We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and not reliable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Wave Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
A Wave Inn
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not reliable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel confirmed a room and gave me a much smaller room. Couldn't fit my party of 4 and had none of the amenities that the confirmation promised. They offered to find us another hotel which was ridiculous because there wasn't another room within 20 miles of Montauk that wasn't already booked. It was 4th of July weekend. The reservation has been booked and paid for months before. Huge disappointment.

Expedia wasn't any help either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Dana M,

First let me apologize about the mis-hap with your reservations over the 4th of July holiday. It is not a habit of ours to provide paying guests with services far from what was requested. With that being said, we did our utmost best to accommodate you and your party for this weekend. As your Expedia reservation stated, your room was booked for two people; we were never made aware that your party size increased.
We offered to find alternate accommodation with a full refund, which you declined and decided to stay with us for the remaining nights. We also offered to rearrange your room to make it more spacious for your party, but you made us aware that there was no need for any rearrangement or furniture removal. Lastly, for all the inconvenience you endured, your party was given a 15% discount on your total stay, as well as a late check out at 3PM.
We understand your frustration and disappointment with us and Expedia but we made every attempt to better your stay. We would love to have you reserve with us again. Should you choose to do so, feel free to contact me personally at swilliams@dunemanagement.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    12
    9
    27
See reviews for
38
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mberga25
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this - especially for the price. Although our room appeared clean, we hard a hard time believing it. The place smelled very old, with very old bedspreads, carpeting, and amenities. The cauking was cracking in the bathroom and again, even though it looked clean, you felt like you wanted to wear your flip flops in the shower. Although it is close to the beach, and does have a pool, I wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mberga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Mberga25,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as expected. If only we were made aware, we would have done our best to accommodate any request/concern.
We do general maintenance of the property such as carpet cleaning, painting etc. on an annual basis. We are aware that it is time for a renovation/update and our owners are looking to do so in the near future. Once this is done, I invite you to come and stay with us, so that you can enjoy the East End as you expected to, and hopefully enjoy A Wave Inn, the way you should.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last Labor Day with my husband and two kids, and what a waste of money!! There were kids staying 8 to a room, partying all night. Montauk used to be a great family destination, but it's been ruined by party kids who take the train out, stay 10 in a room, and ruin any peace and tranquility. When we went out for breakfast one morning there was vomit all over a storefront window. What a shame/ We will not be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Tracy F,

Thank you for your review. Montauk has changed a lot over the years. It is unfortunate that you have decided not to return to such a beautiful and quaint town. Apart from the trails and beaches, there are plenty new businesses that offer a variety of services, that were never an option before. With new business, comes new clientele and new experiences for our long time customers.
I can assure you, that none of the businesses in Montauk, especially us; willing rent to anyone we feel will cause discomfort to others. Labor Day Weekend is a very festive time frame, and we do our best to ensure the quality stay for all our guests but unfortunately ,we cannot regulate everyone. We do hope you return to Montauk and to A Wave Inn, to experience what you always have; a peaceful stay on the East End.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

For $250 a night, you'd think they would at least mop the hair off the bathroom floor. Or maybe clear the giant hairball out of the bathtub so it would drain. Or if not that, at least consider not leaving the envelope requesting tip for the maid. Really? I'd move to another hotel, but unfortunately I'm not made of money and they already have my $1,000. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DakotaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear DakotaNYC,

It is very unfortunate and disheartening that your stay with us was not as you expected. Being competitively priced, we try our best o ensure that our guests have the best experience in Montauk, and we did our best to correct all the issues you brought to our attention. Our housekeepers have more that 10 years experience, and do a great job of cleaning the rooms. We would have been happy to help you find alternate accommodations, so that you could enjoy your stay. That being said, it is really saddening to lose you as a customer, but if you ever decided to come back to the east end, feel free to contact me at swilliams@dunemanagement.com, so that we can attempt to repair our relation as merchant and customer.

Regards,

Sasha Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

You get what you pay for in Montauk....reasonable rates for the location and season...no frills but clean rooms, great staff....nice pool...our room had full kitchen (which we didn't use but it was there).The beds in our room where a bit hard..but the beds in the other room we booked where good. Would stay there again..
CR Holbrook

Room Tip: Decide whether you want quiet and serene or all the conveniences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Glad we stayed here nice rooms great location sweet staff larger room then we expected nice pool when the beach was windy we really enjoyed the stay look forward to coming back in August you guys were great

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed here over the summer and have been meaning to leave a review for a while but haven't had a chance till now. I will make this one simple. Clean, near beach, big pool, reasonable rates. Need I say more?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#32 of 39 in Montauk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sun 'N' Sound
Sun 'N' Sound
#26 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Property: A Wave Inn
Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
A Wave Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing