Is this code? I can't imagine that it is.

Long and short of it is that I took one look, told my wife and two young kids to get back in the car, and we left. I wouldnt let my dog stay there.

Generally I found Montauk disappointing relative to beaches in New England.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickypickypickyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The staff was sweet and very helpful, room was very clean and large. .Great location right near the beach and a block from main street in town. I would definitely recommend a wave inn to anyone heading to montauk for a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Property: A Wave Inn
Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
A Wave Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing