We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place In Montauk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
NEW YORK NEWYORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Place In Montauk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

My family and i stayed at a wave inn it was fun 40% larger room then the other motels we stayed at before in montauk. very clean comfortable amazing staff and service. great location 30 ft from beach and center of town. didnt need to drive much. two thumbs up !!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank TIGER111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    12
    9
    27
See reviews for
38
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

Some friends and I decided to do a bike trip to Montauk but were pretty lax in making hotel reservations for when we got there. A Wave Inn was one of the last and cheapest places we could find that would have us.

When we rolled up, the ladies running the place were super-accommodating and let us into a downstairs room where we could put all of our bikes. Then, the next day... they let us keep our rooms into the afternoon even though we had only reserved rooms for one night. That way we could hang out on beach longer before we left to go get on the train.

The place itself is kind of shabby, and the pool wasn't heated and they seemed to close it at like 8... but aside from that I thought it was a great experience and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice People
  • Disliked — Cold Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry_bonsoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayshore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

Could not have found a better hotel. A Wave Inn is definitely the place to be, great location to Montauk village and beach! Great Staff...Sarah and her team give personalized service and gave there undivided attention to our needs. We were a party of 5 and made a request for one room and we were offered an upgrade to accomodate the full party. Great!!! Can't wait to book again next year. Sarah is well informed with what is going on in the community and can recommend up to the minute places to go or things to do while you are there. This hotel is closed for off season, and advised us of the other Dune Resort hotels that are available year round.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and well informed with what events are going on in the commnuity and surrounding communities, picture perfect and neat hotel and great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

Hi

I needed to stay in Montauk for one night and the best place to stay was at " A Wave Inn". Fortunetly my husband is a chef at a near by restaurant and it was just walking distance from It, the beach and Main street. It was a pleasant stay. The manager there Sarah Malone treated us very well. I hope to go there again with our children in August.

  • Disliked — two beds in the room and it was just my husband and I.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2006

Let me start by saying my husband and I are NOT picky travelers. We booked "A Wave Inn" because we had been going to the same hotel for years and thought we'd try something new. I called and hung up after no one answered, and they actually had the nerve to call back using *69/caller id???
The price was much more than we were used to, and they were so desperate, they bargained it down. That should have been my first clue.
When we arrived, the first thing we were greeted with was dog feces in the bathroom garbage. That's when we realized the room hadn't been cleaned at all. Fine, people make mistakes. After the room was cleaned, I was disappointed to note that while things had been "renovated", it was quite a bad job, and the room was no larger, or nicer than we were used to, but was $50 more per night!! We spent the next 4 days begging for toilet paper, constantly reminding management to have someone clean our room, and being made uncomfortable by shady staff members hanging out outside our room. We witnessed one young man throw a glass bottle from the courtyard in front of our room to the backdoor of a local business. We've never done this before, but we actually checked out early and demanded a refund for the night we didn't stay, with which they finally complied.
And by the way, the pool WAS closed. Just to add insult to injury, breakfast consisted of a mini 2-cup coffee maker (I'm guessing for ALL hotel guests) and some Entenmanns doughnuts. The next morning, there they were, the leftover doughnuts from yesterday.
If you want the good location, stay at Daunts, it's literally 10 feet away.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank bronxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauket, Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2006
I just read a review submitted on August 7, apparently the reviewer stayed at a motel with a similar name. All of the concerns listed did not pertain to A Wave Inn. I would like to request that they look into this matter to determine the correct location and give that location the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

After reading the reviews from last year, I was nervous about my booking; however, when we arrived at the Inn I was very relieved to find a clean room and friendly service. They must have updated the rooms because my room was nicely painted off-white and many of the rooms were getting new carpeting during my stay. My only complaint is that I was not able to get a crib for my one-year-old since we only stayed one night.
The pool was open and we enjoyed it. The best part is that the Inn is perfectly situated a few steps from the beach and the town, so we didn't have to drive anywhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lblb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2006

A Wave Inn was perfect for our getaway. We live on western long island, so montauk is just a weekend getaway for us. My aunt and myself decided on A Wave Inn. It could not be in a better location. While it isnt exactly ocean front, it is 30 feet from the ocean. The service and hospitality is awesome, and the town itself is great. The pool definitly needs to be renovated, but the rooms make up for it. They are fully equiped and very clean. Definitly getting your money's worth!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#29 of 38 in Montauk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#25 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Property: A Wave Inn
Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
A Wave Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing